We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where A Water Fall Meets the Ocean”
Review of Black Brook Beach

Black Brook Beach
Fitchburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Where A Water Fall Meets the Ocean”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Black Brook Beach is perhaps one of the worlds most beautiful beaches. I must admit that I am partial to Cape Breton and have travelled to the Highlands National Park many times over the past ten years. However every summer I must visit this gem of a beach.This is about one and half hour drive from our wee cabin near Baddeck( could be a little less if we didn't stop to stock up on yummy treats for our beach pic nic). This is the only beach I have gone to in Cape Breton where I can swim in the salty sea and then rinse off in a fresh water waterfall. The experience is exhillerating to say the least. You can not see the waterfall from the main parking lot, or beach area but if you explore a little you will find it. The beach is never crowed, compared to the beaches in Massachusetts and your four legged companion (our dog Myles a yellow lab) can also go for a swim and relax on the beach as well. I love all of the rounded stones, and the raw beauty of this place. The water is a comfortable temp in July and August but the sea can whip up especially in a heavy storm as evidenced by the chunks of drift wood, found strewn up on the beach especially in early spring.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cabot Trail Gem”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Black Brook Beach (Ruisseau Black), located along the Cabot Trail in Nova Scotia, should be included on the list of exotic, must experience beaches of the world. With the backdrop of the stunning Cape Breton Highlands, this hidden treasure provides a tranquil sensory delight. The sun-drenched wrap-around beach, beautiful cascading waterfall, and refreshing ocean swim on a warm summer day was a highlight of our motorcycle trip. I would make the 2000 mile trip just for this beach.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Thomas Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nestleton, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent beach/park/picnic area”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Fabulous area to enjoy the beach, park or picnic area. Large parking facilities, clean washroom area, children's play area and hiking trails all in one area! Plan to spend a minimum of 2 hours in this area. Bring a picnic lunch and enjoy the beach view from one of the picnic tables. A perfect spot to stop and breathe deep for a while.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BarbG62013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Secret in Cape Breton”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

At least it used to be a secret. When we went 40 and 20 years ago it was empty. This time it was full, but there is plenty of parking. Facilities: washrooms and changing, places to cook, great hikes from the beach. Beach is round rocks (bigger than softball, smaller than basketball) that have been moved from the ocean's edge so their is nice sand into the water. Water is cool, but was full of people. Great rivers coming into the beach at both ends: one calm and looked good to swim in the other a waterfall.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Woody-Mass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
109 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beach waterfall”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

A very nice beach with some nice views. There was only 1 other couple there when we were there.. There is a waterfall at the left end of the beach. Water was warm.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Brook Beach also viewed

 
Louisbourg, Cape Breton Island
Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
 

Been to Black Brook Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing