We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like your driving towards the ends of the earth.”
Review of Meat Cove

Meat Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
739 reviews
442 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,317 helpful votes
“Feels like your driving towards the ends of the earth.”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

As soon as your car departs the Bay St Lawrence Road and head towards Meat Cove, the drive takes you to back to time as John Cabot would have seen Cape Breton Island during the 15th century. The dense forest opens up to spectacular views of crags, bluffs and notches against an ocean backdrop. Never mind the unpaved road but pay attention to where you are heading as this drive is not for the wimpy. We encountered a lot of obstacles along the way as the terrain is vulnerable to landslides after a few days of rain. Be sure to pack well for this trip if you plan to go camping since there's barely any business going on in the villages of Capstick, Black Point and Meat Cove. Allow 1 to 2 hours of driving from Cape Road depending on the weather.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ebbtide123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    32
    10
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bruton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth the effort”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The last 8 kilometres of the drive to Meat Cove is on a dirt track but don't be put off by that, it is not a difficult road to negotiate if you take it slowly and it's wide enough for vehicles to pass each other with ease. No hanging over cliff edges required! The reward is a beautiful spot at the northern most point of Bay St Lawrence that you can reach by car and the opportunity to take a short (20 mins max) lovely walk up to Little Grassy, a grass covered hill, for a glorious view of the coastline and ocean. Although it was raining when we arrived, we waited a while and headed off into the woods as the rain eased and it was worth getting wet feet and trousers for the reward at the top of Little Grassy. If you're lucky - maybe in July and August only - the campsite (what a place to camp!) Chowder Hut might be open for business but it wasn't for us.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Winkie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A drive not for the squeamish”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Dirt roads, hairpin turns and vertigo inducing hills and drops. The views are spectacular, but it is waaay out of the way, so give it some thought. Drive real slow once the pavement ends.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RayCornerstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Cool rock formations”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

The drive here was interesting. The bridge is back in down to the beach. We just loved the fascinating rock formations here. When it came time to leave we found that if you stop at the top at the stop sign you are not getting out. Third try we just kept going and away we went.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mari Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Didn't camp but will one day.”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Drove up here while staying nearby - the photos do not do the view justice.

I'm terrified of heights but the view was worth the shaky legs and sweaty palms. We showed up shortly before dusk and got to see the sun set while we were up at the top of a nearby trail (30m). The walk back in reduced light wasn't an issue for us but I could easily imagine others getting lost.

My girlfriend's mother was here when she was about our age (30 years ago) and had specifically mentioned this location as a 'must-see' when we did the trip. I'm very glad we listened even if we didn't end up camping.

The food - unbelievable. Small family-run kitchen, maybe one cook and one 'server'. It was great. I'm not terribly picky.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Meat Cove also viewed

Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
 
Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
 

Been to Meat Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing