We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great family outing”

Two Rivers Wildlife Park
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A great family outing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

I take my children to the wildlife park anywhere from 4-6 times a year. If yuo want to get the most of the day, go early (as soon as the park opens) while the animals are feeding and active. Take a picnic. there are lots of tables and it is a really fun family outing.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    12
    8
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Temperature determines if the Animals are available”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

We have come here several times and thought it was fun for an afternoon. Most of the time it seemed that the animals were hiding, so we didn't get to see all animals. Last summer was our first visit that we saw all of them, so that was very impressive and enjoyable. It's best to go with spring to early summer weather. More chance of seeing all the animals. They also hold different types of events for the kids which we've taken advantage of and enjoyed very much such as Easter Egg hunts and the Haunted Woods tour.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roblyn0718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glace bay
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amimal Lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

Best time to go is a cloudy day , animal tend to stay in shaded areas where you cant see them when it is hot and sunny,You can also bring a picnic basket and make a great family day adventure.You can also fish or let the children play in the park.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank CaperGirl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Peter's, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family day”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

I visited the park just recently and was discusted with the washroom facilities not only at the playground but also inside the administration building itself, you had to fight off the cobwebs and the spiders before entering the washroom, I wasn't impressed with some of the animals not having any water and it was a very hot day, the grounds around the cages were unkept, the barn with the horses was very unkept and the poor horses looked like they weren't brushed for months and the inside was just as filty, I realize it's a barn but it can be cleaned up better than that, i also realize that the park is probually facing cutbacks like everyone else but please do a better job with these poor animals or shut it down, they deserve better, my opinion.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank 151maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun for the whole family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Growing up in Cape Breton, Two Rivers is a staple in family fun every summer. They have many enclosures with beautiful animals and the opportunity to teach young children about nature and wildlife as well as how to care for animals. Admission is reasonably priced. Bring your own lunches and you can enjoy a family picnic near the pond, dad can catch some fish for supper back home and mom can read a book while the kids play on the playground. Don't forget your camera as there are lots of opportunities to take some great pictures of the whole family.

(no recent visit - it's been about two years since we were there, but this site does not go back far enough in time frames.)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JLC1481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Two Rivers Wildlife Park also viewed

St. Peter's, Cape Breton Island
Louisbourg, Cape Breton Island
 
Dingwall, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Two Rivers Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing