We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best B&B!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sydney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colby House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 13 Sydney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Simply the best B&B!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We recently stayed here for 3 nights and absolutely loved it! From the minute we walked in the door, our hosts (Bev and Gordon) welcomed us into their beautiful home and treated us like family. It doesn't get any better than this! The multi-course breakfasts were amazing. We stayed in the MacLellan room for 2 nights and Gabriel room for 1 night on our way home, and both rooms are gorgeous. There are nice personal touches in the rooms like chocolates and toiletries. They gave us a map with directions to restaurants in the area and their recommendations were fantastic. This B&B is rated #1 for a reason and we really can't say enough good things about it. If you're visiting Sydney and/or want an amazing place to stay near the Cabot Trail, we would highly recommend staying here!! We'll definitely be staying again the next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
194
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2014

THE BEST! The rooms are immaculate. Clean, Cozy, Comfortable. Breakfast is lovingly prepared by Bev, and carefully served by Gordon, the most gracious hosts. The food is SCRUMPTIOUS and DELICIOUS. And the presentation, FIVE STAR GOURMET! We stayed for 8 days and we always looked forward to the next surprise. Different china dishes everyday!!! DIVINE!!!! The house is carefully and beautifully restored without losing its character. Our entire experience was VERY wonderful, relaxing, and pleasant. You check in as guests, and leave friends with Bev & Gordon. Very nice couple.

Room Tip: McLellan and McDonald rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gigi c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My wife and I were on our maiden trip to Nova Scotia and we decided to stay at some of the local B&Bs. I found this one on Trip Advisor and the reviews were spot on. We really enjoyed our hosts as well as the other folks staying there at the time. The breakfast each morning was excellent and just added to our enjoyment.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Fantastic; Perfection; Relaxing. Bev. and Gordon could run seminars for people wanting to run a B&B. Their period home has been restored beautifully and most of it has been give over for use by their guests; four relaxing rooms on the second floor and a sitting room and dining area on the first; really well done.
Now to the breakfasts. Tons of variety from cereals, muffins, homemade cakes, juice, eggs, pancakes and all the trimmings. Couldn't ask for a better bk.
And the host and hostess. Bev. and Gordon genuinely like people and all their actions were directed at helping us enjoy our stay in their home and in Sydney. They did research re the activities of the season and provided us with any information we needed to find local services. They also provide a computer for our use in a private part of the house. Joan and I really enjoyed the whole experience and look forward to our next visit.
Bill Jones and Joan Wilson Jones; Surrey, B.C.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

My partner and I recently visited the Colby House for a weekend, and our stay was just as warm and welcoming as it was when we stayed there in December 2012. We were home visiting some friends and family and just had to stay here again. We stayed in the Gabriel room last time, which was lovely, but this time we tried a different room, the MacLellan. It was slightly larger than the Gabriel, and just as beautiful and cozy. The bed was just as comfortable, the breakfast was just as delicious, and Gord and Bev were just as friendly and hospitable. Each time we walk in the door, it feels like we're arriving home. We will continue to return to the Colby House, and we will continue to refer our friends and family there as well!

Room Tip: Every single room is wonderful, and if you're lucky enough to stay in December, the beautiful Ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

All the rave reviews were true. This place is total luxury -- from the beds, furnishings, elegant bathrooms, and all the little extras (chocolates, toiletries ... too many thoughtful details to mention) down to the delicious multi-course breakfast. And the hosts are delightful. They offer the perfect balance of being helpful and attentive while allowing their guests some privacy and independence. We loved this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank all_that_sass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This is a beautiful place and the hosts are wonderful people. They go out of their way to make you feel at home and answer all questions you might have about the area. The room, although small, was very comfortable. A lot of effort has gone into making this old house beautifully furnished. If you visit Sydney, you won't be disappointed if you choose to stay here. The breakfasts were just wonderful!!!! Bev and Gordon will take excellent care of you :)

Room Tip: All of the rooms looked beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doxiesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
0.6 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#5 of 7 in Sydney
158 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
0.7 mi away
Spanish Bay Inn and  Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colby House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colby House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Colby House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 10 Park St, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1P 4W4, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Colby House. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Colby House Bed & Breakfast Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing