We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food, fantastic live music!”

Governors Pub & Eatery
Ranked #2 of 145 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, Pub, Canadian, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene, Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food, fantastic live music!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We went to the Governors Pub because it was conveniently located beside the hotel we were staying at. The food was fantastic - I ordered the fish and chips, which were crispy and perfectly done, and my boyfriend ordered the poutine with candied pork belly that he kept raving about. The beer menu featured a lot of local beers, which was great because of all the local breweries in and around the Halifax/Sydney areas are delicious! While we were there, some fiddlers were entertaining on the second floor, so we were able to take in some local music while we ate. It was the perfect backdrop for this lovely historic pub!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikiSchmiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    279
    116
    47
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
164 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good food in Sydney”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The restaurant offers a nice view of the Sydney waterfront across the road. Our salmon and halibut entrées were very good as was the chowder appetizer. The crab cake was disappointing. It wasn’t bad, but it was quite ordinary and certainly not on a par with the other dishes we had.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CFH_NOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Inexperianced Staff but beautiful spot”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Beautiful looking pub, music playing. We didn't get our drinks for a good 15 minutes. When we ordered our food the waitress didn't come back at all. An hour after we ate we hunted down our bill and asked to bag our food. She didn't return with our packed up food but we only noticed when we left. Nice view of the water but wouldn't go back here. Staff was too timid. Food was very good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TrooperMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
505 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Decent but not memorable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Friti shrimps were "swimming" in chilli sweet sauce.
Salad was very very good. Grilled salmon was ok and my husband did not enjoy the piece of meat which was a mediocre steak.
Cheese cake for desert was not great.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DANIELLA107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, FL
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Long Wait for Below Average Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We ate dinner here on a Monday. Were seated quickly and our waiter told us there was a 25 minute backup in the kitchen which was ok -- we appreciated being told up front about the wait. However, it actually took 42 minutes after ordering to even get our salads and I had to ask for them then (I timed it only because of what he had said about the wait). Then, a few minutes later our main course came well before we had finished out salads. My fish and scallops were both overcooked and disappointing. No complaints about our server -- he was overworked and apologetic yet still did a good job. My impression was that both the kitchen and wait staff were severely undermanned. The restaurant itself is very nice, however, I probably would not go there again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Governors Pub & Eatery also viewed

Sydney, Cape Breton Island
Sydney, Cape Breton Island
 
Sydney, Cape Breton Island
Sydney, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Governors Pub & Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing