We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place...Dont Always Believe What You Read”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Fredericton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Place...Dont Always Believe What You Read”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

After looking through the reviews here, i went to look for myself about this place before i stayed.....and to be honest. most of these people must have it confused with a different Quality Inn....The pool is amazing, the hotel was right in town, there was no OLD people for staff...no one had uniforms...the beds were soft and comfy oh my, yes they were...rooms were very clean and cleaned daily ( i stayed for 3 days) i would most definitely stay here again and i will recommend it to anyone.
I even informed them about some of these reviews and they offered a key to check out the facility, and it is great.

Room Tip: Ask for a key to see the room first :o)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BNashFredericton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    66
    70
    51
    30
See reviews for
104
76
12
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Older Staff are lazy looking and no nothing of the business . There were lower standards 30 years ago unlike today. Retrain these staff or out with the old and in with the new. Staff hanging around front entrance smoking and swearing remind me of a shopping mall , not a hotel . Uniforms?

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonymona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teslin, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

i was expecting better for a 3 star hotel. it was ok. kinda far out of town too. it had a cute little pub though with some good ole cape breton music.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DGA69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

When I arrived in my room everything looked fine. The next morning the "breakfast" was non-existant so I ate in the dining room which was great but which I later found out was indeed leased to an outside company, as was the bar.

Came back the next evening to find the bed not properly made, just the bed spread pulled over the bed as I left it. Bathroom floor was not cleaned and towels were al over the place.
Also some of the amenities wsere missing.

The third evening the bed was somewhat better but no tea, coffee or anything in the basket. Had to get front desk to bring some to me.

My last evening I went to eat in the estaurant to be told that it closed at 7.00 p.m. on Sundays. Front desk suggested that I phone Gecos for take out. For some reason the phone was not working properly so I went out to my car.to get some snacks. When I came back in I noticed that the bar was open and asked if they served food. Front desk did not know. Seems bar is also rented to an outsider. Did get some food at the bar which was quite nice.

My overall impression of the hotel is that the staff need training and supervision as they are all very sloppy. Perhaps this is just the Cape Breton way. All in all my stay was ok, although Saturday night was very noisy due to the fact that a young sports team were staying there and they ran around the halls until after 2.00 in the morning.

Considr my stay just ok and as I was in Sydney on business I just needed a place to rest my head but I doubt if I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meanbean11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

When I arrived at this hotel I excepted to find a well dressed front desk agent who was friendly and hospitiable, instead we walk in and shes there in a frumpy sweater and didn't even greet us. we get up to the desk and still nothing just a blank stare, I say were here to check, and blankly she says "check ins at three." so 1) i work in this industry I know how i should be greated and what proper guest service is, its a wonder they eevr get guests anddd that check in was 2, and when we arrived it was 1:50, and 2) I had put in for early check in.
Also there idea of a continteianl brekfest is a complete joke! Cereal bars, ive been to other choice hotels and they have hot buffets for there contientials, Sydney needs to step up there game!
And my boyfriend was using the gym equipment wich was mostly broken, come 9:15 he was rudely kicked out by a manager and when he mentioned the equipment was broken he says, probably, and this man was also a manager. They need to retrain there staff! the only good thing about this place was that the bed was comfertabl, but not enough to make up for the rotten service recived.

Room Tip: try somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NyssaLynne23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

On Aug 7, 2011 my daughter and I stayed 1 night at the Quality Inn in Sydney and were pleased with our accommodations. The beds were comfortable and the hotel was well situated in Sydney.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndasue_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Stayed here the night before taking the ferry to Newfoundland. Nice, quiet room, refrigerator and microwave in the room were great, as I try to bring microwave meals from home to save money traveling. Excellent restaurant within the hotel for those who have a little extra time before heading to the North Sydney ferry docks, recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerfromtheD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
1.1 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#5 of 7 in Sydney
160 reviews
1.3 mi away
Spanish Bay Inn and  Suites
2.5 mi away
Hotel North
Hotel North
#1 of 4 in North Sydney
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hearthstone Inn Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearthstone Inn Sydney

Property: Hearthstone Inn Sydney
Address: 560 Kings Rd, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1S 1B9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hearthstone Inn Sydney 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located adjacent to Sydney Harbour on Kings Road in Sydney Nova Scotia, the Hearthstone Inn Sydney is ideally located only minutes from the shopping and dining of Downtown, Sydney's Centre 200 Sports and Entertainment Complex, Casino Nova Scotia, the Membertu Trade and Convention Centre, and ten minutes of four Golf courses, and a knowledgeable staff to assist our guests in planning day-trips to Cape Breton Island's key tourism destinations, including The Cabot Trail, Fortress Louisburg, Baddeck; and summertime activities/adventures including Two Rivers Wildlife Park, Whale Watching, Kayaking, and renown golfing experiences at the Highland Links and Dundee Resorts; the Hearthstone Inn Sydney is not only what our corporate and leisure guests need us to be, but we are where they need us to be as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hearthstone Inn Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn - Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Quality Inn
Hearthstone Inn Sydney Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing