We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hearthstone Inn Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Sydney
1 review
“Very Good Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

The stay overall was very good, only downfall was that the windows in the room did not open, but no problem. The food in the restuarant part of the inn left something to be desired. Very bland , but the service inside the resturant was excellent



  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Cheryle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    49
    60
    40
    24
See reviews for
76
62
8
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We had stayed a night I North Sydney and cancelled the rest of the reservation due to the horrible experience. We booked the rest of our stay here and had a great time. The room was smaller, but so much cleaner. The pool was clean and staff were fantastic. The only recommendation I would give is updating the fitness room. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dieppe, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

This is my third time staying here. It's not bad for the money. Service is good but I don't ask for much. The bar service is good. The restaurant food is ok but the waitress's need to work on their skills and talk amongst themselves less. I will be back but I eat elsewhere or order in.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picton, ON
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Surprisingly nice for its age, well kept and a great little place to get out of the rain. Pool and not too far from a few pubs and restaurants! Breakfast was slow but good food! They also do not let you apply your breakfast credit to anything else on their menu but overall a good experience!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank countysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trevor m, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Sydney, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience. We are very happy to hear of you pleasant experience. In terms of not allowing you to apply your coupon to other breakfast items, this is something we will consider and take a look at. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We are a group of cyclist crossing Canada. We were in need of a convenient location close to the trans Canada. This place is one of our most enjoyable on our entire journey. Management and desk staff were second to none in accommodating our many needs. Hotel is very clean and modern. The attached restaurant had wonderful food and service. You cannot go wrong in choosing this hotel for business or pleasure. It has the ability along with a caring staff to fit all of your needs

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank october2010traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trevor m, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Sydney, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to say a few kind words about our Hotel. We try really hard to provide our Guests with the best service. It is avenues like Trip advisor where we can learn and do better. Thank you again and we all look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
188 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

We parked in back, gravel lot, dirt path to the back door which had a busted out lock, narrow hallway outside our room had three mattresses and frames leaning against the wall. They were putting a new floor in a room and chose to "store" the stuff in the hallway for the duration. Poor first impression in terms of basic hotel-keeping. Room itself was OK. As others have said, the breakfast is certainly a cut above the norm since it is served restaurant style rather than a cold buffet.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Conmassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trevor m, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Sydney, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Good afternoon, thank you for taking the time to post your concern. In this case I totally agree, we should not have stored things in the hallway. As we continue to renovate rooms we will not put things in the hallway. I apologize for that. I do hope you will return as I do value your business. If there is anything I can do for you in the future to make your next stay more enjoyable, please contact me @ 902-539-8101. I look forward to serving you in the future
Kind Regards,
Trevor W.McPhee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
239 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

This hotel is set back from the main road leading into town if coming from Baddeck, etc., in a mixed neighborhood of houses and businesses, a quiet setting. Some rooms have angled views of the water.

The staff was pleasant and helpful. The rooms were well equipped, clean, and comfortable. The pool was decent but much of the exercise room's equipment needed repair.

Breakfast is in their restaurant. They gave us vouchers that could be exchanged either for a choice of preset menu items or (a different day) a buffet breakfast, or if the guest prefers it was worth $5 toward a menu breakfast.

Room Tip: The hotel has three floors, one above the main entrance and one below. The land at the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 828TJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trevor m, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Sydney, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for your comments. I take alot of pride in our staff, we do our best to satisfy everyone that stays with us. The breakfast has been a great success for us and we will continue to provide this in the future. As far as the gym equipement is concerned, I have removed any equipement that was not working and replaced with equipment that our guests can use. I hope you will come again and view our gym. You will see that we have made things better. Thanks again.
Trevor W.McPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
1.1 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#4 of 7 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.3 mi away
Spanish Bay Inn and  Suites
6.6 mi away
At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hearthstone Inn Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearthstone Inn Sydney

Property: Hearthstone Inn Sydney
Address: 560 Kings Rd, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1S 1B9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hearthstone Inn Sydney 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located adjacent to Sydney Harbour on Kings Road in Sydney Nova Scotia, the Hearthstone Inn Sydney is ideally located only minutes from the shopping and dining of Downtown, Sydney's Centre 200 Sports and Entertainment Complex, Casino Nova Scotia, the Membertu Trade and Convention Centre, and ten minutes of four Golf courses, and a knowledgeable staff to assist our guests in planning day-trips to Cape Breton Island's key tourism destinations, including The Cabot Trail, Fortress Louisburg, Baddeck; and summertime activities/adventures including Two Rivers Wildlife Park, Whale Watching, Kayaking, and renown golfing experiences at the Highland Links and Dundee Resorts; the Hearthstone Inn Sydney is not only what our corporate and leisure guests need us to be, but we are where they need us to be as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hearthstone Inn Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn - Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Quality Inn
Hearthstone Inn Sydney Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing