We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Only stayed one night, so can't say much for the facilities. It was a good place to drop for the night and leave in the morning. Staff were very friendly and the breakfast was served quickly and tasted wonderful which made for a great start to the day. Plenty of food options nearby and a good centre base for many of the local attractions in this area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SparkyFoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

The room was clean , bed was excellent . The staff were very friendly ! The price was great ! The pool was nice and clean ! I was surprised to find kids around 10 or 11 unsupervised there ! I left because with no parents they were acting like kids do ! The free breakfast was great , my one complaint was ,while breakfast was free , we had to pay for tea and coffee ! I could understand if juice or milk was extra ,but have never been charged at a free breakfast for a hot beverage . Over all we were pleased and would stay there again ! I have a very bad back so find a comfiest bed was a huge plus!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zelda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The friendly staff and the newly renovated lobby/restaurant are very inviting and welcoming. The rooms are clean and well decorated, the bedding and curtains are all new and fresh. I had one of the best nights sleep that I ever had as the bed was one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in. I will certainly being staying at this hotel again on my return visits to Sydney.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I recently stayed at the Quality Inn in Sydney. My company had work in the area and they were able to accommodate my crew and I .All together there were 30 of us staying there. All staff were friendly and the food was great.
The rooms were very comfortable and clean. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone.
Thanks again and I hope to return!

J Murphy
SAExploration Canada

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jack m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

As frequent guests of Quality Inn on Kings RD, my self and my husband always choose to return to this location for a number of reasons.From the Housekeeping Ladies to Kitchen/Dining Rm staff to the Front Desk Staff and off course I can't forget to mention the AMAZING MANAGER(TREVOR).All of the above go that extra mile to make you feel at home which always makes it a pleasure to keep returning.I would highly recommend this accomations to anyone looking for a place to stay while in the Sydney or surrounding area.This is a place where you can feel at home while away from home.Hats off to everyone at the QUALITY INN.Oh the renovations are amazing also,just saying.Happy Happy Guests,,,Bernadette MacLellan and Earl Chaission.We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: If mobility is an issue use main floor rms, they are all amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernadette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed here with elderly relatives and the staff gave us an easy access room, it was a relief indeed. The room was clean and comfortable and the location was great for us. It's quiet and the restaurant was empty but we had a pretty good meal there....staff there was great too. Finding front desk staff was difficult when I needed them and I wonder if they have too many tasks on their plate....it's nice not to have to wait for someone to show up so you can check in....

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank novascotiamemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trevor m, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Hello and thank you for staying with us. It is my goal to do the best I can and my hope is that the Staff do the same. I apologize for you having to wait, it is not our expectation and we want to be there for you upon check-in. We have recently made a few changes on our Front Desk as well as some training and we hope this does not happen in the future. Thank you and please come back again, I am sure you will be pleased with the progress we have made.
Trevor W.McPhee
General Manager
9025398101

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Recently booked in this Quality Inn for 10 days on business. The hotel is under renovations but (they) didn't interfere with the day to day stay. The rooms are comfortable and a fair size. We ate the free breakfast every morning... 3 choices from a menu. The food was hot and very good... the service was also some of the best I have had in awhile. Thank you Veronica! My only complaint is you have to pay for the coffee -- which should be included :-)
We had a few minor issues initially which I reported to the front desk and then later to the GM Trevor M who took our issues very personally and quickly rectified the problems. We were graciously compensated for being locked out of your room the 2nd last night (had to move rooms)
The front desk staff need a bit of polishing in customer service skills but all in all the hotel is easy to find/clean and obviously the GM takes complaints very seriously.
Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
1.1 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#7 of 7 in Sydney
174 reviews
18 mi away
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
6.6 mi away
At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hearthstone Inn Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearthstone Inn Sydney

Address: 560 Kings Rd, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1S 1B9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: £69 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hearthstone Inn Sydney 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located adjacent to Sydney Harbour on Kings Road in Sydney Nova Scotia, the Hearthstone Inn Sydney is ideally located only minutes from the shopping and dining of Downtown, Sydney's Centre 200 Sports and Entertainment Complex, Casino Nova Scotia, the Membertu Trade and Convention Centre, and ten minutes of four Golf courses, and a knowledgeable staff to assist our guests in planning day-trips to Cape Breton Island's key tourism destinations, including The Cabot Trail, Fortress Louisburg, Baddeck; and summertime activities/adventures including Two Rivers Wildlife Park, Whale Watching, Kayaking, and renown golfing experiences at the Highland Links and Dundee Resorts; the Hearthstone Inn Sydney is not only what our corporate and leisure guests need us to be, but we are where they need us to be as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hearthstone Inn Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn - Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Quality Inn
Hearthstone Inn Sydney Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing