We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Beautiful lakefront hotel in Sydney, about an hour away from Cape Breton Highlands and Cabot Trail, and about 15 minutes from the Fortress of Louisbourg. Friendly and helpful staff. Used it as our "home base" during our two-day stay in the region.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David & Sun Hee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSSydney, Front Office Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hello David & Sun Hee L,

Cambridge Suites is well located to be your home away from home. Cape Breton has so many beautiful areas to visit.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,121 - 1,127 of 1,381 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

Everything about this hotel was perfect. It is centrally located to the restaurants and the boardwalk. The parking situation was not bad. Our room was wonderful - spacious, well furnished and clean with a stunning view of the harbor from the fourth floor. The bed was super comfortable, breakfast was delicious, the Wi-Fi connection was good. It was a pity we could only stay two nights!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonyaseone487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSSydney, Front Office Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Good afternoon Sonyaseone487,

It sounds as you really enjoyed all parts of the hotel - from the views to the restaurant. Being downtown, affords you the opportunity to see Sydney as you walk the boardwalk.

Next time we will have to keep you a few extra days!

Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This hotel is right on the beautiful boardwalk running along Sydney Harbor close to downtown. The food here is also excellent so I recommend eating at the hotel in their restaurant "Trios." They also provided a wonderful free hot buffet style breakfast with the stay. The hotel is within walking distance to Charlotte Street which is Sydney's main downtown shopping street with wonderful unique shops - not chain stores. The boardwalk has been completed all the way to the Cruise Pavilion and I encourage everyone to walk there and take a picture by the "Big Fiddle." The Cruise Pavilion hosts a large variety of high quality arts/crafts when the cruise ships are in but is usually open during the day (whether cruise ships are in or not) where you can view huge pictures of beautiful Cape Breton Island. There is also a little museum upstairs as well as a beautiful outdoor deck upstairs with another nice restaurant where you can eat or have a drink looking right over Sydney Harbour. The staff at this hotel were very friendly and professional - special thanks to Louise who assisted me making the reservation. This will be our hotel of choice when in the area for business or pleasure which I anticipate will be often. All of Cape Breton Island has a lot to offer from beautiful beaches to first class golf courses and this hotel would make an excellent base for day trips in the area. Don't forget to visit the fortress of Louisbourg which is the biggest national historic reconstruction project in North America - be sure to bring a sweater though as there is usually a breeze.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John & Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSSydney, Front Office Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you John & Nancy M for writing a review of the Cambridge Suites Hotel in Sydney.

So glad you chose us to stay with while in Sydney. We believe we have a lot to offer our guests,

Thanks for sharing your stay with us! Look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Cape Breton.

Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

before going to the hotel. do some research on what is going on locally cause the staff do not know. They also do not acknowledge their business clients.
I enjoyed the food but the portion sizes are very small. like really - children's glasses for adults? Screams cheap

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joseph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSSydney, Front Office Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Hello Joseph A

Thank you, we appreciate our guest feedback .

Cambridge Suites Sydney is a year round corporate travel hotel and we take great pride in recognizing all our guests for the past 25 years. We are disappointed that you did not feel acknowledged in this way.

Cape Breton Island has many festivals and events throughout the summer months for our guests to enjoy. Our guests have a wide variety of interests, so we strive to find that hidden gem for each one.

Thank you
Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We liked everything about this hotel. Our room was clean, comfortable and spacious. The penthouse spa and sauna was very nice. We also really enjoyed walking on the waterfront boardwalk. Our room rate included a breakfast buffet including both hot and cold items. Overall, a nice experience and great value for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSSydney, Front Office Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hello Sharon D

It takes a team to make sure guests enjoy their stay. We are very fortunate that we have a great team at Cambridge Sydney.

We look forward to the next time you are in Sydney!

Thanks
Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had a one bedroom suite. But really only used the bedroom since we were just staying for one night. Bathroom was a good size. Beds are terrific. Hotel was full but was very quiet. Due to a change of plans, we tried to book 2 extra nights but there was no vacancy. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSSydney, Front Office Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hi Nancy G

We receive so many compliments about our beds. Cambridge Suites is using a bed in the summer parade floats this year!


We look forward to you and your family staying here again.

Thanks
Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

In May 2014 we needed a pet friendly hotel on Cape Britain Island to use as a base for exploring the Cabot Trail which includes Cape Breton Highlands National Park (we highly recommend the Cabot Trail and Cape Breton Highland NP). We found the Cambridge Suites on line and it worked out very well for us - we stayed two nights.

Our room was a harbor view with large windows overlooking Sydney Harbor. The view was fantastic and was well-situated for enjoying the sunsets (the sun did shine!). The décor of our suite was somewhat odd featuring light colored wood but it was clean, comfortable and spacious. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The on site laundry facilities were also excellent and much needed as we were in the homestretch of a 23-day road trip which originated in Miami. We highly recommend the harbor view suite.

Breakfast was include which featured perhaps the worst sausage that we have ever experienced. But in all fairness no one made us eat it and by way of compensation the breakfast included the best hard boiled eggs that we have ever experienced in an "included" breakfast.

The sausage is about is bad as this review gets. We really enjoyed this hotel and will stay there again if we return to Cape Breton Island.

Bill, Linda and Neemo

Room Tip: Spring for a harbor view room. In our view it was worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSSydney, Front Office Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you William G for taking the time to write a review of the Cambridge Suites Hotel in Sydney.

Absolutely adored your review title, Two thumbs and one paw up!!

We get excited when all our guests, furry and non furry enjoy their stay with us.

Thank you for choosing us and hope to see you all back with us again.

Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#7 of 7 in Sydney
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
0.2 mi away
Spanish Bay Inn and  Suites
5.9 mi away
At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Suites - Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Suites - Sydney

Address: 380 Esplanade St, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1P 1B1, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: £75 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cambridge Suites - Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with the freedom of more space, in the heart of downtown Sydney. Welcome to the unique experience of Cambridge Suites Hotel, where you enjoy the special added comfort and spaciousness of a suite without spending more than the price of a hotel room. Perfectly located in the heart of downtown Sydney, Nova Scotia, our suites provide an extra measure of comfort during business trips, a leisurely vacation or an extended stay. Check into something more comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cambridge Suites - Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Suites - Sydney Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Suites - Sydney Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing