We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor administrative service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Larrys River
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“poor administrative service”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I am disturbed that a registered and checked in guest was denied admittance due to his appearance and due diligence was not exercised to investigate.
When I checked in on Saturday I requested my adult son be registered
also. I was requested to print his full name on the sign in form, I
did so. The day desk clerk was busy and forgot to electronically
register my son on the room. When my son returned to the hotel early
on Sunday morning without his room key he was denied entry. The night
desk clerk refused to call my room phone and refused to make a key for
my son. Fortunately my son found a place to sleep with a local
resident , otherwise he would have spent the night outdoors. I find
this negligence disturbing.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSSydney, Front Office Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Howard S

I apologize for your son being denied entry to your suite. Thank you for your feedback and yes, immediate action has been taken to ensure that this will not happen to another family. I hope that this will not deter you and your family from choosing us in the future.
Please call upon myself anytime for your future reservations,

Sincerely,
Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    363
    135
    52
    25
See reviews for
390
372
47
299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We always stay at the Cambridge Suites when we go to Sydney. The rooms are clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast is excellent with a good variety. We can take our dog there too. We recommend the Cambridge Suits to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSSydney, Front Office Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you L B,

I am happy to hear from one our frequent guests. Many people mention that their puppy knows where they are at when the car pulls up. Treats are behind the front desk!

Perhaps on your next stay, we may notice some of the new renovations that are going to start our 26th year.

Many more visits,
Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Hotel is in a great location on the waterfront, close to nightlife and restuarants. Beds were the best I have slept in for any hotel, can't be beat if a restful night is what you are looking for.
I recommend the Govenor's Pub and Eatery, five minute walk, for the best seafood, beer and sunset.
Buffet breakfast was just ok.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSSydney, Front Office Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Jeff M

Being located downtown, guests at Cambridge Suites have the opportunity to see more as they walk the boardwalk or go shopping. Or they could walk through our lobby to try our new outside eating area.

We are happy to celebrate our 25th anniversary and to see many new things to come in 2015.

Thank you,
Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverview
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great location on the Sydney boardwalk. Great room set up. Very good breakfast included in the price and parking included in the price as well. Friendly staff and overall good service. I would go back!



  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSSydney, Front Office Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hi Marie W,

Thank you, we value the opportunity to hear from our guests. Hopefully, we will see you in the not so distance future.

Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed at the Cambridge suites nice large room's very comfortable king size bed. Included a hot breakfast what I found odd was that the coffee and tea were in a different location so you had to go looking for this. Plates were small . Staff was very friendly room clean lots of towels . Two t.v. 's In the suite for your viewing pleasure. The fridge and air unit were noisy we had to close the bedroom door I didn't address the issue as we were only staying one night. Hotel has a small gym , hot tub , sauna. What I liked was it has a roof top area that you could use very nice with comfy seating this area overlook's the harbour !! A boardwalk just behind the hotel awesome spot we walked in the evening where there were some senior's singing /playing music. Another walk in the a.m. Lot's of walkers please note no dog's allowed. You have to pay $10 a day for parking this should be included in the price . Over all a nice place to stay

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacation78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSSydney, Front Office Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you vacation78,

We appreciate you taking time to complete a review. We hope you enjoy the rest of your vacation in 2014.

Till next time,
Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The front desk staff who greeted us were friendly and helpful, but everything else about our stay went downhill from there. The double beds in the suites were a little too small for a family of four to sleep comfortably, and the pull-out sofa was not a viable option for one of the children. There was barely room to open it with our luggage filling up the suite. We stayed in the Harbourview Suite, which we were told was the biggest, but it was quite small. the photos on the website are quite deceiving. The decor needs an update, and the cleanliness was not what it should have been. The price is inexpensive, but I would rather pay more for a better room. We were also quite disappointed with the complimentary buffet breakfast, as the waitstaff seemed to think that it closed half a hour earlier than the website and front desk told us. They were packing the food away right in front of us as we were trying to put food on our plates! We had to ask someone to dig out the cutlery for us, which she did begrudgingly, and this was at 9:25 am! There was no option to order breakfast off a menu, so if you hadn't eaten by about 9:15 am, you were out of luck. The servers obviously need a lesson in "service".

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSSydney, Front Office Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Denise B

I am happy to hear from your review that some aspects of your stay were positive, but disappointed that other parts were not up to our standard.

During the Fall of 2014 and into 2015, Cambridge Suites is renovating the lobby, restaurant and guest suites. We are very excited to see the " new look " that will be part of our very proud history in Sydney.

Over the past 25 years, we have worked very hard to earn our spot in Sydney's hospitality industry. We hope that you and your family, will give us a chance to earn that honor with you in the future.

Sincerely,
Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The suite was Beautiful and spacious.The staff were friendly and helpful, great service. I Wouldn't hesitate to stay again!
If you are going to be in the area, this is the spot for you. Enjoy your stay :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lillian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSSydney, Front Office Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Lillian J,

Thank you! Your " Getaway " sounds perfect - from the service to the accommodations.

We look forward to seeing you next time at Cambridge,
Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#5 of 7 in Sydney
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
0.2 mi away
Spanish Bay Inn and  Suites
1.5 mi away
Hotel North
Hotel North
#1 of 4 in North Sydney
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Suites - Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Suites - Sydney

Property: Cambridge Suites - Sydney
Address: 380 Esplanade St, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1P 1B1, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cambridge Suites - Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with the freedom of more space, in the heart of downtown Sydney. Welcome to the unique experience of Cambridge Suites Hotel, where you enjoy the special added comfort and spaciousness of a suite without spending more than the price of a hotel room. Perfectly located in the heart of downtown Sydney, Nova Scotia, our suites provide an extra measure of comfort during business trips, a leisurely vacation or an extended stay. Check into something more comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cambridge Suites - Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Suites - Sydney Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Suites - Sydney Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing