We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Hunts Point, Nova Scotia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We were in Sydney on business. Great waterfront location. Wonderful staff, great service and food in the dining room. Nice breakfast buffet but get there wary as it gets very crowded at times. Have stayed there before, will definitely stay there again. Had a great trip thanks to Cambridge Suites.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSSydney, Front Office Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Don S,

Thank you for your continued business. Starting in 2015, Cambridge Suites Sydney will be renovating our breakfast and our Trio Restaurant. After these areas, our guest suites will be receiving many new items.

We look forward to many more visits.
Sincerely,
Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    363
    135
    52
    25
See reviews for
390
372
47
299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Upon booking a room for a two night stay, the rate was discussed and the reservation confirmed. Despite the fact that the front desk agent did not know correct booking procedures, she confirmed the reservation at the such rate. The next day we receive a call saying they will charge us a higher rate for the second night because they over booked. Never under any circumstance should a guest agree to confirmation and then be mislead- you Make the mistake, as a company, you deal with it. They should have honoured their word. Aside from this un impressive experience- the blanket left In he closet was full of hair and dirt. It was never washed and replaced after the last guest had been in that room. I know this because not only that, the magazine left on the table was already handled.. And the crossword was already done by a previous guest. What a way to make your guests feel invaded. I was not impressed with their lack of commitment to their word- nor the uncleanliness. They even brought extra condiments for our room service covered with Plastic wrap. This is suppose to be a refined dining restaurant and food service option. Not a good way to make you feel at home. I have stayed here in the past and never had an issue other than it not being the most updated and clean. I most certainly will not be staying here again. Spend your money elsewhere. And make sure you agree on a rate and get it documented.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ccryslali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSSydney, Front Office Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Ccryslali,

Thank you for your feedback on your last stay. As you have stayed several times and know our long history in downtown Sydney, if there is ever a question regarding your rate or the quality of your suite, please call us, it will be corrected.

Our past 25 years have been made possible by being guest serviced orientated to each customer. As we move forward into 2015, we enjoy the opportunity to meet new guests that we can welcome back home each time they stay.

I do hope that we will see you in our future as well.
Sincerely,
Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The staff at the Hotel were extremely professional and friendly. When I asked for something that the hotel does not normally provide its guests, they found the product and brought it to my room. Really this is above and beyond my service expectations. The beds and linens were so comfortable, easy to crawl into and fall into a relaxing sleep. I enjoyed the park beside the hotel and was lucky to have found outdoor entertainment there which enhanced my visit. I was overjoyed when the hotel provided me a superb bag breakfast when I had to depart before the regular breakfast was served, without me even asking for one! I recommend this hotel to anyone planning a stay in Sydney.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sonya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSSydney, Front Office Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Sonya B

I was very pleased to see that all the staff treated you professionally during your stay. Our staff are very service focussed to make every guest enjoy their stay.

During the fall of 2014, Cambridge Suites will celebrate our 25th year in Sydney. Throughout the 25 years, there has always been change, as there will be during the upcoming year. Beginning in 2015, Cambridge Suites will begin renovating our guest suites with many new items.

With all the new changes, it is still sometimes, the "little" surprises are the ones that make a stay.
I will look forward to many more visits,
Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corner Brook
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Was excellent the last time I stayed but this time was terrible. The curtain fell on my little girl, the doorstop was out of the floor, the faucet in the tub leaked, the toilet broke and both sinks and tub did not drain well. The heater in the bathroom was rusty on the bottom also. The staff were excellent but I don't think these things should happen at $169.00 per night.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BuckleC878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSSydney, Front Office Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
BuckleC878

Thank you! It is through online surveys, talking to people in the lobby or meeting someone going into our restaurant, when guests can give us the opportunity to improve. Our team members are always working towards a better hotel. Cambridge Suites has a preventative maintenance program that addresses issues that may arise. We thank you for you time today.

We would like to see you and your family stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This was our first trip to Sydney and most fortunately we chose to stay at the Cambridge Suites. Our two day visit was most enjoyable. Absolutely no complaints and only good things to say. The food at Trio's is to write home about - you won't be disappointed. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSSydney, Front Office Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Bob H,

I was happy to hear of the positive comments from your stay. When in Sydney, please call upon any of our team to make your stay more enjoyable.

Our restaurant Trio is very popular with local residents and guests as well.

Thank you for your time,
Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottown
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Staff were so friendly and accommodating, meals were delicious and the beds were heavenly. We'll be back for sure. We enjoyed our stay so much it was hard to leave. We're already talking about staying there next year and seeing the Cabot Trail.


  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSSydney, Front Office Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Karen M

Thank you for your feedback from your last stay! Cambridge Suites is celebrating our 25th anniversary in 2014 and there are many new changes to come.

Again, thank you for your continued support.

See you next year!
Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The staff was good, beds comfortable, place clean, breakfast ok. However, our room cost $250 total. Based on cost and website pics I expected modern and polished decor in the room. The room was small and furniture dated. Overall disappointing as I was hosting friends from out of town for a special occasion.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Catherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSSydney, Front Office Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Catherine E,

I was very pleased to see that all the staff treated you and your family with respect. Our staff are very service focussed to make every guest enjoy their stay.

It is through the feedback from guests that we have a chance to grow and improve. During the Fall of 2014, Cambridge Suites will celebrate our 25th year in Sydney. Throughout the 25 years, there has always been change, as there will be during the upcoming year. Beginning in 2015, Cambridge Suites will begin renovating our guest suites with many new items.

I look forward to seeing you again,
Sincerely,
Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#5 of 7 in Sydney
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
0.2 mi away
Spanish Bay Inn and  Suites
1.5 mi away
Hotel North
Hotel North
#1 of 4 in North Sydney
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Suites - Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Suites - Sydney

Property: Cambridge Suites - Sydney
Address: 380 Esplanade St, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1P 1B1, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cambridge Suites - Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with the freedom of more space, in the heart of downtown Sydney. Welcome to the unique experience of Cambridge Suites Hotel, where you enjoy the special added comfort and spaciousness of a suite without spending more than the price of a hotel room. Perfectly located in the heart of downtown Sydney, Nova Scotia, our suites provide an extra measure of comfort during business trips, a leisurely vacation or an extended stay. Check into something more comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cambridge Suites - Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Suites - Sydney Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Suites - Sydney Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing