We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Halifax, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Hotel is nice, rooms are nice, good service, no concerns.

Only dislike is they don't any sort of continental breakfast, or at the very least free coffee in the lobby. I understand there is no breakfast as the restaurant offers this, but some small snacks or basket of fruit would go along ways...and a coffee on the way out in the morning (free of charge), would be great. The competition may not offer on-site restaurant, but at comparable rate if you're looking for a quick snack / coffee in the morning they may be the better choice.

Overall enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Tim B,

Thank you for your review. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. We do provide free coffee in all of our guest rooms with to-go cups provided, however, your suggestion in regards to coffee and snacks in the lobby will be shared with our team. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    148
    62
    28
    16
See reviews for
96
113
18
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for the first time May 7,2014. AC didn't work in room, usally holiday inn beds are awesome, not here. Breakfast was horrible, pastries were not cooked, eggs were gritty and it was $18 for breakfast buffet! Saw 3 other people return food.

I won't stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Jason S,

Thank you for reviewing us. Your comments and feedback are appreciated as we strive to always improve. We hope you will give us another try in the future.

Sincerely,

Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Glasgow, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Have been staying at this hotel for many years and always feel at home here. Friendly staff in all areas who make you feel welcome. Good dining room and pub. Very clean. Great view facing the water. Shopping area down town within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear John M,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We love hearing from our loyal guests. I will be sharing your kind words about our amazing staff, housekeeping, Saltspray and the Crown & Moose pub with all of the staff. We are certainly lucky to have such amazing views of the harbour and our great downtown location. Thank you for continuing to stay with us and we will see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We were really impressed with our stay here. The staff were friendly and helpful and obviously concerned about ensuring the comfort of their guests. The front desk staff perfectly combined professional and friendly and followed through on all they said they would deliver.
The $5 breakfast for kids was amazing and i loved that it was kids 16 & under and not 12 and under- My husband and I and our 2 boys ate there both mornings as a result and it was delicious!
Our boys are 11 and 15 and the lifeguard at the pool managed to make sure both groups (younger kids and teenagers) each had fun while also maintaining order/safety, which is not easy to do in a pool! He did a wonderful job. (and i also liked the 10pm rule for kids/11pm for adults)
The rooms were lovely and clean and the dining room and pub were great too.
We were in a group with other parents/kids attending a basketball tournament in Sydney and the staff/security did a great job of making sure the noise levels stayed down and kids weren't running through the halls (when parents weren't looking!). It was great that there was a friendly but firm security guard on both nights who was visible as a reminder to guests not to go too crazy.
We typically avoid larger hotels because sometimes staff forget about the guests they are so busy running the hotel itself. We originally stayed at the HI Sydney as that's where the other parents were staying so we were happily surprised to receive such great service. Now when we come back this is where we will stay. It's a big hotel with a small town feel.
Suggestions: 1. I like the idea of not washing towels/bedding every use- some signage that the hotel supports a green environment and to hang towels guests don't want washed would be great (or maybe i missed the signage??). Same for the bedding, some hotels will make up the beds but not change the sheets until guests want them done. It really is a win-win situation as the hotel saves on laundry and guests make the choice to help environment or not.
2. Updates to Air conditioners...the one in our room was hard to regulate (not uncommon in hotels, i know)
We'll be back! :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Lisa L,

Thank you for your fabulous review! We strive on exceptional customer service and it's great to hear you and your family felt comfortable during your stay. I will certainly be passing on these wonderful comments to our team including the restaurant staff for their wonderful job at breakfast, Leo, our life guard, our front desk agents and security, as well all the other staff here at the Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront. I'd also like to thank you for your helpful suggestions. We can't wait to welcome you back the next time you are in Sydney. We hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stenungsund, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

The Staff really showed a first class service during my four day visit. My luggage was late flying in to Sydney and the receptionists did their outmost to try to locate it for me. One of them even went out to the airport to check for it on her way home from work! In comparison to the very poor services Air Canada gave me this was heaven sent for me being very far away from home and in need of some help.

Nice rooms with comfortable beds and all you need for a business trip.

The breakfast is worth adding and there is a variaty of things on the menue as well as a choice of a nice buffet on some days.

I also can recommend the gym and pool as a perfect way to relax after long work days. Finish that off with a nice Pasta Carbonara and chat with the friendly Staff in the bar and you will feel just as if you were home.

I will for sure stay at the Holiday Inn next time I go to Sydney, NS Canada.

/Mrs Bjurstroem from Sweden

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Kristina B,

Thank you for reviewing us! Luggage that doesn't arrive with you is always a hastle, especially travelling so far away from home, I'm happy that the front desk agents could help by tracking it down for you. It's so wonderful to hear that we could make your business trip pleasurable from our comfortable beds to enjoying dining in the restaurant and pub and by ending your day relaxing and unwinding in the pool. I am excited to share your wonderful comments with our staff, we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2014

A big help when we were without power or heat at home.Took us in before the check in time thanks to the lady who took my reservation over the phone.We also had a pet come with us and the staff were very nice to him.

Room Tip: Pet friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lorraine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear lorraine m,

Thank you for reviewing us. We are so happy we could accommodate you, your family and of course your precious pooch during the power outage at your home. Thank you for your wonderful compliments and we hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Ease of finding the location and access to the highway made this an easy choice. It is also near restaurants so you could easily walk to them if you chose not to eat at the hotel. Hotel Room Rates were very reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarcyMD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Robert B,

We truly appreciate the excellent review of our property. Our location downtown on the waterfront does allow you to get out of the hotel to explore the local shops and restaurants. We always have market appropriate rates that are sure to meet everyone’s budget. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you to Sydney.

Sincerely,
Darcy MacDonald
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
0.2 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#5 of 7 in Sydney
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
0.0 mi away
Spanish Bay Inn and  Suites
1.5 mi away
Hotel North
Hotel North
#1 of 4 in North Sydney
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront

Property: Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Address: 300 Esplanade St, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1P 1A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Hotel Sydney
Delta Sydney
Sydney Delta Hotel
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing