We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some Bunny loves Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront's King View Superior Room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Some Bunny loves Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront's King View Superior Room!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The lobby was immaculate and the King View Superior Room was impressive. There were several windows including a porthole. I love King size beds and this one seemed to be more on the double King for me.

Room Tip: Looking over the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SomeBunnylovesyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarcyMD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear SomeBunnylovesyou,

Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel.

We agree that the views are spectacular from the Hotel and our staff take great pride in the quality of their work and customer service.

We are pleased that your enjoyed our King-size beds and look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,
Darcy MacDonald
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    146
    58
    24
    13
See reviews for
93
105
18
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

One of the nicest Hotels I have ever stayed at. Interior was spotless. A lot of white and pastel colors. Bright and Lively. We had a room on the eight floor. The window arrangements give it a corner look. It made the room which was big have an even larger look. Overlooking the river. Beautiful at sunrise and dusk. The restaurant also was surrounded with glass for a bight and airy look. Hotel Staff was helpful and went out of their way to make you feel welcome.

Room Tip: Ask for and upper level room for the great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LUDS96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarcyMD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear LUDS96,

Thank you so much for your great review of our hotel, the Holiday Inn Sydney - Waterfront.

We are very proud of our newly renovated hotel and the color scheme and décor. We are pleased that you had an opportunity to experience its beauty.

The views are breathtaking from the rooms and we take great pride with the quality of service we provide to our guests.

We look forward to you spending more time with us in the future.

Sincerely,
Darcy MacDonald
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We had heard negative reviews prior to arriving but chose to stay anyhow. The hotel and rooms are old. But then it seems everything in Nova Scotia is! The rooms were fine, staff was fine and location is in front of the harbor. You get your monies worth for sure. Would have no issues recommending this hotel.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarcyMD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Ron M,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, the Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront.

Our Hotel has recently undergone extensive renovations and we will continue to renovate. Cape Breton is known for its rich culture, heritage and authenticity and we are glad that you got to experience a part of that.

We hope your travels bring you back to Sydney.

Sincerely,
Darcy MacDonald
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The view across the harbour and that fiddle are what stays in mind after staying here twice. I also remember a typical Holiday Inn experience, that typical room decor and cookie-cutter facilities. Breakfast was an excellent buffet at an extra cost. I remember being called young man by the bar waiter at every opportunity, despite the fact that I am obviously a senior citizen. Once might be cute, but after every 10 minutes, with every male person in the room over 50 being given the same treatment, it was not long before it became intensely annoying. I ended up telling him my grandmother (long gone) used to call me "young man" whenever I had misbehaved, and time had bought me the right to escape that kind of abuse. Hopefully he will read this and never call a senior citizen "young man" again. I find it a useful place to stay on the way to the ferry to Port-aux-Basques.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave-at-london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarcyMD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear dave-at-london,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, the Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront.

The views from our hotel are spectacular and in particular, the view of the largest fiddle, which is a symbol of our rich culture and history that we are so proud of on our Island.

We are pleased you enjoyed your meal and are disappointed to hear about your experience with the waiter. We take great pride in the fact that our staff are extremely friendly and accommodating and excel in customer service.

We hope that your travels bring you back to Sydney soon.

Sincerely,
Darcy MacDonald
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, NS
Level Contributor
121 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed here with a team, got a great rate and 1/2 price breakfast buffet. Food was great, eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, toast, hash browns, OJ, yogurt, fruit, cereal pastries. Great quality for 10.00. Rooms were large, queen beds, great views of the harbour. Walking distance to restaurants and shopping. Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingswood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarcyMD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear kingswood1,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, the Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront Hotel. We agree that our buffet is wonderful as well as the location of our hotel.

We are pleased you have a wonderful stay and look forward to your next visit to our Hotel.

Sincerely,
Darcy MacDonald
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We found this hotel online and all the good reviews of it were confirmed! It is on the waterfront and there is a very nice boardwalk to stroll on,... wonderful in the evening. The lobby clerk was friendly and welcoming though perhaps a bit harried since she was the only one at the desk. Our room was clean and quiet. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was clean. Wi-Fi is free and above average for video streaming. The location is wonderful. Parking is outdoors and we could see our car from our room. Pool looked nice though we did not have a chance to use it. There is a restaurant/bar in the lobby that seemed popular but we didn't go there. There are places to eat within walking distance. We felt very safe there. The streets were not crowded in the morning and one can go running in a nearby industrial area that has been converted to a park. We would stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JasmineOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarcyMD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear JasmineOnTheGo,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our location on the Sydney Waterfront allows our guests to enjoy the spectacular views as well as being centrally located to all amenities.

Thank you for the kind words of our staff as we take great pride in the service we provide to our guests. Our Wi-Fi is always a big hit with our guests.

We hope you choose the Holiday Inn Sydney - Waterfront for your return trip to Sydney.

Sincerely,
Darcy MacDonald
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Very nice and clean. There is a restaurant and bar onsite. Easy to get to any where in New Glasgow. It is about 15 mins. drive to the airport. I stay there a couple of times and got the room on the side of the ocean without asking. There was a cruise ship docked there once. Right outside the hotel there is the boardwalk. Very nice scenery for summer.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are nice. I don't think there is additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarcyMD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Tian L,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, the Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront.

We are very pleased that your had a wonderful stay and agree that the scenery of the Waterfront is spectacular, even more so when a cruise ship is docked in Port.

We look forward to your next visit with us.

Sincerely,
Darcy MacDonald
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
0.2 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#4 of 7 in Sydney
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
0.0 mi away
Spanish Bay Inn and  Suites
1.5 mi away
Hotel North
Hotel North
#1 of 4 in North Sydney
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront

Property: Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Address: 300 Esplanade St, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1P 1A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Hotel Sydney
Delta Sydney
Sydney Delta Hotel
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing