We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Weary Gardener Was Mighty Fine”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sydney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Weary Gardener Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 13 Sydney B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 September 2012

While waiting for the water in the Keurig to heat up so that I could have a pre-bedtime decaf I noticed on the bookshelf in the sitting room a selection that was entitled Fine Art. That title described for me all the aspects of this B and B. The decor and appointments were well thought out and the furniture fit the motif. There was a relaxed comfort in the home and it was clear the the proprietor had recently completed a thorough renovation of the "public" portion of the home as a B and B. The whole scheme comes together exceedingly well.

We were encouraged to use the home as our "home away from home" and, in contrast to some B and B's where you were expected to be away from the home during the bulk of the day, these landlords opened their home for your use throughout the day.

The recent renovations and new furnishings made the bedrooms and ensuite bathrooms clean, crisp and comfortable. The breakfasts were tasty and thoughtfully prepared in a setting that was classy with a mood set by very quietly playing classical music. On the one occasion where we needed to be out before 7:00 AM, muffins and a variety of cheeses were left next to the coffee machine to take with us.

The pricing for the stay was very reasonable, to the extent that we felt we received exceptional value for the cost. I would highly recommend this establishment to anyone wanting accomodation in the Sydney area of Cape Breton. All Cape Breton communities and attactions were within a resonable distance from this location and the waterfront and mainstreet were within a 10 miniute walk.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012

I chose this B&B after looking through websites of all other B&Bs in Nova Scotia. This one is close to the Cabot Trail. With a name like The Weary Gardener, how could we not go? There is indeed a lovely back garden. The proprietors gave us a tour of the garden and knew the names of each and every perennial. Breakfast, it was good. A great experience, boutique B&B, nicely appointed. Proprietors were so helpful and unassuming. Didn't even want to take our credit card info until we checked out. We brought our bicycles and rode throughout the area. Discovered the harbor where the cruise ships dock with an enormous (12 tons?) fiddle welcoming everyone by playing a lengthy and varied fiddle tune. Great restaurants nearby. This was a great value and lovely, as well.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gspeed37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank André P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nath-Mart12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
0.4 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
0.9 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#7 of 7 in Sydney
172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Weary Gardener Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Weary Gardener Bed and Breakfast

Address: 40 Richardson Ave, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1S 2Z2, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Weary Gardener Bed And Breakfast Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing