We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Weary Gardener Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
36
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb and bcape bretonwonderful stayexcellent locationplace to stayvincefrostgardenerssuiteboardwalk
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2012

This bed and breakfast was fabulous - you walk up to the house through beautifully kept flower gardens and then into the house which is richly appointed with antique treasures all found by the owner who is very knowledgeable about all of the items in the house. He is also very friendly. The rooms (there are two) each have a large queen bed and their own bathrooms. There is a large living room area for visitor to sit in. It contains a library with a number of excellent books on Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, the Arts, etc. The whole house is immaculately clean and I do mean immaculately!!! The breakfast was lovely and made with local produce, etc. It is the nicest, cleanest place I have stayed in - I would highly recommend you give it a try! Thanks Vince for a wonderful experience!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valentyne52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

The Weary Gardener B & B is vastly understated by its modest street visage. After a cell phone call just an hour before, we were welcomed by a smiling Vince at the front door. Our newly-appointed room was very tastefully done with ultra-modern fixtures, hardwood floors and a very comfortable bed. The Weary Gardener would be absolutely perfect for two couples traveling together as both suites are on the upper level with a beautiful sitting area complete with a Kuerig coffee/tea/etc. maker at your fingertips. The home is beautifully appointed with many features that impressed both of us. We felt like we had arrived home and wanted to stay longer. You can't go wrong with the Weary Gardener B & B.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with either room, both upstairs and very private.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

The bedroom and private bathroom was beautifully decorated as was the whole interior and exterior of this B&B. I loved having a common sitting area inside as well as a balcony where you can sit, read and enjoy the lovely, quiet neighbourhood. Our host, Vince, was exceptionally friendly and helpful and made the most delicious breakfasts. The front and back yard of the B&B had the most beautiful gardens. We will definitely be back and recommend this place to our family and friends.

Room Tip: At this B&B there is no bad rooms
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

While waiting for the water in the Keurig to heat up so that I could have a pre-bedtime decaf I noticed on the bookshelf in the sitting room a selection that was entitled Fine Art. That title described for me all the aspects of this B and B. The decor and appointments were well thought out and the furniture fit the motif. There was a relaxed comfort in the home and it was clear the the proprietor had recently completed a thorough renovation of the "public" portion of the home as a B and B. The whole scheme comes together exceedingly well.

We were encouraged to use the home as our "home away from home" and, in contrast to some B and B's where you were expected to be away from the home during the bulk of the day, these landlords opened their home for your use throughout the day.

The recent renovations and new furnishings made the bedrooms and ensuite bathrooms clean, crisp and comfortable. The breakfasts were tasty and thoughtfully prepared in a setting that was classy with a mood set by very quietly playing classical music. On the one occasion where we needed to be out before 7:00 AM, muffins and a variety of cheeses were left next to the coffee machine to take with us.

The pricing for the stay was very reasonable, to the extent that we felt we received exceptional value for the cost. I would highly recommend this establishment to anyone wanting accomodation in the Sydney area of Cape Breton. All Cape Breton communities and attactions were within a resonable distance from this location and the waterfront and mainstreet were within a 10 miniute walk.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I chose this B&B after looking through websites of all other B&Bs in Nova Scotia. This one is close to the Cabot Trail. With a name like The Weary Gardener, how could we not go? There is indeed a lovely back garden. The proprietors gave us a tour of the garden and knew the names of each and every perennial. Breakfast, it was good. A great experience, boutique B&B, nicely appointed. Proprietors were so helpful and unassuming. Didn't even want to take our credit card info until we checked out. We brought our bicycles and rode throughout the area. Discovered the harbor where the cruise ships dock with an enormous (12 tons?) fiddle welcoming everyone by playing a lengthy and varied fiddle tune. Great restaurants nearby. This was a great value and lovely, as well.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gspeed37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews