We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful quaint Hotel dt Sydney”
Review of Royale Hotel

Royale Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sydney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Royale Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Sydney B&B and Inns
Vernon, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A beautiful quaint Hotel dt Sydney”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This Hotel was a true find. After checking out the Holiday Inn across the street, we were glad they were full. Very old quaint Hotel with huge bathroom, antiques galore in your room, the most comfortable bed and the friendliest couple who run it. Lucky the dog is a big 'love'. We only stayed one night but would gladly have stayed more had we the time. This was one of my favourite stays and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureenprim63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    12
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
7
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I booked a reservation for the Royal Hotel via the Nova Scotia tourism website on June 25, 2013, for a two-night stay with an arrival date of August 11, 2013. After travelling around mainland Nova Scotia for a week, my friend and I drove across to Cape Breton and into Sydney. We arrived at the hotel around 7 pm, and when we went inside to check in, the man in the reception area gave us a puzzled look as he spun around in his chair. He asked us if we had a reservation, and when we replied yes, it was another puzzled look. I gave my name and he went to check his book.

He then proceeded to tell us that our room was not available (you can book according to room number), as the people who had stayed in it the night before had decided to stay another night. Then he told us that they don't kick people out of rooms if they are willing to pay another night. He said that there was another room available at a higher rate ($30 more per night) and that he was willing to SPLIT the difference with us. He showed us the room, and we decided to look elsewhere due to the complete lack of customer service and not accommodating customers who have been inconvenienced by a hotel decision to not honour a reservation made long in advance, but to accommodate a customer who makes a snap decision to stay another night.

As we sat outside flipping through the tourism book finding another place to stay, the man came out and told us that this place was the best place we were going to find, and that it is the best rate we would find. He said that if we wanted something similar in price, that there was the Martin Arms hotel down the road, but that the Royal Hotel was far more central to everything. We again declined and continued to look for other options.

He came outside a second time, this time talking on the phone to the owner, and once again told us that the owner was only willing to split the difference in price, and that again, this was the best place we would find in Sydney. So I told him that there was no way I was going to stay at a place that does not honour its reservations, and that makes its customers pay more because of their decision to break the original reservation agreement. And what was his reply? "This is the hotel business and we are here to make money during tourist season. We can't be giving discounts."

Well that did it for me. We drove out of the lot, up the road to the Martin Arms hotel, and checked in for two nights at the same rate we would have paid at the Royal Hotel (the higher rate he was offering). BUT the Martin Arms hotel is right on the waterfront, has free breakfast, off-street parking, is a 5-minute walk to downtown, and is fully renovated. If there was one good thing to come out of this whole ordeal, it's that we didn't stay at the Royal Hotel!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Just dropped by and Bert offered us a private room on second floor with bathroom. No a/c but still airy, use of table fan at night. Each bedroom has its own wash basin. Good size bathroom. Since this hotel is a "collector's item" by itself, so if do not mind the little squeaks, this is a very homey lodging. Clean and tidy.

Take a walk to the harbour, you'll find people fishing. Heritage homes in the same direction. When the cruise ship comes in, the little stores are opened, lots of souvenir to browse and buy,

Bert is very helpful and nice to chat with. Lucky, the family pet is extremely friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wang C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Cannot say enough about the friendliness and welcoming nature of the hosts. The whole place can be summed up with the word Character. You will get it in the furniture, personalities, and guests that reside in the hotel.

I also have to say, brand new beds made for the best night sleep we have had in Cape Breton. They also have great tv, and are right in the heart of Sydney downtown and accessible to everything. I loved it, hope you will too!

Room Tip: Recommend the ones with a bathroom, but there are many without that are nice. The suites we had a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liza2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W. Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This is a great place to stay if your are looking for a comfortable and clean place to sleep in the heart of the downtown area. There are no phones in the rooms, or large widescreen TVs with game station plugins. I had been camping until then and so opted for the "bathroom down the hall" room and was extremely happy. Later I hung out with the owners in a large living room-type area watching the opening ceremonies of the Olympics on a large TV. They are very friendly and helpful and it was nice to get to visit with someone from Nova Scotia and learn about the province. Felt more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel. There is a fun pub about a block away with excellent food and local music.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Epaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

This hotel is a great little slice of life of Nova Scotia - the owner is friendly and accomodating, the rooms clean, warm and cosily appointed, and the very large fluffy security guard sleeps soundly by the door and cocks its head up in acknowledgement, then goes back to sleep again. All very quaint and authentic Nova Scotia, and a real pleasure to visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynda_since_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I was a very late arrival - after midnight, and the owner of the hotel was very accommodating.

It's an old hotel (perhaps 100 years old) with all the features of an old property - wooden staircase, high ceilings etc. There is a basic small room with shared bathrooms and parking on-site. Happy to recommend this property.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PhilUSA2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
0.1 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Spanish Bay Inn and  Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#5 of 7 in Sydney
158 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royale Hotel

Property: Royale Hotel
Address: 345 Esplanade St, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1P 1A9, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Also Known As:
Royale Hotel Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing