We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive, but an amazing Hampton Inn!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
328 reviews
238 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 721 helpful votes
“Expensive, but an amazing Hampton Inn!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed two nights, one on points and one cash, on this, the 2nd of our six hotels in our road trip of the Maritimes. This was one of the nicest hotels of our trip (after the Hilton St. John, and maybe the Lord Beaverbrook in Fredericton), but it was certainly our most expensive for the second night at over $200 with tax! I've stayed at a lot of Hampton Inns, and this is the nicest one in which I've stayed. If I didn't factor price/value in my ratings, I would have given in 5 dots, because this is a Hampton Inn on steroids! I wouldn't have coughed up the money without the free night, though.
The lobby is impressive with a beautiful stone fireplace and artwork, and a grand staircase. The pool has an adequate size and a great slide which doesn't dump into the pool (making the pool usable for others). They have taken care of the pool heating problem which a prior reviewer had noted--the temperature was quite comfortable. It has the largest and best-equipped gym I've ever seen in a Hampton Inn, and everything in perfect order. Unlike many Hamptons, the breakfast area is very ample in size, with no danger of over-crowding.
The rooms are expansive, quiet and comfortable. Ther's a flat HD television, and the internet worked well and promptly. Although the hotel has no restaurant for lunch or dinner, it is connected to a good one at the trade and convention center via a climate-controlled walkway. We had some problems with the GPS locating this property, probably because it's new, but even putting in the trade and convention center led to problems.
In short, I have nothing to complain about this property but the price, which I would expect more of a luxury property. I realize Canada is expensive, but this property was more expensive than the Hilton St. John or the Crowne Plaza/Lord Beaverbrook in Fredericton. Do spend a day at Louisbourg Fortress!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lebelgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    736
    155
    25
    10
    6
See reviews for
334
248
13
252
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

Great room with an awesome view towards downtown Sydney and Sydney Harbour.

Room seemed bigger than average. Kiju's Restaurant located through the pedway.

The only small issue i noticed was the bathroom exhaust fan does not move much air so the bathroom is full of steam after a shower.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mgoodwin187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
The Hampton Inn Sydney appreciates your response. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to you staying with us again.

Krista Clarke
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigonish
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

I recently had an opportunity to stay at this location. I'd never stayed at any Hampton Inn prior to this, so I'm unsure if this is typical of most Hampton Inns. The property is new, so you expect it to be in good condition, and it was. I thought the lobby was beautiful. Check-in went very quickly, and the lady that served us was sincerely friendly and helpful. Our room seeemed a nice size, and was tastefully decorated. Mattress was very comfortable, and I liked that the foot of the mattress faced the window. I prefer this orientation.

There is a nice free breakfast in the morning. We'd come to breakfast late, and at one point, while we were eating, a staff member came over to politely ask us if we'd care for anything else to eat or drink before they closed down breakfast. I thought that was a nice touch, because many places just start putting things away without a word when 10am hits.

I can't think of any negative impression I had during the whole stay, and thus, I've given it a perfect score. I'd have to say that its probably the nicest place to stay in Sydney. Like I say, I don't know if other Hampton Inns are like this one, but I intend to try another at some point.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duley01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
The Hampton Inn Sydney is very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to you visiting again!

Krista Clarke
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012 via mobile

The new building greeted us with warmth and refinement as we drove into the driveway.
As we checked in, the staff's willingness to make us feel welcome was greatly appreciated. The bottles of cold water are a great touch!
The rooms was immaculate, with it's fresh smelling sheets and new furnishings.
A welcome stay in an area with some hotels that are showing their age.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Hampton Inn, Sydney. We appreciate your kind words and hope that you will stay with us again!

Krista Clarke
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

First thing--this is a brand-new property & no detail has been missed in the decor. It's truly stunning! The staff were so very pleasant--every one we encountered said hello, good morning, etc. We thought we were splurging a bit with the cost of the room; however, our room was easily the size of a junior suite in many other hotels, & was *very* comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was always well-stocked & tasty. The only thing that made me shake my head was the lack of a vent fan in the bathroom--didn't expect that in such new construction. Go experience the level of customer service at the Hampton Inn Sydney--you won't regret it!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!! We strive to ensure every guest receives the very best hospitality and I am so glad that you experienced just that.

Krista Clarke
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Great pool/water slide for the kids. The beds & rooms were great, the complimentary breakfast was good. I'll be staying here the next time I am in Sydney. Try Kiju's restaurant next door also really good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SmacDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel! We strive for perfection and certainly look forward to hosting your next stay in Sydney.

Krista Clarke
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax, ns
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

I was waiting for this location to open for a long time. I travel to Sydney quarterly and all of the other hotels are getting old and tired.

It's a two minute drive from downtown so if walking to appointments is your thing then this might be a hinderance. For me, I need to drive where ever I go so made little difference. To be honest, I would drive it anyways as it is that much nicer than any other option in town.

This Hampton is above and beyond for the price point and is by far the nicest hotel in Sydney.
There is no restaurant located in the Hotel itself but there is a wonderful restaurant and lounge in the adjacent convention center which is incredible, both in the menu and quality of food but almost aas important, price. It's a quick walk through a raised pedway.

Another advantage was, (for me and not the management I'm sure) was the fact that there were very few other guests while I was there. You could park where you wanted, the building was quiet. No line up at the hot breakfast which I found to be just the perfect start to my days.

I highly recommend this property and any of the others that the owner manages throughout the Maritime provinces. I've stayed at a few and they are all first rate.

Feel free to message me with questions.
Rick Mc

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rickmcns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thank you so much for your review. Our staff prides themselves on exceeding guest expectations, and we really appreciate your kind words about our hotel. We look forward to hosting your next stay in Sydney.

Krista Clarke
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
1.0 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
40.3 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#4 of 7 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
17.6 mi away
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney

Property: Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Address: 60 Maillard Street, Membertou | attached via pedestrian walkway to the Membertou trade and convention centre, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1S 3W3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton Sydney Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing