We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Eve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

First time staying at this hotel. It was New Year's Eve and we had tickets to the dance at the MTCC. The room was large with a king bed and beyond large bathroom. They were extremely busy but no problem checking in. We needed a new iron because the one in the room was dirty, someone arrived with a replacement in less than 5 minutes. Even with all the excitement going on for that night we never heard a peep the entire night. It is a fantastic hotel and if you get the chance to dine at the restaurant across the pedway.. It's a must!! I have recommended it to everyone and will continue to do so. For Xmas I received a voucher for the "romance" package and can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela2625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Dear Angela,

Thank you for your recent review. We are very appreciative that you took the time to provide us feedback on your recent stay. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we sincerely hope that you stay with us again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Krista Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    779
    162
    26
    10
    6
See reviews for
356
258
13
269
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I have stayed at Comfort Inn, Quality Inn, Delta, etc., and this Hotel beats everyone of those hands down! I checked in at noon (early checkin NP) and was offred a complimentary beer...nice touch.
The room was huge and so clean and modern. There's a walk way to a local restaurant and the area is sort of commercial so there's NO STREET NOISE!
I was also suprised to find on the desk in my room a personal greeting card from manager, a complimntray pack of nuts, and a complimentary bottle of water with my companys logo on it.
Simply the best Hotel stay in my life for the money.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DFWMCNALLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your recent Trip Advisor Review. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We appreciate all of our guests, however, when a corporate guests stays at our hotel, we like to provide them with some extra treats to show our sincere appreciation for their business.

Warm Regards,

Krista Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arichat, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2013

My family and I were very tired after a busy weekend of a minor hockey. At the tournament in Glace Bay one of the hockey parents mentioned the Hampton Hotel. I am very grateful that she did as our overnight stay was great. Front desk staff were very friendly and professional. We called them just 10 minutes before our arrival and they had everything set up for us. Lovely accommodations, complementary drinks,and phoning us to check if our room was satisfactory. The hotel was actually beyond what I was expecting. A very pleasant place to be in. The complementary hot/cold breakfast is wonderful, enough choices to please everyone. I will be taking my family back again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor, it was very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor Review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we would love the opporuntiy to welcome you back as a guest in the future.

Warm Regards,

Krista Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2012

My husband and I travelled from Halifax for Christmas vacation. We had originally booked a room at the Marriott Hotel in Halifax, but heard very good reviews about your Hotel, so we decided to cancel our reservation at the Marriott and book the Romance Package at the Hampton. The staff were very nice but when I approached the desk our 3 little chocolates were handed to us. Our wine was not in our room because they did not ask what type of wine we preferred when the room was booked. When we checked our room, we noticed that there was no tub which would have been nice since it is suppose to be a romance package. Two hours after we checked into our room our wine arrived. The exhaust fan in the bathroom was horrible and we could here the room next door's television very clearly. My husband went to find a vending machine and there is only one, located on the second floor and it did not take bills which being on the sixth floor was an inconvenience. On a positive note, the staff were friendly and the room was clean. I was very disappointed with the Romance Package. There was nothing romantic about it. I was handed my 3 little chocolates at the front desk, no tub and our wine was delivered two hours after we checked in, which I might add tasted flat. It was a disappointment due to the fact I cancelled my plans in Halifax to stay at your hotel for a romantic getaway :(

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela0525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Good Afternoon,

I wanted to take a moment to thank you for your recent Trip Advisor Review. We appreciate all feedback that we receive. We are terribly sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please feel free to contact me directly and I'll be happy to assist you in any way I can.

Thank you and once again, our sincere apologies.

Krista Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

I grew up in the Shipyard area of Sydney but I stay at hotels when visiting these days as my father's house is a bit small to suddenly take on an additional family of 4 for an overnight stay. I have been staying at either the Holiday Inn (formerly the Delta) or the Cambridge Suites on the waterfront as they are both clean and modern. This will change.

For a recent family funeral, my brother pointed out the new Hampton Inn on the Memrbertou First Nation and we gave it a shot. The Hampton Inn only opened earlier this year and the rates were better than what I had been paying on the waterfront.

I was very pleased. The Hampton is more than suitable for a family stay. The pool is not too small, not too big and the water slide doesn't dump into the pool itself so if your kids are so inclined, having a pool full of people doesn't shut down the slide as well.

We had a double Queen bed room and my brother had a King sized bed room. Our room had a bit more room and had a nice counter with a second sink, large bar fridge, microwave and coffee machine. I don't think my brother's room had the counter area with the second sink like our room did.

The bed was very comfortable but it took me three nights to find the right pillow. I had been sleeping on a too hard pillow and it the resulting angle on my neck was uncomfortable all day. Once I found the right pillow (and they have several types in the room), I was fine.

The self serve breakfast was quite good. Spacious with lots of seating (still overrun on a Saturday morning) and a lot of selection. The obligatory self serve waffles, a different choice of hot dishes each day, disappointing made from concentrate juice dispenser (my son loved the ruby red grapefruit juice but I couldn't drink the apple), a selection of teas, and a comfortable and uncramped layout. Note the breakfast buffet did not have extended hours on the weekend so be careful of your morning timings.

A minus for me is they allow dogs in the hotel. This is a plus for some so make your own decision.

The hotel is located on the Membertou First Nations and is attached to their conference centre by a longish pedway - nicely decorated for Christmas. The restaurant in the conference centre is not busy and has a good selection at reasonable prices. Not a typical family restaurant but not ridiculously expensive either.

The hotel is convenient as long as you have a car. If you're on foot, it is no where near anything in Sydney other than what is in Membertou. The hotels on the waterfront allow you to walk about down town or on the boardwalk but those hotels are also a bit more expensive so govern yourself accordingly.

There is a gas station, small grocery store and a Tim Hortons within a short walk from the hotel.

The only disappointment with our stay is I'm not sure they vacuumed the room while we were there and we were there 4 nights. I know they didn't vacuum the second last day we were there and I don't think they cleaned the horizontal surfaces either. We were departing in the morning so I didn't even mention it to the desk staff as by the time we made it back to our room the last thing I wanted was to wait to have the room cleaned again. I'm sure they would have fixed it if we had identified it.

So the Hampton Inn is now my go to hotel for visiting Sydney. We always drive to Sydney so we have our car. My youngest son loved the pool and slide and as long as we get up early enough, the breakfast buffet is convenient and saves us paying for a restaurant breakfast (and I still haven't found a good breakfast restaurant in Sydney yet).

Room Tip: The double Queen rooms have a better fridge/microwave/sink counter than the single King rooms. The p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fusilier111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor Review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting future stays.

Warm Regards,

Krista Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lunenburg, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We stayed here just before Christmas and were very impressed by this place. The lobby is really nice and well laid out. The rooms are large, very modern and clean. The staff went out of their way to be helpful.. We had been in our room only 5 minutes when we received a call to see if everything was to our liking and if there was anything they could do. Beds were very comfortable. It was a weekend and we did not hear any noise. A newspaper was by our door in the morning and the complimentary breakfast was really good. Much better than most breaksfasts that you don't pay extra for. We will definetly be staying here again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 24 December 2012
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and very appreciative of this great review!

Thank you,

Krista Clarke
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

A friend recommended the Hampton Inn in Membertou, and I am so glad they did! From the moment I walked in the lobby, I knew we'd be pleased with our stay. Check in was quick and courteous. The hotel is absolutely beautiful, and the rooms are comfortable and spacious. We enjoyed the pool in the evening, and again in the morning before breakfast. The complementary breakfast was wonderful, with waffles, eggs, sausages, pancakes, juices, cereals, breads and fruit. Everything you could want. And with check out not until 12noon, we had time to relax. Just minutes from downtown Sydney, and very close to the Mayflower Mall, the Hampton Inn is the perfect choice. Unless the hotel is booked to capacity, I won't stay anywhere else on my next visit. Well done!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FanOfSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Thank you for the time to complete this review on our property. We are extrememly happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Hampton Inn, Sydney. Please be sure to contact us again if you are travelling in this area!

Warm Regards,

Krista Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
1.0 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#4 of 7 in Sydney
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
40.3 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
27.4 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney

Property: Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Address: 60 Maillard Street, Membertou | attached via pedestrian walkway to the Membertou trade and convention centre, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1S 3W3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton Sydney Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing