We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
MA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I've stayed in some great hotels with great service, but this Hampton Inn keeps up with them. The front desk attendants went out of their way to accommodate our needs, despite my messing up the reservations dates (made with Hilton points so they had to spend 30 minutes on the phone to fix it), storing our bikes, and helping to arrange an extra night despite it being a near-sellout on that date.

The building, which looks new, is one of the nicest Hampton Inns I've stayed in and the breakfasts were excellent.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: ask for room on the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freq_traveler_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    158
    26
    10
    6
See reviews for
344
251
13
256
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This hotel exceed expectations in terms of the helpfulness of the staff particularly in the breakfast room. Additionally, the breakfast room is sufficiently large with enough space between tables to avoid a crowded feeling.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Everything about the Hampton Inn feels and looks fresh. The room was spacious, quiet and very clean. The pool was a little cool, but my children loved it. The waterslide was a big hit. We enjoyed the complimentary hot chocolates afterwards which was a nice end of the day treat. Breakfast was lovely with plenty options to choose from. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Above standard Hampton Inn... great decor. The standard room has a "wet bar" area with sink, fridge and microwave... more than the many other Hampton Inns I have stayed at. Service totally professional, breakfast was the same as at every Hampton Inn. Pool not so great, stairs and bottom of it very slippery. The water slide might be fun for kids but as a fairly tall and large adult, I find enclosed water slides to be too confining, I prefer the open top ones. No hot tub :-(

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trinity1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

I love everything about this hotel!! The facilities are clean and very appealing! The staff is more than friendly and always helpful! They always take time to chat with you and make sure everything is okay. The pool area is great...love the water slide. I would like to move in!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Parri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
409 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

One of the nicest Hampton inn I stayed at. this is a brand new hotel about 5-7 minutes drive to down town. Plenty of parking, modern rooms and as always it included the Hampton Inn traditional breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelalot724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Just stayed one night, but this place was Beautiful! Very clean, Service was excellent. Love the Decor, the Hardwood flooring in the Lobby and hallways. We had a King Size room, lots of Room and the Bed was super comfortable!

Only couple thing to note, it is not your typical location for a Hampton Inn (on the side of a busy Highway). It is in the middle of a First Nations Reservation, Membertou, which is in the middle of Sydney. The Reservation is a first class area, they Have a Conference/restaurant attached to the Hotel by Pedway. They also, have a Gaming Centre across the street. We were very impressed with how this Reservation is doing things!!!

The other thing of note, was the shower water temp fluctuated. You had to be ready to put on more cold or hot as needed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrUg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for the fabulous review! We think our beds are very comfy as well! We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return visit.

Thank You,

Krista Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
1.0 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
40.3 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#4 of 7 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
17.6 mi away
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
0.7 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney

Property: Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Address: 60 Maillard Street, Membertou | attached via pedestrian walkway to the Membertou trade and convention centre, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1S 3W3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton Sydney Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing