We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Gem of a Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The hotel is virtually brand new and it is beautiful! The foyer and dining rooms have lovely furniture (so much that I inquired on who designed it) and perfectly laid out. The rooms are thoughtfully appointed with internet, comfortable beds and great linens. Complimentary breakfast is served each morning and the selection is varied and delicious.

The hotel staff is wonderfully accommodating and very helpful. We enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this hotel.

PS - this trip was personal, but as a frequent business traveler - the Hampton Inn Sydney would be perfect for work trips as well.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Michelle1009,
Thank you for your great review! We agree that the hotel does have a wonderful decor with beautiful furniture and appreciate you noticing the touches that were put in to make it all come together. Our breakfast is also one of our best features having so many items to choose from nobody walks away hungry that is for sure. Thanks again for recommending our hotel for business or leisure and we would love to see you again in the future. Enjoy your holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

888 - 894 of 1,127 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

Four rooms were reserved for a business trip. Not having stayed at this location before, I hoped that my guests would be pleased with the accommodations. No need to worry. The check-in was easy and courteous, and the rooms were large, clean and quiet. The complimentary hot breakfast was very expansive and of good quality, and was offered in a large, well appointed room. No seating problems or shabby, basic furniture like so many other places. Free parking, too! Would not hesitate to recommend this to friends, or to stay there again myself. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear BrettM,
Thank you for your great review and we are so pleased that both you and your business colleagues enjoyed your recent stay with us and that we exceeded your expectations. I have to agree the complimentary breakfast and parking are great amentities to offer our guests. The breakfast does have quite the number of items to offer and everyone always raves about it. We hope to see you stay here again whether it is for business or leisure and have a wonderful holiday season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

What can I say - the hotel was beautiful! The foyer and dining rooms were absolutely gorgeous! The rooms were perfectly appointed and the bed was very comfortable. Complementary breakfast had many options and was delicious. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. I would recommend this hotel for either business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Michelle1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is not a hotel for the business traveler as the internet is poor despite the number of attempts and various devices you have. I was annoyed when at 9:00 a.m., which I’m on a business call, to have someone knock on the door and despite my effort to ask who it was that person continued to knock – it was the housekeep asking when I would be leaving (day 2 of a 3 day stay) so she can clean the room. The hotel appears to be struggling with managing the establishment. It’s very rare that you are not greeted when you arrive but not here – the clerk was too busy leaving me to introduce themselves and ask if they had the time to check me in (seriously). The day that I stayed there was a large number of children who was using the pool, lobby, elevator and hotel halls as their personal playground which the management failed to address leaving guest to be pushed aside as children raced to the elevator, leaving large amount of water on the tiled floor in the lobby and elevator, and screaming. The later made it difficult to work and speak on the phone. It might sound like a grumpy business traveler, but when you travel 12 hours to get here you expect to relax and get work done in the time allotted but this hotel did not make you feel welcome. In short, as a business traveler, stay away – as a family – great place with great breakfast!

Room Tip: Stay away from the second floor as it has a connector the adjacent civic center and will have high t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravlerBOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Hello TravlerBos thank you for taking the time to write this review, we would like to speak to you personally about your recent stay, can you contact either myself or Glen Morrison the General Manager here at the hotel? You can either phone us at 902-564-6555 or email us. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Let me indicate that we shall be returning to this hotel by virtue that the staff and service we received were second to none. Thanks once again. We found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful during our stay. Also, it was extremely convenient to have the dinning area connected to the hotel as we didn't have to exit the building to enjoy the excellent dinning facility and it's staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Rubin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed at the Hampton Hotel for 3 nights with our two dogs. We have never stayed at such a beautiful elegant hotel that not only allowed us to bring our two fur- babies with us, but treated them like part of the family. The staff were very welcoming and even gave our two dogs treats each time we came in from out side. They made us feel so welcomed and the hot breakfast served in the morning was delicious and such a great treat at no extra cost. I would totally recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Sydney area, it's close to everything and overall just a great place to stay!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationnewfies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Thank you VenessaH for the great review. Here at the Hampton we treat our four legged friends like family too! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would love to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I had an excellent room and hot breakfast. The staff was courteous and helpful in giving directions.It is located at a great location, Membertou, with a pedway to a great restaurant Kiji's. The food there was amazing.There was alsoa great craft shop next door.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jocelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
1 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#7 of 7 in Sydney
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
27.4 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
676 reviews
6.9 mi away
At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney

Address: 60 Maillard Street, Membertou | attached via pedestrian walkway to the Membertou trade and convention centre, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1S 3W3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: £74 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton Sydney Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing