We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly staff, kid friendly hotel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The hotel was beautifully decorated. very kid friendly. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Held a birthday party and the children had a great time at the pool and really enjoyed the breakfast. rooms are great for families.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Gena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

891 - 897 of 1,134 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

This hotel was great. It was very clean and new inside. The complementary breakfast was really impressive, and the staff was very kind and helpful. The to-go bags were also great for days on the run. I would advise future business travelers to be very repetitive with your corporate discount (if applicable), because mine was not applied after reminding them twice. That would be my only complaint, everything else was wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Katelyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney has a very nice hotel lobby with beautiful hardwood floors throughout, friendly staff and nicely appointed rooms.

In the smartly appointed and spacious room was a king-size bed with firm yet comfortable mattress and hard as well as soft pillows to choose from, two bedside tables and phone. Lots of lighting and desk as well as free high-speed wired and wireless internet. There was a chair, sofabed and large window overlooking Rotary Park and northern Sydney. A 37-inch LCD TV was mounted on a kitchenette and there is even a lap desk for your laptop. The private kitchenette is equipped with an unstocked refrigerator, a microwave, and a coffee/tea maker, ice bucket. The room had a quiet air conditioner and climate control. The room was spotless. The closet was a moderate size with enough hangers, iron and ironing board.

The bathroom is spacious with lots of towels and facecloths and large shower though there was no tub. There was the usual toiletries, hair dryer and large vanity with large mirror. The only negative is the lack of a ceiling fan in bathroom leading to fogged up mirrors.

There is a pool area with waterslide and gym that we never used. There is a pedway linking the hotel to the Membertou Trade and Convention Centre as well as Kiju Restaurant.

The complimentary breakfast buffet from 6-10 am was fantastic! A large breakfast area led to the large breakfast pantry/buffet area where you found huge self-made waffles, bacon, sausages, cereals, pastries, beans, eggs, yogurt, fresh cinnamon rolls, bagels and muffins, various breads for toast, juices, coffee and tea. One of the best free breakfasts we've encountered in a hotel. Coffee and tea is available 24/7 in the lobby.

There was also a free newspaper delivered under the door in the morning. The final bill was also slipped under the door. They even placed a bottle of water with my wife’s company logo on it. A small attention to detail & it gets noticed.

This would be one of the better hotels we've stayed at this price level and probably one of the best Sydney has to offer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fuzzybearHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear fuzzybearHalifax,
Wow thank you so much for your very detailed and kind review. We appreciate you taking the time to write such a great review and point out all our wonderful amenties like our complimentary breakfast and spotless rooms. We would love to host your next stay in Sydney and hope you have a great holiday season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

A great hotel for business or pleasure travel. Hotel was a pleasant surprise for this trip. The staff were extremely helpful and engaging and the premises immaculate which made the overnight very restful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank nstravels13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The hotel is virtually brand new and it is beautiful! The foyer and dining rooms have lovely furniture (so much that I inquired on who designed it) and perfectly laid out. The rooms are thoughtfully appointed with internet, comfortable beds and great linens. Complimentary breakfast is served each morning and the selection is varied and delicious.

The hotel staff is wonderfully accommodating and very helpful. We enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this hotel.

PS - this trip was personal, but as a frequent business traveler - the Hampton Inn Sydney would be perfect for work trips as well.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Michelle1009,
Thank you for your great review! We agree that the hotel does have a wonderful decor with beautiful furniture and appreciate you noticing the touches that were put in to make it all come together. Our breakfast is also one of our best features having so many items to choose from nobody walks away hungry that is for sure. Thanks again for recommending our hotel for business or leisure and we would love to see you again in the future. Enjoy your holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Four rooms were reserved for a business trip. Not having stayed at this location before, I hoped that my guests would be pleased with the accommodations. No need to worry. The check-in was easy and courteous, and the rooms were large, clean and quiet. The complimentary hot breakfast was very expansive and of good quality, and was offered in a large, well appointed room. No seating problems or shabby, basic furniture like so many other places. Free parking, too! Would not hesitate to recommend this to friends, or to stay there again myself. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear BrettM,
Thank you for your great review and we are so pleased that both you and your business colleagues enjoyed your recent stay with us and that we exceeded your expectations. I have to agree the complimentary breakfast and parking are great amentities to offer our guests. The breakfast does have quite the number of items to offer and everyone always raves about it. We hope to see you stay here again whether it is for business or leisure and have a wonderful holiday season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

What can I say - the hotel was beautiful! The foyer and dining rooms were absolutely gorgeous! The rooms were perfectly appointed and the bed was very comfortable. Complementary breakfast had many options and was delicious. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. I would recommend this hotel for either business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Michelle1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
1 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#7 of 7 in Sydney
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
6.9 mi away
At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn
27.4 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney

Address: 60 Maillard Street, Membertou | attached via pedestrian walkway to the Membertou trade and convention centre, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1S 3W3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: £84 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton Sydney Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing