We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible hotel, perfect location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
502 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Incredible hotel, perfect location!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have stayed at the Hampton Inn several times during our trips to Halifax but this last trip was the BEST! The hotel had just finished renovation and the rooms are spectacular! We even had a TV in the mirror of the bathroom! Great place, great value! A true gem in the city!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    781
    163
    26
    10
    6
See reviews for
357
260
13
269
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Excellent hotel, Very clean!!! I was very impressed with the details and cleanliness! The Staff were very helpful upon arrival and throughout our stay. The room was very clean, one of the cleanliness I have stayed in over the past few years ( I have stayed in many). The beds are very comfortable. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This was my First visit at this Hilton Property. It was 100% Perfect. I could not of asked for anything better. The Breakfast in the morning was great and lots of Selection. I like how it is attached to the Membertou Trade Center. We had Dinner the night before in the Kijius there. Very pleased with my Stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CB-Travel-Guy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear CB-Travel-Guy-78,
Thank you so much for your great review, we so appreciate your kind comments! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and agree the breakfast is fabulous. We love our close proximity with the Membertou Trade and Convention Center as the pedway and Kijus restaurant are such an asset to our hotel. We would love to host any future stays you may have while in Sydney and thanks again for choosing us for your recent visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nova scotia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed here for one night on the12 April 2014 .The check-in was great The room 420 was excellent, clean , modern, the beds were excellent ,friendly staff through out. The pool was very clean. The breakfast was excellent with fresh fruit and a wide assortment of breads and cereals, waffles. The only negative thing was hockey kids where very loud not the hotels fault. If we where going to stay here again we would ask is there any teams staying there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NovaScotiaJojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear NovaScotiaJojo,
Thank you for taking the time to complete the review and for your kind words. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our comfortable, clean rooms coupled with our great hospitality. The breakfast is definitely a big hit with our guests with the huge selection of items available. Please accept our apologies for the noise you experienced during your stay. We do our best to set up groups away from the rest of the guests but when we are full it becomes quite a chore but know we are working on getting better at it. Thanks again for your honest feedback and we would love to host your next stay in Sydney!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I was here during the monster ice storm in March/April. This hotel went above and beyond to assist all the guests which was very much appreciated since the area had lost power. The staff was beyond courteous, the hotel was super clean and well appointed. I would recommend this hotel to anyone coming into the Sydney area. Make sure to do some shopping in the Membertou Heritage Park while you are there. An experience that just can't be beat.

Room Tip: I was on the sixth floor and it was lovely and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildhearts818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Wildhearts818,
Thank you for filling out the great review and for choosing the Hampton Inn Sydney for your stay in April. Wow,that was quite the ice storm wasn't it? The staff were also storm stayed for two whole days and we had an awesome time with our guests.. We had prepared by having some supplies at hand and I think we did a good job of keeping everyone safe, well fed and entertained. We also agree that the Heritage Park is a great place to do some shopping with all their unique items. We would love to host any future stays you have when in Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

They sent my kids treats up to the room to celebrated their birthdays. An extra deed they did not have to do. The staff also talked with them as they went to and from the pool. These little things made us feel welcomed and important to the staff. Good Job Hampton

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Andrea H.
We appreciate you taking the time to do this wonderful review. Spoiling your twins on their birthday is all part of what we do here at the Hampton Inn Sydney! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to have you come back anytime you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This hotel was great. They allowed the parents/other guests to socialize in the evening near the lobby which allowed the other guests and children to get a good night sleep, keeping all the noise to the first floor (where there is no guest rooms). Hopefully all Hamptons will permit this.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Jennifer F,
Thank you for taking the time to do this great review. We are pleased to offer our guests the opportunity to relax in our beautiful Great Room whether socializing amongst each other or watching either one of the big screen tvs we have available. Whenever you are back in Sydney again we would love to host your next stay and thanks for choosing the Hampton Inn by Hilton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
1.0 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#4 of 7 in Sydney
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
40.3 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
27.4 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney

Property: Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Address: 60 Maillard Street, Membertou | attached via pedestrian walkway to the Membertou trade and convention centre, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1S 3W3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton Sydney Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing