We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for families.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great hotel for families.”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hotel is relatively new. The room was clean and large enough for the three of us. The only negative thing about this hotel is it's location. it is isolated away from the rest of Sydney meaning you have to drive everywhere. It makes a good spot if you are using it as a home base while touring the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DetDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    174
    26
    11
    6
See reviews for
387
280
14
272
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is only about two years old. Therefore the hotel is fairly new and the the rooms are very modern. They have a pool and fitness room which I haven't tried. I didn't find anything special regarding the breakfast but it was free. My only negative about this hotel is that while taking a shower the water would be warm and then turn cold and back warm. I would have also preferred if this hotel was near the waterfront or downtown it's kind of out-of-the-way.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Loves_Snorkeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My family and I have stayed at a lot of Hamptons and I must say this is one of the best. We were greeted warmly at the reception desk and given complimentary snacks because of our Hilton Hhonors level. The lobby is nicely decorated with a fireplace and a very big breakfast/lounge area. Our room was very big - it had a king bed and a sofa but still had lots of space - even with the sofa bed pulled out. We were able to change currency from U.S. dollars to Canadian at the front desk which was a nice time saver. There is a Walmart, Sobey's and lots of fast food options just around the corner and down the street (within 5 minutes) and a Tim's just a stone's throw away. The hotel itself is very clean and seems brand new even though I believe it is about 2 years old. The breakfast seemed a step up from the normal Hampton breakfast. It was very fresh with a very attentive staff and a selection that seemed a little bigger than other Hamptons. There is also a pool (rather small) but the pool area also has a water slide. This was a nice treat since this isn't common in the States. The slide was a bit slow and it doesn't sling you joyfully into the pool like at the Moncton Hampton (which is an awesome Hampton) but instead has it's own reception/landing area. We stayed here before and after taking the ferry to/from Newfoundland. The ferry terminal is roughly 20 minutes away and very easy to get to. I wish we had more Hamptons like this in the U.S.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaTravelBug05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Beautiful hotel. We enjoyed our stay, but found it to be a bit costly. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Check in was quick. We weren't thrilled with the breakfast. There were hot and cold items, but we just didn't find it overly great. It was included in the cost.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel last week. Very nice place to stay, pretty quiet and very clean. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly both on check in and out. The free breakfast isn't the best, but I haven't had a free one at a hotel that was good.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is one of the cleaniest hotels I have stayed in the staff were so friendly. I would recommended anyone to stay at this hotel you will not be disappointed. Only thing is you do need a car to drive around. Not far from downtown Sydney and close to airport.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Shelley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My sons and mother traveled to Sydney and stayed at the Hampton In Sydney. The guest rooms were comfortable and quite large - we had a standard room with 2 beds. The hotel is located a little outside of the downtown Sydney area. That didn't matter for us as we were visiting attractions outside of the city.

A very family friendly hotel. It has a coin laundry on site as well which is very helpful if you are travelling with 2 young children for an extended period of time and needing some clean clothes. The pool area looked great as well but unfortunately we didn't have time to use it.

The complimentary breakfast had great variety each day. The only little thing that was odd about the breakfast was that we used paper plates and plastic utensils. I understand that this may be easier overall for the hotel etc. but I found cutting our breakfast ham and some other items a little trickier to do with plastic utensils. A personal opinion and preference.

It was a great visit. If you don't mind being a little bit outside of downtown Sydney or needing a family friendly hotel, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvr2010-06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
1.0 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#5 of 7 in Sydney
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
27.4 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
632 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel North
Hotel North
#1 of 4 in North Sydney
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney

Property: Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Address: 60 Maillard Street, Membertou | attached via pedestrian walkway to the Membertou trade and convention centre, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1S 3W3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton Sydney Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing