We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice. Easy access to downtown Sydney”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very nice. Easy access to downtown Sydney”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My family of had a very nice and relaxing 2 day stay at this hotel. Very much recommended! Although you should expect to pay between $175.00+ per night at the very least for 2 adults & 2 teenagers. Very good complimentary breakfast in the morning. Very professional and extremely helpful Front Desk Staff. They suggested great places to go for the adults and the family for meals. Our room was spacious and clean and our bathroom was SPACIOUS, nice!!!!!

Room Tip: If you book via a third party entity (ie CAA), ENSURE you bring your paperwork concerning the bookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear KenD,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for your wonderful comments. We do love our complimentary breakfast with the huge selections of hot and cold items it's the best in town for sure. We are so pleased that you found our front desk staff so professional and friendly we hand pick them and they are definitely topnotch. They love assisting all our guests with directions and suggestions for dinners while visiiting our gorgeous island.
Thank you once again for choosing the Hampton Inn and enjoy the rest of your summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    827
    173
    26
    11
    6
See reviews for
386
280
14
272
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sebeka, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I found a great deal on this hotel and booked it with no prior knowledge of it. It met everything we were looking for: pool for the kids, breakfast and price. It did not disappoint. The kids loved the waterslide, I liked the gym, free wifi, friendly staff, breakfast was amazing (eggs, toast, cereal, waffles, juice, coffee, tea, bagels, english muffins, fruit...), the room was spacious, clean, the beds were comfortable and QUIET. Our room had a little wet bar area with a fridge, coffee pot and microwave. It was a little bit off of the beaten path but still in an okay location. At the end of the cul de sac there is a cool walking trail. I'd give this hotel a thumbs up.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 218goatgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Jesskeddy,
Thank you for your wonderful review and for choosing to stay at our beautiful property while in Cape Breton. We are so pleased that your children enjoyed our pool with it's 90ft waterslide and also our hot and cold complimentary buffet breakfast. We certainly do have an abundance of free amenties like you pointed out including our fitness center and wifi plus our 24 hr coffee station. We are also happy that you enjoyed your spacious room and in fact all our rooms are equippd with fridges and microwaves. Thank you once again for your kind words and please come back sometime and stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland, maine
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We had a great 2 night stay here. Big room, nice bath, pleasant staff. We especially liked the skywalk connecting the hotel to the convention center-it was raining that night and we didn't have to venture out to get over to Kiju's restaurant!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 77carl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear 77carl,
Thank you for your great review during your two night stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed our spacious room and found our staff so pleasant. We love our motto "Hospitality like never before" and strive to achieve it with each and every guest. We do agree that our pedway connecting us with the Membertou Trade and Convention Center where the fabulous Kijus restaruant is located is definitely a big hit with our guests. As you experienced yourself guests don't ever have to worry about inclement weather when venturing across with our great walkway.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with our Hampton Inn Sydney!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valley, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Was a very wonderful experience, extremely clean and staff very friendly, breakfast was very good. In all a place I would go to again without hesitation. The pool area was very clean and tidy, the rooms were equipped with two queen beds and we had the best sleep at a hotel in a long while.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Gerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear GerryT,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great reveiw we so appreciate your kind words. We are so happy you enjoyed a pleasant stay with us and we love that you pointed out how clean our facility is and how friendly and professional our staff is. Our staff take great pride in keeping the hotel looking fantastic and also providing the ultimate customer service experience. We love that you had a great sleep on our cloud nine bedding and would love to host any future stays when in Sydney again. Thank you again for choosing the Hampton Inn, Sydney!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Breton, NS
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

A brand new location....Beautifully decorated, super clean, lovely rooms, friendly staff, cloud soft bedding.... and good coffee.....the breakfast bar is not bad....close to downtown....you'll enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrueWords11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista C, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Celticlass67,
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review. We appreciate you noticing how clean our hotel is kept and the friendliness of our staff. We love our guests and hope you choose us the next time you are in the Sydney area. Thanks again for all your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Nothing but great things to say about our stay. Staff were friendly, the breakfast was above expectation and the room was very modern. All the family will remember however is the water slide. Fun was had by all. Over and over and over again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We have had bad luck with hotels in Sydney in the past, but the new Hampton - part of a larger complex in Membertou - is fantastic. Beautifully clean facility, friendly staff who were eager to help, mineral pool with a waterslide (my kids loved it!), and a lovely hot breakfast in the morning. We needed a cot as well; it was delivered to the room within five minutes of check-in and there was no additional charge. We will definitely be staying here next time we're in Cape Breton.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
1.0 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#5 of 7 in Sydney
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
27.4 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
632 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel North
Hotel North
#1 of 4 in North Sydney
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney

Property: Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Address: 60 Maillard Street, Membertou | attached via pedestrian walkway to the Membertou trade and convention centre, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1S 3W3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton Sydney Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing