We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to escape the crowds”
Review of Doktor Luke's

Doktor Luke's
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Description: We look forward to welcoming you to Doktor Luke's in Downtown Sydney. Our espresso bar has everything a coffee aficionado could dream of, and our baristas have been trained by our own master roaster. If you don't drink coffee, you'll find hot apple cider and hot chocolate alongside a collection of black, herbal, and green teas. We also serve a host of creative cold drinks, including our wildly popular frappes, made with Ghirardelli cocoa, and Italian sodas. We also offer an assortment of delectable baked goods, ranging from croissants to our famous pumpkin chocolate chip loaf. We are an independent coffee house, dedicated to our customers' delight and the planet's longevity. Here is where taste and ethics meet.
Restaurant details
Description: We look forward to welcoming you to Doktor Luke's in Downtown Sydney. Our espresso bar has everything a coffee aficionado could dream of, and our baristas have been trained by our own master roaster. If you don't drink coffee, you'll find hot apple cider and hot chocolate alongside a collection of black, herbal, and green teas. We also serve a host of creative cold drinks, including our wildly popular frappes, made with Ghirardelli cocoa, and Italian sodas. We also offer an assortment of delectable baked goods, ranging from croissants to our famous pumpkin chocolate chip loaf. We are an independent coffee house, dedicated to our customers' delight and the planet's longevity. Here is where taste and ethics meet.
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to escape the crowds”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Love the small aspect of this cafe. They have seating for 10-15 people and that makes it a win for me. The menu is small, but that keeps the products they do offer top notch. The service is always friendly and welcoming. It's easy to feel like you are having coffee in a friends kitchen and not a coffee shop. The view from the dining room is probably the best you'll find in Sydney with an entire panorama of the Sydney harbour. All these qualities keep me coming back every day, and that's not an exaggeration.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank johnblahblah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    15
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Canada
1 review
“A must visit!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Such a cozy cafe with some of the friendliest people who own it! Whether it's grabbing their delicious coffee to go or sitting down with a heated scone, Doktor Luke's does not disappoint. Love their Chai Latte's and fruit smoothies. I hope to work my way through the rest of the menu as the summer goes on:) Incredibly cozy - be sure to check it out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ekeystrokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't Pass Them By!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have been to Doktor Luke's several times and always get the same friendly and courteous service. The atmosphere makes you feel welcome and the "dining room" is small and cozy. Here you are treated as a customer, not a number as in so many other shops. And a beautiful place to just sit and savour your favourite beverage while enjoying the view of Sydney Harbour. Doktor Luke's has it all.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank caperjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Change of pace”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The cafe is quite and cozy, and cheaply priced. The steamed hot chocolate I had however was terrible. She didn't understand that a steam hot chocolate wasn't warmed milk it was supposed to be steamed until fluffy and light. The bistocchi I had was wonderful. It was worth paying to just sit there and eat and take in the collection of nic naks.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DokLuke, Owner at Doktor Luke's, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Hi Megan - We're glad you liked the atmosphere at Doktor Luke's and that you enjoyed the biscotti. I'm sorry you were disappointed with the hot chocolate. If you're in again, let us know and we'll do our best to make it as you like it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth hunting down”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Great coffee served by knowledgeable baristas. The cafe's atmosphere is warm and welcoming. For visitors exploring Sydney's downtown area, Wentworth Park is a lovely terminal point, and Luke's is the ideal place to rest before your next adventure!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Doktor Luke's also viewed

Sydney, Cape Breton Island
Sydney, Cape Breton Island
 
Sydney, Cape Breton Island
Sydney, Cape Breton Island
 
Sydney, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Doktor Luke's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing