We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to be :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Stellarton, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great place to be :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

We just stayed at the Best Western Plus Dartmouth, and what a relief! The rooms were beautiful, well kept, clean and quiet. I didn't hear any other guests in the hallways or the next room, which was very nice.

The hotel is relatively new, and has a great restaurant-- Trendz, next to the lobby. The food is great, and they have a lovely selection of wine.

The staff was very helpful, they made for a quick, but pleasant check in and out. The location is killer, just mere minutes away from Dartmouth Crossing shopping village, and many restaurants and coffee shops. It is also not too far from the Mackay bridge and if you continue up the street past the hotel for a bit, you are in the heart of the Burnside Industrial Park. Great access to everything.

In the morning, we thought we'd take advantage of the continental breakfast, and to our surprise, there was actual hot food! There was a selection of scrambled eggs, waffles, home cooked potatoes and ham. There was also a variety of cereals, coffee, tea, juices, fruit, toast and croissants. You can't say you left hungry, that's for sure!

All in all, a great stay. We'll be booking again soon!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashleycoady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWDManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 18 September 2011
Good Day ashleycoady

Thank you for your great comments. We are so proud that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also very happy that you enjoyed Trendz, it is truly a great restaurant.

We look forward to your next stay.

Ron Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    149
    48
    12
    2
See reviews for
146
142
21
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Our recent stay at this hotel was inbelievably great .The rooms were spotless (which I am paranoid about), the beds were the most comfortable (I would love to have one as well as the pillows for home). The staff were courteous and friendly and very accomodating. The teenagers realy enjoyed the pool and fitness center. The restaurant is also tops for sure as we had the complimentary breakfast and one other meal and all was quite delicious...we have to go back to Halifax next weekend and won't even look for other accomodations. It's best Western -Plus at Spectacle Lake for us all the way!! Thanks for a great weekend.

Room Tip: our room was at the back of the hotel and was very quiet....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andree3221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWDManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Dear Andree3221

Thank you for your kind words. We are very proud of our product and services.
We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Ron Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed here for two nights. The breakfast was by far the best aspect of our stay, the cleanliness was right behind! The staff was very nice and helpful. They even had toothpaste for us when we ran out. We do have three complaints - 1) location - it's in a business park and really not convenient to the downtown area of Halifax. 2) smell - the room although very clean had a weird smell. 3) mattress - it was hard, but some may like that!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarandy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWDManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Good Day Sarandy79

I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Best Western Plus Dartmouth. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We have gotten many comments on our Mattresses, most of them being very positive. We do realize this is an individual preference but upon your return, we would be happy to do something to make the bed more comfortable for you. It is hard to investigate a "weird smell" in the room when we do not know what room you stayed in. I have alerted the housekeeping staff to extra time to try and locate anything that may seem odd. They take pride in the cleanliness of the hotel and I am sure they will take care of it.
Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your return.

Ron Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elora, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

The hotel is one of the nicer Best Western's we've stayed at. Buffet breakfast was the BEST free breakfast we've ever had at a hotel! Close to the Dartmouth Corners shopping area and MicMac mall and has easy access to the Halifax bridges.

Beds are comfortable, decor modern, front desk staff is helpful.


Overall a nice stay!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWDManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Good Day xforce

Thank you so much for the great review. We take pride in our property and we appreciate when a guest like yourself takes the time to acknowledge it.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Ron Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Nice, clean hotel with oversized rooms. Location is not ideal but great value for the price. Good breakfast is a plus.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chowda88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWDManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Good Day Chowda88,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you choose to saty with us when you have so many quality choices here in Dartmouth.

We look forward to your return.

Ron Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

My granddaughter and I stayed only one night here to do some shopping in the area. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean and nicely decorated, beds very comfortable and the pillows were wonderful. There were baseball teams staying there, but we never heard any noise or rowdiness. The hotel was nice and quiet in the evening. Nice surroundings. I would come back again anytime. The only thing I did not like was the paper plates and plastic utensils for the complimentary breakfast. Although I realize it is extra work for staff to wash dishes after the breakfast, it's kind of tacky. The breakfast choices were fine, though.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanny64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWDManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Good Day Nanny64,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We take pride in the product and services that we offer.
We look forward to hosting you and your Granddaughter again soon.

Ron Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

We recently had our wedding and reception at this property. I am responsible for arranging accommodation for my work and have been using this property almost exclusively for staff. They have always been very happy with their experience here. I have had occasion to stay here personally in the past and eaten at the restaurant Trendz.

It was my positive experience working with them professionally, as well as my enjoyment of the food that made the Best Western Dartmouth my first choice to host our wedding. They did not let me down.

The Catering Services Manager, Heather was an invaluable resource and great help throughout the planning process. She and the Banquet Supervisor, John were so helpful in the days leading up to and the day of the wedding and were very instrumental in having the event come off so well.

We had a buffet meal which all of our guests enjoyed. There was a great variety, something for everyone. We had a couple of vegetarians as well as another with special dietary needs which they were able to cater too easily.

Checking in and out was a breeze, the front desk staff very friendly. I especially liked the cookies at the front desk, very yummy, nice touch.

Most of the wedding guests stayed for at least one night and were very pleased with their rooms as we were with the Jacuzzi suite (included as part of the package for the wedding night). The housekeeping staff does a great job, everything was spotless. I find the rooms quite large and very well appointed. I like the included WiFi and found it useful for doing the last minute downloads to the wedding playlist.

We enjoyed the included breakfast buffet. While I’d prefer not to have to use paper plates and plastic cutlery, it’s a great breakfast with lots of variety. I really do have to find out what sausages they use, they are great!

It was our royal wedding, in no small part due to the great people here. We would have no hesitation in recommending the Best Western Dartmouth whether for a meal at Trendz, an overnight stay or to host an event.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWDManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Dear Monacd

Thank you so much for the great compliments. It was a pleasure being a part of your special day and we were so happy to have the opportunity to host it.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Ron Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Comfort Inn - Dartmouth
#5 of 11 in Dartmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites
Address: 15 Spectacle Lake Dr, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B3B 1X7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dartmouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dartmouth
#2 Business Hotel in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth is the perfect place for business and leisure travelers coming to Halifax Regional Municipality. Situated in a private treed area, BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth is an oasis within the Burnside Industrial Park and conveniently located next to Dartmouth Crossing, Atlantic Canada’s newest shopping destination.Just a short distance to bridges or a ferry that will take you to downtown Halifax, BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth is where you can enjoy first class accommodations, with all the amenities, and competitively priced. Refresh yourself in our indoor pool, enjoy a fabulous seafood dinner and some imported or domestic wine at our popular Trendz Restaurant & Wine Bar. Relax in your room with over 60 HD channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing