We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over night getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Kentville, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Over night getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

My wife and I enjoyed an overnight getaway. Our room was spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed a meal at Trendz, great food and our server was delightful. We will definitely plan on another getaway to the Best Western!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWDManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Good Day Peter,

We are so happy that you and your wife had a great stay at our hotel. Our Trendz Restaurant is indeed a gem and the staff there are amazing. We continue to upgrade and respond to our guests needs. Just this past week we have installed 59 HD Channels on our TV system. The response has been amazing.

Thank you again for the great review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    143
    47
    12
    2
See reviews for
142
141
20
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

We arrived late so maybe the room was all that was left but it was not what we expected, the bathroom vanity is too small to lay out our stuff, and no alternative shelf was available, the whole room was dark and needed extra lighting, the wardrobe was not functional and the sofa is so uncomfortable that I have to put a pillow under the cushion to stop it flattening out and prevent me from slipping off. There are spots on the carpet and dust around the edge of the carpet which the vacuum cleaner missed too often. Some days the housekeeping was better than others, but that is a staff issue, We could have moved rooms I guess, but it was not convenient to do that either, so in general it was not a stay that I can describe as meeting expectations. If you stay at this hotel, and get room 323, ask to be moved before you unpack.

Room Tip: Avoid room 323
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kipperdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWDManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Good Day KipperDave,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
I am dissappointed that we did not meet your expectations. It is obvious that room 323 was not to your liking. This could have been easily remedied throughg a room move, but I get the feeling you felt this would have been inconvenient for you. Room 323 will be inspected and anything that does not reflect our high standard will be dealt with.
Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

I stayed there last weekend and I was impressed with the room and the full breakfast. They gave me a free upgrade to an executive room. The beds were comfortable and there was very little noise that entered the room. The hotel is very close to Dartmouth Crossing and MicMacMall for shopping and movies. The only complaint was with housekeeping. I was in the shower when housekeeping came to make up the bed. When we returned to the room late that evening, the room was not cleaned and the towels were still in the bathtub. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaO63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWDManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Good Day Donna

Thank you for the great review. We are so glad you enjoyed the free breakfast and all the other great amenities that we offer. I will pass your concerns along the the Housekeeping Department about someone entering your room.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

I only stayed at the hotel one night, but found it very noisy. The air conditioner in our room was quite noisy and you could also hear the doors closing and people walking up and down the halls. The pool was very cold, so unfortunately we weren't able to stay in it very long. Breakfast was included, but was not great. The closet door in our room squeaked very loudly when we were finally able to open it (seemed to be broken). On a positive note, the beds were comfy and the room was clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyLeVasseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWDManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Good Day Kelly

I am dissappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. Even though there may have been a group in the hotel making a little more noise than normal, noise is not a usual complaint at our hotel. Usually a quick call to the front desk will remedy the situation.
Thank you for your feedback and if you would like to discuss your stay further, please feel free to contact me at 902-463-2000.

Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed 1 night decided at the last minute called the hotel for reservation the girl was very helpful .When we arrived to check in no problem ,we had ask for a quiet section since there was a wedding and got what we wanted.The beds were comfortable and the room was very clean .They have a real good hot breakfast with lots of choices .Will stay again at this hotel and will tell our friends .Also we got a good senior rates .

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor at the end away from the elevators .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank varadero79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWDManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Good Day varadero79

Thank you for the great review of the Best Western PLUS Dartmouth. We are so glad that you enjoyed the free breakfast, beds and the wonderful hospitality that we are known for. Our award winning staff at Trendz restaurant do an amazing job of breakfast and all other meals.

Thank you again for your great review and we will see you again in the near future.

Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nites in late September, and really liked it once we'd found it. Quiet--silent actually room, comfy beds, staff helpful, great hot breakfast buffet.

The only problem with it is that it is hard to find. We had to find it three times--on way from airport, on way back from Halifax, and a week later while returning something we had accidentally taken on the way back to the airport. Probably my fault for not using a GPS or maps on my Iphone.

But

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidthevagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWDManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Good Day davidthevagabond,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We get a lot of comments that our rooms are quiet and we are glad you were able to enjoy that "silence".
Your point about our location is well taken. Unfortunately due to local bylaws, we are unable to erect directional signage in the Business Park. We are however on all GPS brands and there is an App for iPhone and Android called "Best Western to go" which will give you precise directions and locations of all Best Westerns.
Thank you again for your great review and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Great place to stay. Loved it! The location was perfect for us to travel to Dartmouth Crossing for some shopping and nightlife as well. I would recommend this hotel for sure. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stella V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWDManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Good Day Stella

Thank you for your amazing review. We are so glads that you stayed with us and enjoyed our hotel. Being able to offer free Parking, free Breakfast and free Hi-Speed Internet does give us the ability to stay competative. Thamk you for choosing our hotel.

Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites
Address: 15 Spectacle Lake Dr, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B3B 1X7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dartmouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dartmouth
#2 Business Hotel in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth is the perfect place for business and leisure travelers coming to Halifax Regional Municipality. Situated in a private treed area, BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth is an oasis within the Burnside Industrial Park and conveniently located next to Dartmouth Crossing, Atlantic Canada’s newest shopping destination.Just a short distance to bridges or a ferry that will take you to downtown Halifax, BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth is where you can enjoy first class accommodations, with all the amenities, and competitively priced. Refresh yourself in our indoor pool, enjoy a fabulous seafood dinner and some imported or domestic wine at our popular Trendz Restaurant & Wine Bar. Relax in your room with over 60 HD channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing