We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where was the front desk staff?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Dartmouth Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Where was the front desk staff?”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Everything was fantastic!
The front desk was either away from the front desk and when they were there, they were not overly friendly. Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, pool was very warm, breakfast was great!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sjanens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWDManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Dartmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Good Day Sjanens

Thank you for your review.
I am surprised by your comments about our Front Desk. I will look into the incident and see if I can find out what happened. I am glad that you enjoyed the rest of your stay.
Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    174
    53
    12
    2
See reviews for
176
157
23
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
clifford, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I had a great stay at the hotel, staff was very friendly and accommodating ensuring everything was to my satisfaction. I was able to get a shuttle to the office in the morning, had a great hot breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWDManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Dartmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Good Day Cindy,

Thank you for your great review. We are so happy you enjoyed the complimentary business shuttle that we offer inside Burnside. It does make staying with us a little more convenient.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande-Digue, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Very nice hotel, With great prices. Staff are very nice and helpful. Also rooms are very nice and clean. Bed are very nice also. Very quiet area and close to most things. Great value. I have stayed here twice and will always go back here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWDManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Dartmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Good Day Adam,

Thank you so much for your nice words. It is indeed a pleasure having you stay with us. We do realize the value of a free breakfast, free parking and free WiFi, and understand how important it is to our guests.
Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your next visit.

Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Just can't go wrong staying here with a family. The free breakfast alone makes the cost less than $100. Rooms are a good size, the pool, although not a "play" pool is generally quiet and provides lots of room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWD M, Manager at Best Western Plus Dartmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Good Day Frank M,

Thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our pool and complimentary breakfast. It sounds as though your family was able to have a great family weekend away at our hotel. We look forward to the next time you stay with us.

Thank you,

Charlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington
Level 6 Contributor
424 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed in room 103 of this hotel for three nights. We were swiftly checked in and into our room on the ground floor. It was a long room with a king bed at one end and an open jacuzzi in the middle (open as in no privacy). There was one easy chair, but unfortunately there were two of us! The flat screen TV was ideally located for the easy chair but had to be viewed from an angle from the bed or jacuzzi. The room was spacious with plenty of storage. However, it was rather dark - reception stated that other people have made similar comments. I think that applies to most rooms, not just ours.

A big plus was having two holders for suitcases. The closet/wardrobe was small and had two sliding doors with a handle on one only. The room had good temperature controls. However, in the corridors we seemed to be regularly blasted by cold air.

One problem for two people is that the coffee machine in the room makes one cup at a time.

The hotel had two computers connected to the Internet plus a printer. Wifi was good in the rooms.

Breakfast comprised a hot and cold buffet, including yogurts, 3 juices, cereals, breads, muffins, scones, scrambled egg, bacon or sausages, waffles and potatoes and coffee. You clear up after yourself.

The desk staff were very helpful. A great feature was the availability of cookies at the front desk from about 1700 each weekday. Don't leave it too late!

Parking was plentiful. The hotel is ideally placed for visiting Halifax. Drive to Alderney Landing where there is plenty of parking and travel across on the ferry, which also gives you great views of the Halifax skyline. Don't miss the Halifax boardwalk. Well worth walking.

The hotel has a restaurant, Trendz which has a reasonable though not extensive choice. This was good on the occasion we used it. Moxies is an easy 20 minute walk away along pavements so we ate there twice.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RossOrpington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWD M, Manager at Best Western Plus Dartmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Good Day RossOrpington,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It sounds as though you were able to take the time to enjoy many of the services that we offer such as our complimentary breakfast that we offer to our guests.
We're happy to hear that you had a great stay and that you were able to take advantage of our location to Dartmouth Crossing shopping outlet area. We'll look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you,

Charlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, NS, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2013

In town to visit relatives and shop. Very pleasant stay at this hotel. Would recommend to others seeking reasonable rates and good service. Enjoyed the pool and breakfast service. One room cleaner went out of her way to assist our daughter with a personal issue.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Brent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWD M, Manager at Best Western Plus Dartmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Good Day Brent S,

Thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel and the special acknowledgment to our staff. We'll look forward to seeing again on your next visit to Halifax.

Thank you,

Charlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We had some issues with the bed being broken, and having to sleep on it for a couple nights, due to a miscommunication with the staff. The Manager compensated us for this, and was very helpful. The breakfast was not very fresh, and busy in a little area. The location was good, and parking was free. Overall, not sure if we would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMama110514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWD M, Manager at Best Western Plus Dartmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Good Day TravelMama110514,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're very disappointed to hear some the issues you experienced while staying with us and we're thankful that we had the opportunity to remedy the situation while you were here. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Thank you again,

Charlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
Comfort Inn - Dartmouth
#5 of 11 in Dartmouth
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Dartmouth Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Dartmouth Hotel & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Dartmouth Hotel & Suites
Address: 15 Spectacle Lake Dr, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B3B 1X7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Dartmouth Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth is the perfect place for business and leisure travelers coming to Halifax Regional Municipality. Situated in a private treed area, BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth is an oasis within the Burnside Industrial Park and conveniently located next to Dartmouth Crossing, Atlantic Canada’s newest shopping destination.Just a short distance to bridges or a ferry that will take you to downtown Halifax, BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth is where you can enjoy first class accommodations, with all the amenities, and competitively priced. Refresh yourself in our indoor pool, enjoy a fabulous seafood dinner and some imported or domestic wine at our popular Trendz Restaurant & Wine Bar. Relax in your room with over 60 HD channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Dartmouth Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Dartmouth Hotel & Suites Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing