We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, Large, and New HI Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Excellent, Large, and New HI Property”
Reviewed 8 September 2011

This is a very new and unusually large Hampton Inn & Suites (seven stories tall!) and, like many such properties, is sited on the edge of a large commercial mall development. Unlike most similar sites, however, this mall actually has a goodly number of shops and restaurants that are far nicer and more interesting than usual. If you don't want to drive into Halifax to eat, there are a number of good to excellent choices right outside the hotel.

Despite its size and the fact that it was teeming with guests on Labour Day weekend, we found this new Hampton Inn to be well above Hilton's high corporate standards. The front desk staff members were very friendly and helpful. Check-in was prompt and efficient, a pleasant change from some other recent Hampton Inn properties at which we have stayed recently. Our suite had all the latest Hilton amenities. The assortment of cable channels was very generous, although apparently digital TV hasn't reached Canada yet. Our only gripe was that there were only two elevators serving seven very large floors and many guests, necessitating some very long waits for a car.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodbuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our modern hotel, great location and helpful & friendly staff. Our team takes pride in our East Coast hospitality and we are glad that you had such a great experience.

Our Dartmouth hotel is located in the heart of Dartmouth Crossing, the best in Halifax shopping, and we are happy that you enjoyed the amenities of this area. We apologize for the delay in the elevators as it was a very busy weekend for us.

We loved having you here and we hope to welcome you back again for another great Hampton Inn & Suites experience.

Sincerely,
Rick Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    262
    71
    29
    15
See reviews for
432
192
27
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Glasgow, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Stayed at this hotel in January 2011. Had a great time, thought it was beautiful. Told everyone it was our new favorite hotel.

Stayed there again this past weekend, Sept 3, 2011. Big mistake. The pool was very, very dirty. I have never seen a hotel pool this dirty. You could scrape scum off the sides of the pool with your finger nail. The water was very unclear, you could hardly see my kids bathing suites under the water. The hot tub was very dirty also and the whole pool area smelled bad. I was very disappointed. I complained to the staff 3 times and they said it was because so many people were using the pool and didn't rinse off first and it was hard to keep it clean when there is so many people using it. It was disgusting and I will NOT stay there again. I would not recommend this hotel. How can a hotel go down hill so fast!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa19721972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Thank you for providing a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback & concern and we want to reassure you that this has been addressed. We apologize for the inconvenience. We ensure that on your next visit, things will be like your first Hampton experience when you visited in January.

Please contact us directly if you wish to discuss this further.

We hope to see you back again soon for a true Dartmouth Hampton Inn & Suites experience.

Regards,
Rick Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

This is a new property and what a showcase it is. From the entrance to the room, the hotel shines. Hampton has been our preferred hotel for some time and this one is the best we've ever stayed in. Not that any of the others were lacking, this one is exceptional in several ways. While the staff has the familiar Hilton attitude and approach, these folks are exceptional. I had several questions about some sight seeing. Their response was through, concise and unrushed. They made sure I understood travel directions before moving on in their explanations. As a first time visitor to the area, I really appreciated this.

The breakfast area is out of this world. Its hugh! Well laid out, but can get a bit crowed around the toasters and coffee when everybody hits it at the same time. Still, staff was on top of the heavy traffic load and kept the food and drinks well replenished. That was most impressive. As the Sunday morning crowd increased, a conference room off the dining room was opened to accommodate the heavier traffic. Another nice touch.

The choices for breakfast were varied. Hot or cold and all very tasty. Hilton could do worse than using this property as their model for the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spencer_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Thank you for staying with us at our Hampton. We’re pleased to hear you had such a great stay with us. We’re glad that you enjoyed our location, breakfast and most importantly, our staff. We take pride in our hotel & our Maritime hospitality and we’re happy that you received quality guest services from everyone on our team. We’d like to welcome you back again in the future & please feel free to contact us directly to make your reservation.

Kind Regards,
Rick Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Staff: pleasant
Room: clean and modern
Beds: comfortable
Breakfast: OK
We would return ... OK

Room Tip: Consistent quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Battenkill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Thank you for writing a review on your stay with us. Our staff takes pride in their quality guest services and we’re pleased to hear that you had a great experience at our Dartmouth hotel.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,
Rick Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We decided to travel to Halifax on the spur of the moment - I have a special needs daughter and we tend to stay at the same hotels due to safety/transition reasons - however this hotel was recommended to me by friends. I am very thankful it was! The staff was wonderful from the front desk making my daughter feel "special" in the best way to housekeeping writing personal notes daily wishing us well and a safe journey home. The pool, the breakfast, the location all perfect for a family travelling to Halifax and area. Can't wait to take the whole family back!

Room Tip: The higher floors have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Thank you for writing a review on your stay. It was our pleasure to have your family stay with us at our Dartmouth hotel and we’re pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We’re happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our hotel amenities, like our family-friendly pool. We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Rick Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This is by far the best hotel I have stayed in. We booked because of the pool as we have 3 children who love to swim. It is a lovely size complete with waterslide. The Hotel is in a great location as it seems to be within its own shopping village, complete with movie theatre and the big chain restaurants. We booked direct with the hotel and got a family package deal that came with a large pizza (from Boston Pizza) and a bottle of pop. The rooms are very nicely decorated and the beds are very comfy. The entrance lobby is beautifully done with moden furnishings and the breakfast eating area is not you normal cheap wooden tables and chairs. The hotel does allow dogs and at one point the lobby had quite a few of them, from big to tiny. The pool area is clean and has lots of seating with tables and also sun loungers. Fresh towls are also provided. Please note though if you want a quite swim in the evening it is very busy with families. The breakfast they provide is also great, with hot items such as sausage patties, hash browns & 2 types of omelette, aswell as different cereals, bagels, toast, muffims fruit and yogurts. The girl who was on breakfast duty the day we stayed (Aug 1st) was fantastic, and as far as we saw she was the only one. She was more then happy to help my children and did everything with a smile on her face.
We loved this hotel and will go back!

Room Tip: check the hotel website if going for a family break.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cuppat42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Thanks for your glowing review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Dartmouth Hampton Inn & Suites. We strive to make each stay a special and refreshing one for our guests and we’re pleased you experienced this.

We’re glad you liked our unique and modern designs throughout the hotel. We’ve passed your rave reviews along to our staff!

We hope to see you back again for another great stay.

Kind Regards,
Rick Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We have stayed at this hotel in the past. This stay we were in a regular 2 Queen room. Same size as the normal hotel rooms. Beds are O.K. I would prefer more softness. They feel like a normal hotel bed. They feel old. The shower head is awful! and too high up! The bathroom's are good size and clean. When we arrived, I found a roll of white electrical tape on the floor. Room not cleaned sufficently. We checked in on thursday and out on Sunday. I also cleaned what appeared to be urine, off the nut cover at the bottom of toilet the 1st night. (I did not mention this upon check-out... forgot)
The pool is located on the main floor and is a great place for kids.
We arrived one night back to the hotel and there was a puddle of water in front of the elevator buttons and my 3 year old ran in front of us to push the button and slipped and almost knocked her head on the ceramic floor. I informed the front desk and I was asked as I walked away "was she running?" Does not matter! The water needs to be cleaned up! There were 4 people at the front desk. 2 females and 2 males (housekeeping staff? or maintenance).
There was one female being chased by one of the males behind the front desk.
The last morning when i changed the toilet paper roll with the extra given, it was 1/3 damp... Yuck!
We could hear the people in the next room laughing. Thin walls.
We requested a suite upon check in for any of the 3 nights we were there and were told the hotel was full, but i overheard another person requesting to stay longer and hoped for a suite and they were informed to make their decision quickly as only a few rooms were left.....
I did complain upon check out and my rate was reduced for all 3 nights we were there.
I might return, but will probably check out the Best Western down the street. It is a newer hotel as well. I am a hilton honours member and have spent at least 120 nights at this chain of hotels in Canada/ U.S in the last 3 years.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivfmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn - Dartmouth
#5 of 11 in Dartmouth
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth
Address: 65 Cromarty Dr, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B3B 0G2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Halifax-Dartmouth is located in the heart of the city of lakes, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia and the popular shopping district Dartmouth Crossing. The only hotel in Dartmouth Crossing, the Hampton Inn & Suites is 15 minutes from Halifax Stanfield International Airport, 2 minutes from Burnside Business Park and 10 minutes from downtown Dartmouth and Halifax for attractions, restaurants and the lively Halifax waterfront. The 163 room hotel offers a combination of spacious guestrooms and suites and is a 100% non-smoking environment. The Hampton Inn & Suites Halifax-Dartmouth offers modern amenities, an indoor oversized pool with a 150' water slide, a fitness centre and is pet friendly. Convenient self parking is plentiful as well as valet parking. Guests can enjoy the Hampton on the House full hot breakfast complimentary or take advantage of the Hampton on the Run breakfast to go. The Hampton Inn & Suites on-site convenience store makes it easy for guests who wish to take advantage of the amenities in their suite such as a fridge and microwave to dine in the comfort of their stylish suite and enjoy their favourite TV show or on-demand movie on the large screen TV. For long term stays, coin laundry and valet service make it easy to maintain your wardrobe even while away from home. Business travelers will especially enjoy the Business Centre with complimentary printing services and meetings bookings are made easily with the Hampton Inn & Suites online booking tool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth Hotel Dartmouth
Hampton Inn Dartmouth
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing