We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Family Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Family Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Spent the long weekend in Halifax/Dartmouth. We needed a room that was large (2 adults and 3 teens) and took one of the small suites. It was great... spacious with a small kitchenette.

Breakfast was good but often VERY busy.

Added bonus: There was a Laundromat in the hotel!

Also location is among stores and shops and restaurants. Was very handy.

Was more than easy enough to travel area. Halifax across the bridge was at worst 10 mins away.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank World_Traveller084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    235
    66
    28
    12
See reviews for
396
185
25
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is one of the cleanest Hotel I ever been in my entire life, and I've been to many... The rooms are modern, and super nice. I couldn't find one pubic hair in the bathroom which is very rare occurrence, usually there at least one left behind by the cleaning staff, mostly in the bath tub....
It's also a great place for the family with a nice pool and slide, there is also everything you need at the dartmouth crossing which is right in front of the Hotel, with a nice brand new playground for kids from 3 to 12 years old. I highly recommend this hotel, and this is coming from a borderline germophobe....

Room Tip: The suites are big with a small kitchen with a microwave, fridge, and sink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I have reviewed some other Hampton Inns in other cities and there standards are consistent and can be depended on. They are not the cheapest hotel but you get your monies worth at these locations. Hotel is always located in just the right area, rooms clean and fresh, service is just super, breakfast has everything you need to properly start the day. It is all included in the cost of the room. So there are a lot of hidden benefits to staying at a Hampton Inn. The best way to discover this for yourself is to stay there. Once you have you will see the real value in what you are paying for.

Room Tip: The rooms are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_W9999901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Hi just thought I'd drop a note on our experiences with the Hampton (past two visits)
On both occasions we asked for a senior's discount. The room were were put in was substandard. I don't know if there are rooms slated for renovations and these are the one's they issue to people who want a discount (my thoughts on it) or what the issue is. All I know is that the first time, fixtures were hanging loose from the bathroom wall, the hairdryer didn't work.
The second time which was more annoying and upsetting, the furniture, the couch and chair were stained and dirty. We are ordinary people who don't usually have problems when we travel, but we both refused to stay in this room. We were then moved to another room and given a sheet to cover the couch or chair and told that was the last move! The chair in that room had to be covered with a sheet as well as it was also stained and dirty. The strange thing is that this room was a room equipped for a handicapped person. Not all seniors require handicapped equipped rooms. Why couldn't we have been moved to a regular room? We were assured that seniors or people asking for discounts are not discriminated against, but I beg to differ. It really took away from our stay.
On the Plus side, the breakfast was good, and after telling the desk person when she asked about our stay, we WERE given the room free.

Room Tip: Don't ask for a senior's (or likely any other discount)
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 119maggie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for the feedback. Let me take the time to apologize for the problems you encountered during your visit. We are happy that our front desk team took care of you at check out. We are currently following up with our housekeeping and maintenance teams about the problems you mentioned. If you would like to discuss your experience in further detail, please do not hesitate to contact me at, rnorman@newcastlehotels.com.

Sincerely,
Rick Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is our second time staying at this location. If you have to drive to the airport in the morning but want to be around restaurants/ attractions/ shopping etc, this is the location for you! You're right in the perfect location of the crossing where you have full access to food, shopping, the movie theatre, walmart etc. The hotel is clean, staff is helpful. The pool is open until 12am for adults, 10pm for kids. Sometimes the hours change so if you want to swim just check on that before hand. They have movie nights at this hotel, and also deals on pizza if you're looking to have dinner inside the hotel.
All in all, we were only there for 1 night as we needed to get to the airport in the afternoon the next day, and we had everything we needed and more staying at this location.

Tip: there are no liquor stores in dartmouth crossing, so you have to either head to Mic Mac Mall for wine etc/ or stop elsewhere. (Friendly reminder.)

Room Tip: Dont get a room near the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Love this hotel. Pool and hot tub was good. Great Breakfast in the morning. Located at Dartmouth Crossing so you can walk anywhere you want to some great shops and restaurants. Good location for children with waterslide and the movie theatre right next door. Our room overlooked the highway but did not hear any noise at all. Front desk staff was very accommodating.

Room Tip: King Room had a very large stand up shower with a couch
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROJO2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your Dartmouth visit! We are very happy to hear that you found our service to be accommodating and our location convenient. The waterslide and movie theatre are definitely family favourites! We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.

Until then,
Rick Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Excellent Service!!

Eva our room attendant had our room spotless each day. The room was a great size for us and comfortable. We were two adults and two teens - the pullout couch was perfect for us.

We enjoyed the pool, breakfast was wonderful, and the location was great – close to shopping and the highway. We arrived late so proximity to airport was important – be careful though – google maps tried to add an extra 10 minutes to our drive, we drove PAST the hotel as it didn’t know we would be able to turn left and had us add an extra 10 minutes . . .

Hotel was dog friendly, although we didn’t have ours with us we thought the location was perfect, there was greenspace in the parking lot and we enjoyed walking to some of the stores and restaurants in the complex.

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phypersfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth
Address: 65 Cromarty Dr, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B3B 0G2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dartmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Halifax-Dartmouth is located in the heart of the city of lakes, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia and the popular shopping district Dartmouth Crossing. The only hotel in Dartmouth Crossing, the Hampton Inn & Suites is 15 minutes from Halifax Stanfield International Airport, 2 minutes from Burnside Business Park and 10 minutes from downtown Dartmouth and Halifax for attractions, restaurants and the lively Halifax waterfront. The 163 room hotel offers a combination of spacious guestrooms and suites and is a 100% non-smoking environment. The Hampton Inn & Suites Halifax-Dartmouth offers modern amenities, an indoor oversized pool with a 150' water slide, a fitness centre and is pet friendly. Convenient self parking is plentiful as well as valet parking. Guests can enjoy the Hampton on the House full hot breakfast complimentary or take advantage of the Hampton on the Run breakfast to go. The Hampton Inn & Suites on-site convenience store makes it easy for guests who wish to take advantage of the amenities in their suite such as a fridge and microwave to dine in the comfort of their stylish suite and enjoy their favourite TV show or on-demand movie on the large screen TV. For long term stays, coin laundry and valet service make it easy to maintain your wardrobe even while away from home. Business travelers will especially enjoy the Business Centre with complimentary printing services and meetings bookings are made easily with the Hampton Inn & Suites online booking tool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth Hotel Dartmouth
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth
Hampton Inn Dartmouth
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing