We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for Halifax vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
BC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel for Halifax vacation”
Reviewed 28 September 2009

We booked from afar for 2 nights but enjoyed our room so much, we added a third night and then stayed again on our return to Halifax after touring. The first three nights were for a great rate (through Travelzoo) and we received a free upgrate to a suite! Our fourth night was a standard room but not disappointing at all and for a very rate as well ($99). The location is handy and you can walk out in the evening to several chain restaurants and stores as well as a movie theatre complex. The staff is friendly, the room modern and quiet and location is handy for family vacations.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NubbieBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    262
    71
    29
    15
See reviews for
431
192
27
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

Our big thing with hotels is a window that opens. After all this time - we should know better. But we diddn't. The noisy window air conditioner is in excusable for a new hotel of this rating.

While there are lots of alternatives - the hot breakfast food was simply awful. I honestly would like to know what the artificial eggs were..... white fluffy stuff with a dot of yellow colour in the middle. I had to try it. It tasted like eraser. You know - the stuff you knaw on from the pencil end.

The area is brand new - a new center only partially finished. Good restaurants on site including a great Jack Astors. You have to drive to everywhere - across the bridge(s) to Halifax. Make sure you have quarters - 75 cents each way over the bridges. Well worth it to visit beautiful Halifax.

Won't be back.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRSM1THAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2009

Hilton has done it again. This hotel is brand new and is beautiful. Wonderful location. Right in the middle of shopping and next door to major highway. The rooms are double the size of regular hotel rooms and absolutely beautiful. I will never stay anywhere else if I am anywhere near Halifax, Dartmouth. I stayed with my spouse, 14yr old daugher and 2 yr old. Very clean and comfortable. Nice pool and great breakfast. 10 out of 10. I have stayed at dozens of hotels and this was the best!!!! Thank you Hilton/Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivfmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZ
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2009

This hotel was recommended by a relative who lives in Dartmouth for our stay of one week. It is newly opened and felt quite stylish and fresh. The lobby and breakfast areas are spacious and comfortable. The front desk staff were accomodating to our requests. The breakfast which is served buffet style has ample choices and was well stocked. The hot items were repetitive over our stay and frankly not too appetizing, but the choice of breads, cereals, yogurt were very much to our taste. The coffee was good and there was a nice selection of tea as well.
Our room was set up as an accessible suite. The foyer/kitchenette was therefore quite open and spacious, as was the bathroom with its roll in shower and dual shower heads. A drawback to this bathroom was the lack of ledges/shelves in the shower for storage of shampoos and soaps. The bathroom sink had little space for two users' gear.
The bed was the most comfortable we've ever slept in. We even found a light down blanket in the closet which was much appreciated in the damp chilly weather we were having.
We noticed that the door to our suite and the bathroom doors had been hung crooked and did not close fully without force. Hopefully this will be corrected as the place gets up to full operating speed.
Lots of shopping, dining in the complex and there is a fantastic park for hiking (Shubie) across the hiway by overhead pedway.
Loved our visit!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

This hotel is amazing! On arrival, we were shocked walking into the lobby seeing the lounge like sitting area/breakfast room. Check in was simple and quick, staff were very friendly. The lobby was decorated very nicely, has very hip colours! The elevators (2) were very quick and efficient. Upon getting to our floor, we saw the nicely decorated elevator landing with a mirror and 2 chairs, very nice. The colours blended very nice, like a blue/green colour and the carpet was very nice and thick. You could feel the difference walking on it with your shoes on! The room had the same colour scheme as well. The bathroom was very spacious, it had all the standard stuff, shampoo, soap, conditioner, lotion. The water pressure in the shower was good. The room itself was a good size. The beds were amazing! They had triple sheeting, 4 pillows and a duvet with cover! Like heaven! The free wireless internet was fast. The view from the room is just of the Dartmouth Crossing, but you can see EVERYTHING if your in a high room. The pool was ok, only 5 ft deep, it was full of kids, but after 10pm they kick anybody under 18 out and adults can swim till 12am. I thought this was nice because in most hotels with pools, there can be alot of kids kicking, jumping and screaming and you cant enjoy the pool. The waterslide was fun as well! It does not dump into the main pool, therefore you can swim into the deep end of the pool without fear of getting hit! It just has this long ending part with about 2 ft deep water at the end. The breakfast was great as well! Each day they have a hot item, it can vary from french toast to fried eggs to omlettes. The rest of the breakfast was your usuall, coffee, tea, juice, bagles, pasteries, etc. The breakfast room is beautiful. It looks like a trendy bar! It was great! All in all, over our 7 day trip around the maritimes, this was the BEST hotel hands down. And by staying at most of the hotels in the HRM, I can say that this is the best one that I have stayed at! AMAZING!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shane_campbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

This was one great stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites in Dartmouth. Located in a new power centre close to many stores and restaurants. Just off the highway and about a 10 minutes ride to downtown Halifax. Very clean, modern and quiet. Very comfortable bed. Cool waterslide at pool area. I would go there again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J9257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2009

No words to discribe our stay. Wonderful room, excellent breakfast, friendly staff, the best of the best! Had a little trouble finding the place though. A 5 star value with 3 star price. We will stay again!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motheroftwoCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn - Dartmouth
#5 of 11 in Dartmouth
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth
Address: 65 Cromarty Dr, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B3B 0G2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Halifax-Dartmouth is located in the heart of the city of lakes, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia and the popular shopping district Dartmouth Crossing. The only hotel in Dartmouth Crossing, the Hampton Inn & Suites is 15 minutes from Halifax Stanfield International Airport, 2 minutes from Burnside Business Park and 10 minutes from downtown Dartmouth and Halifax for attractions, restaurants and the lively Halifax waterfront. The 163 room hotel offers a combination of spacious guestrooms and suites and is a 100% non-smoking environment. The Hampton Inn & Suites Halifax-Dartmouth offers modern amenities, an indoor oversized pool with a 150' water slide, a fitness centre and is pet friendly. Convenient self parking is plentiful as well as valet parking. Guests can enjoy the Hampton on the House full hot breakfast complimentary or take advantage of the Hampton on the Run breakfast to go. The Hampton Inn & Suites on-site convenience store makes it easy for guests who wish to take advantage of the amenities in their suite such as a fridge and microwave to dine in the comfort of their stylish suite and enjoy their favourite TV show or on-demand movie on the large screen TV. For long term stays, coin laundry and valet service make it easy to maintain your wardrobe even while away from home. Business travelers will especially enjoy the Business Centre with complimentary printing services and meetings bookings are made easily with the Hampton Inn & Suites online booking tool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth Hotel Dartmouth
Hampton Inn Dartmouth
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing