We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good price, nothing fancy, seconds from the bridge to Halifax” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn - Dartmouth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Inn - Dartmouth
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good price, nothing fancy, seconds from the bridge to Halifax”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

This is and ok hotel. The price is reasonable and it's clean. Not the best location a as fast as view but if you want a place to crash that's close to Halifax and affordable this is the place to go. You are literally 30 seconds away from the McKay bridge to cross over to Halifax and is cheeper than the downtown hotel. Free parking which you won't find in downtown Halifax. This is not a resort hotel, no pool or anything for the kids but if affordable and convenient is what your looking for that's the place.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank hemispheres777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary V, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Dartmouth, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey.

We are just begining our renovations, to update the hotel. I hope we will have the opportunity to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    50
    28
    10
    4
See reviews for
29
41
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Irricana Alberta
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

This place is clean, the staff is friendly and understanding and the suite was way beyond what we expected!!!!! Highly recommend this place. A wee bit dated but nothing that would change my review. And the breakfast was excellent. The bedding clean and fresh and they bathroom was immaculate. Lots of pillows and extra blankets.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary V, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Dartmouth, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Thank You for taking the time to fill out our online survey.

Thank you for your kind words. I hope we will have the chance to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel while a little dated (renovations are on going to fix this) the price is right and only a stone throw from Halifax. The staff is always friendly and greet you with a smile. Rooms are clean and the internet was fast. Breakfast is fruit, yogurt, bagels, waffles and cereal.
Coffee and tea.

There is water in the rooms but not sure if it was free or not.


I would stay here again

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary V, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Dartmouth, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete the online survey. You are right, we are starting our renovations. We will be updating the outside of the building, increasing the size of the lobby to include a large breakfast area and updating all our rooms.

I hope you will have the chance to visit us again. The water in the room is free!!

Thanks Again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MORENO VALLEY
Level Contributor
561 reviews
264 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I liked this place. I plan on being in the Halifax area next year and will probably stay here again. I had a large room that included a sitting area with a sofa, desk, Microwave, & large mini fridge. My room was right at the end of the hall and I don't think I ever had a neighbor on my other side for the 10 days I was here. But the best thing about this place is the Wi-Fi. Take it from someone who travels full-time, Wi-Fi in most hotels is crap! This one was very fast, one of the best I've had in a hotel in months. Very nice people upfront.

I wish they had an exercise room and a guest laundry.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drdroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary V, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Dartmouth, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We are going to be renovating this fall, and one of the projects is to add a washer and dryer for our guests to use. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My first impression upon checking in and going to my room was that the hotel was very dated. Needed new paint, carpets were worn, and the hallways smelled faintly stale. But over all my stay was good. The room was clean. Sheets were white, clean and fresh. The comforter was old but clean. Bathroom was clean. Breakfast hit the spot with fresh coffee, tea, juice milk. Bagels, waffles and bread to toast. Fresh fruit, yogurt, and cereal. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaMaritimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary V, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Dartmouth, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to place this review online. We will be undergoing renovations later this year. I hope you will get the chance to come back and check us out, once all the work is completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarmouth, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

The price was ok. It was raining and we paid extra to make sure we had a drive up room. We had a drive up room BUT no parking space. We were traviiling with sports equipment and could not get aa parking spot anywere near our room . When I told the frount desk attendant he said he would look in to it . I told him all the parking spots were marked for each room. He never looked in to it or
Called my room to apoligize he was to busy chatting up the scruffy looking teens in the lobby. It was to late to get a new hotel at this point . The place smeled of really bad recently lit cigrette ahd the frount lobby chair which my son went to sit in had a large wet spot (hope it was water ) but looked worse. The breakfast was fair but no trays and you have to take it from the lobby to room 122. I usally book choice hotels for the rewards hut the night attendant said he could not give me my points for this . I will be calling choice rewards this is reduclus. The morning staff were great .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lacydawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia M, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Dartmouth, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete the on-line survey. Your comments are very important to me. I will be communicating your concerns with my team.

I am very happy to tell you that this property will be 100% renovated later this year.

I hope to see you again, in the near future.

Sincerely,
Patricia McQuillan

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

The price was right. The rooms were clean and quiet. There was a bar across the street we had dinner at (service was excellent, food was o.k. but we were the only ones there). We ate at King of Donairs one night...food was horrible). Was in a convenient location. Wasn't impressed my credit cards were charged twice. I had asked if I could pay for the room on a different credit card and was assured it was in time. Instead it was charged to both cards and then one card was refunded (still waiting almost a week later for that money back) and no one told me until I called to inquire. The only other complaint is I wish they had had an elevator as we were on second floor and had to carry our bags. We would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alwaysdreamin1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary V, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Dartmouth, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete an online review of our hotel.

Just to clarify, we had refunded the second credit card within a minute of charging it, as we realized the mistake. The delay in receiving your money back is because of the credit card company and their bank.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Suites Halifax Dartmouth
0.3 mi away
Coastal Inn Dartmouth
Coastal Inn Dartmouth
#10 of 11 in Dartmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Halifax/Dartmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Halifax
Comfort Inn Halifax
#18 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn - Dartmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn - Dartmouth

Property: Comfort Inn - Dartmouth
Address: 456 Windmill Rd, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B3A 1J7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn - Dartmouth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Inn, located minutes away from Dartmouth Crossing, Burnside Industrial Park and Mic Mac Mall. The historic downtown Halifax area is a quick drive or short ferry ride away. At the hotel all of our rooms are equipped with small fridge and microwaves, coffee pot, iron and board, hair dryer and 32" LCD TV. All our rates include free Hot Continental Breakfast, free wifi, free local calls and free parking. We understand that you pet is part of your family - we are a pet friendly hotel and now 100% Smoke-Free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Comfort Inn - Dartmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn - Dartmouth Nova Scotia
Dartmouth Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing