We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Dartmouth
Barboursville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located across the "Old" bridge from Halifax. It's very clean and comfortable. I stayed here two nights as part of a tour so can't comment on the price. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was very complete and delicious.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CALewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    123
    106
    48
    21
See reviews for
85
113
37
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Halifax Harbor view, this hotel was very nice and staff was very helpful. I would rate this hotel a 10 for accommodations and friendliness. access of the hotel was easy and just across the bridge from Halifax.

Room Tip: We had a great time at this hotel, the service was excellent and the view of the harbor was great. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejinkens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Despite its convenient location the Holiday Inn can not justify the cost. Our room was outdated and had the smallest washroom ever. There was an air leak in the window causing an incessant whistling all night and the door to the adjacent room was not sound insulated so conversations could be over heard. There was no breakfast included.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear bobcanuck,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by the service you received from our hotel. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed there for two nights. everything seemed nice and friendly but then: First - issued a key and went up to our room. key didnt work. We went back to front desk and they gave us a new key. tried it and it didnt work. eventually a man who had been sleeping opened the door. They tried to put us in a booked room! Next day housekeeping made up one bed but not the second. Replaced three used towels with one towel (?)
That evening a fight broke out in the hall and the hall wall we discovered was damaged . Screams and yelling were very disturbing. We called the front desk but I think we perhaps should have called the police.
All night I was woken hourly by people being rowdy. I think it may have been my worst ever hotel experience.

Room Tip: try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DiscerningTravel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
On behalf of the Holiday Inn Harbourview, thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel and we thank you for your constructive comments; we will ensure we use them to improve areas which may be letting us or our guests down. We have spoken with our guest services and housekeeping teams regarding the issues you have indicated to further correct and ensure they do not happen again.

We did experience an isolated incident beyond the hotel’s control over the course of the Labour Day weekend which caused a large disturbance, and I apologize for any inconvenience this caused you during your stay. This was an unforeseen incident which Management acted promptly to contain, and were able to successfully dissolve. We hope that this isolated incident does not deter you from staying with us again. We look forward to having the opportunity of redeeming ourselves soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dartmouth hotels

Boucherville, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We travelled with a group from Québec. We stayed 2 days at this hotel, 18-19 july 2013. The personnel was efficient and friedly on arrival. Found the room Clean and confortable. Good bed. We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel. The food was good and well presented. We think that this is a place to stay if you go to Nova Scotia. Its just accross the bridge from Halifax and allows days for visit with good facilities. The price although with a group was reasonnable. Good Place!

Room Tip: Did not use spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We appreciate your sharing your experience with your fellow travelers and providing us with some great feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights late July 2013. From the very beginning we were very impressed with the staff when we arrived after a harrowing drive through rain and low visibility. With a seamless and easy check in we were able to rest without delay.To mention a few of the outstanding staff from Janice,Nicki and Andrea in housekeeping with whom were very friendly, attentive and professional, to Greg, Jason and Erin at the front desk, we were treated like family. We requested a microwave and a very kind gentleman named Dean was very helpful and quick to address this request along with a television issue. Quick service that made it feel as we were the only ones at the hotel. ( it was quite busy) From the rooms to corridors to the recreational facilities being spotless it was certainly a delight to have stayed at this hotel and would most definitely return and also highly recommend it as well. The hotel itself is very good but it was the friendly and professional disposition of the staff that "sealed" the deal. We look forward to another holiday to eastern Canada, but most likely would fly next time as it was a very long drive.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view upgrade on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vitaminmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are humbled and happy that we were able to leave you with a memorable experience, and we look forward to having you join us again some time soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We were travelling with a party of six including two pre school children. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff friendly and accomodating. The location was excellent being at the foot of the MacDonald Bridge. Parking and breakfast were included in the price. The buffet style breakfast included, cereals, fresh fruit, bacon, sausage and eggs. The outside pool was very nice as well. We had a harbour view room, which had a nice balcony. Unfortunately there was no view of the harbour as we were on the second floor and our view was blocked. So if you truely need or want a harbour view ask for a room on a floor above 2.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MartinStoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel with us and your fellow guests. We always appreciate hearing from our guests, and we are happy you were able to enjoy your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Halifax/Dartmouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview

Property: Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview
Address: 101 Wyse Rd, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B3A 1L9, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Dartmouth > Dartmouth Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview Hotel. The Holiday Inn Hotel in Dartmouth, Nova Scotia features quality amenities, superior service, the area's premier conference facilities and the best views of the Halifax harbour. Designed with the business traveler in mind, this hotel features amenities that keep our guests coming back. Conveniently located just steps from the Halifax harbour in Dartmouth, our hotel offers guests easy access to many area businesses. We also provide over 14,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting space that can be divided into 16 rooms. With space for up to 550 people, we offer the perfect location for conferences, corporate meetings and weddings. Leisure travelers enjoy our Halifax hotel's warm hospitality, pet friendly atmosphere, breathtaking views of the Halifax harbour, as well as our convenient location near attractions such as the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia, the Maritime Museum of the Atlantic, the famous Alexander Keith's Brewery, Dartmouth Crossing, the Emera Oval and much more. While staying with us, be sure to enjoy an exceptional meal in our hotel's restaurant, Cafe 101. After a long day, relax in our outdoor pool, exercise in our Fitness Centre or take advantage of our complimentary day passes to the Dartmouth Sportsplex across the street. All of this makes our hotel the place to stay when you're in the Halifax area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview Hotel Dartmouth
Holiday Inn Dartmouth
Dartmouth Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview Dartmouth, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing