We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what expecting ” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not what expecting ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel is old and outdated and not very accommodating to guests. Myself and my fiancé travel and "usually" stay at this hotel as it's booked through work. We won't be staying here ever again. Even if it's free. And will be telling employees to book else where. Like the Hampton which is usually cheaper newer cleaner and free parking and free breakfast. If not cheaper not much more. Beds are hard as a rock bath tubs have chipping paint. Asked for a king bed as we are a couple and was given 2 double beds. Stayed the weekend before and beds were ok. Cribs are old metal and low. I can barely pick my daughter up when she's in it and she woke up screaming with hands and arms stuck between the bars. Maybe play pens are more practical. Breakfast is ok if you get the buffet. But almost 20 bucks a person hardly worth it. Pool was closed when I stayed last so can't comment there. Gym is hardly what you consider a gym with a treadmill and a bike. Only bonus is we were able to check in before the actual check in time. However I wouldn't recommend this hotel to any one!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank kristenm03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCoordinator, Hotel Coordinator at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Feedback such as this is very helpful when we are considering what improvements can be made to enhance the experience of our guests. Although we do try our best to provide each guest with the room type of their preference, we regret at the time of check in the only room types we had available were that with two double beds. It is not our intention to provide a product you were unsatisfied with.
As always, if there is any way we can be of further assistance to you, please do not hesitate to contact us and hopefully we can welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distance future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    123
    105
    48
    21
See reviews for
85
112
37
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel was ok... just ok. The rooms and décor are outdated. The service however was great. I ate both supper and breakfast at the hotel restaurant. Supper was very good. I was very pleased. Breakfast on the other hand, was not. Overall, the hotel was ok for the price. But, if you're looking for a high end hotel, this isn't it. If you're looking for a clean hotel with friendly staff, and a place to lay your head... this will suffice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinitaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCoordinator, Hotel Coordinator at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Many thanks for contributing your comments to TripAdvisor. It appears we are doing some things well, and your comments will help us improve the other areas. I hope you will stay with us again in the future so we have the opportunity to truly exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We held our Canadian Glass Association national conference at this facility and the service and hospitality was excellent!
From the event planners to the concierge, restaurant staff and housekeeping. It was all top notch service and I would highly recommend this hotel for any event that you may be planning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly V, Hotel Coordinator at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave this kind review and for recommending our property. The Canadian Glass Association was a wonderful group to have and we would welcome you back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arequipa, Peru
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We only stayed one night, booked last minute, so we didn't shop around much
Was shocked, on checking out, to find that parking was $10 extra (if you complain they take if off)
and breakfast was close to $20.
Room was comfortable and clean, and the wait staff in the bar were friendly, but the extra charges spoil it.
Its called Harbourview, but they stuck us overlooking the parking lot (the view was probably extra too!)

Room Tip: Not really worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beltiemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly V, Hotel Coordinator at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you very much for choosing the Holiday Inn Harbourview and for your comments. I am sorry to hear that you were displeased with the cost of breakfast and our parking fee. I assure you that we remain very competitive with our rates. We wish every room had a harbour view but unfortunately that's just not possible on some of our lower floors. Glad you found the room comfortable and clean. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John
Level Contributor
106 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

had to call and change reservation. Staff very helpful. We stayed on the long weekend and lots of kids. No problem. everything quiet at night. Dog friendly hotel. Nice buffet breakfast. and excellent supper.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaihtJohnliftman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly V, Hotel Coordinator at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
I am delighted to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you found the service and facilities to be of an excellent standard. I hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I have used this facility many times for out of town business. However, three times in the last year, they have billed me and the organization for the time spent there. The only proof I have is on my credit card bill but they deny they had one on file. its a nice hotel with nice staff but something is up. This time I am out $150 and i can't afford to have that happening each time I have to travel to dartmouth. From this point forward, I will be choosing another facility.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly V, Hotel Coordinator at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
We appreciate your feedback in regards to the billing issues. The refund has been processed but if you are speaking of another incident please contact me at kvanhorne@hiharbourview.ca. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rural Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stayed at the Halifax Harbourview 1 night for a Convention. It was quiet, clean and i got a great night's sleep. Check-in was a bit of a problem because they had somehow booked a room-mate for me, but they cleared that up and everything else was a breeze, especially since i had pre-paid so didn't have to go to the desk for checkout.

The room was very quiet, and spotlessly clean. Everything worked but one lamp. I liked the idea of having the toilet and sink in 2 separate bathroom areas as this could be convenient for 2 people. I had a very comfortable king size bed which could have slept 3!
The convention was in the next building linked to the hotel and the only way I could find to get there was to go to the ground floor of the hotel elevator and then walk around inside and up the stairs to the convention centre. I don't think I could get to my hotel room by elevator from the convention centre - I tried and ended up on a floor of offices where some kind people re-directed me. I love any extra exercise i can get so the extra walking was fine for me. I even walked up the 5 flights of stairs to my hotel room twice (instead of taking the elevator), but I think some one with disabilities might find the traverse from the hotel to the convention a bit difficult and time absorbing.

I didn't have time to try breakfast and just had coffee in my room. The coffee made by the coffee machine was excellent.

Room Tip: Room 552 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soulee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly V, Hotel Coordinator at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
What a great review! Many thanks for contributing your comments to TripAdvisor.
It sounds like we were able to meet all your expectations and exceed some. We thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Atlantica Hotel Halifax
#17 of 28 in Halifax
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview

Property: Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview
Address: 101 Wyse Rd, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B3A 1L9, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Dartmouth > Dartmouth Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview Hotel. The Holiday Inn Hotel in Dartmouth, Nova Scotia features quality amenities, superior service, the area's premier conference facilities and the best views of the Halifax harbour. Designed with the business traveler in mind, this hotel features amenities that keep our guests coming back. Conveniently located just steps from the Halifax harbour in Dartmouth, our hotel offers guests easy access to many area businesses. We also provide over 14,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting space that can be divided into 16 rooms. With space for up to 550 people, we offer the perfect location for conferences, corporate meetings and weddings. Leisure travelers enjoy our Halifax hotel's warm hospitality, pet friendly atmosphere, breathtaking views of the Halifax harbour, as well as our convenient location near attractions such as the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia, the Maritime Museum of the Atlantic, the famous Alexander Keith's Brewery, Dartmouth Crossing, the Emera Oval and much more. While staying with us, be sure to enjoy an exceptional meal in our hotel's restaurant, Cafe 101. After a long day, relax in our outdoor pool, exercise in our Fitness Centre or take advantage of our complimentary day passes to the Dartmouth Sportsplex across the street. All of this makes our hotel the place to stay when you're in the Halifax area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview Hotel Dartmouth
Holiday Inn Dartmouth
Dartmouth Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview Dartmouth, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing