We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“No complaints”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Once again this hotel is wonderful. I appreciated the kind staff at the front desk who had professionalism, great personality and making it easy to check in while directing others to a wedding reception and answering phone, all the while I felt like I was still being taken care of.

I also appreciate the fact that this is a hotel that does not actually require a cash deposit for incidentals. A credit card number on file is sufficient. Makes life a lot easier and saves us money. Even booking through an outside source I was still treated well.

The hotel is easy to get to from various directions and the grounds are tidy and there is plenty of parking. Upon entering the lobby it is clean and nicely decorated. The halls and rooms are kept tidy and while some may say things are worn down or a bit outdated it is still a well kept hotel.

I will definitely be back.it is a great place to stay. Keep up the great work a Holiday Inn!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Saundersfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCoordinator, Hotel Coordinator at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
I’m not sure we could have said it better ourselves! Thank you so much for your kind review. I will be sure to share your comments with the team and recognize them for their efforts and professionalism. We would be delighted to have you as our guest again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    123
    106
    48
    21
See reviews for
85
113
37
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
PEI, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Our family of six stayed in two connecting rooms with balconies overlooking the pool and harbour on Jun 6 - 8. The rooms were clean and the staff were very accommodating.

Since their pool wasn't open for the season, they gave us passes to the pool at the Dartmouth Sportsplex across the street, which the family enjoyed a lot. One of the kids cut their finger on the locker at the Sportsplex and upon retuning to the hotel, I went to the front desk for a bandage and they had one for me immediately. Courtney is a great asset to the hotel.

I had read that here would be a $10 fee for parking a night, but we were not billed for it (maybe because my husband is a Priority Club member?)

I would give this hotel full marks if breakfast was included in the room price (even continental) but other than that, I could find nothing to complain about.

We will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TignishTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCoordinator, Hotel Coordinator at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
I wanted to write to you to say Thank You for taking the time to post your TripAdvisor review following your stay with us. I am delighted to note that you and your family enjoyed your time with us and you all felt well looked after. I will be sure to pass your comments along to Courtney and do hope that you will visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spaxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

A room on the 7th floor overlooking the bay and harbour afforded a superb view.
The room was clean and well maintained, the bed was very comfortable with good
Quality bedding, making a very good nights sleep. My only adverse comment is that
the wash basin area is very small and cramped, but this said and done will not stop
me returning if I am in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCoordinator, Hotel Coordinator at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Many thanks for sharing your impressions of the Holiday Inn Harbourview - the team and myself look forward to welcoming you back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel is old and outdated and not very accommodating to guests. Myself and my fiancé travel and "usually" stay at this hotel as it's booked through work. We won't be staying here ever again. Even if it's free. And will be telling employees to book else where. Like the Hampton which is usually cheaper newer cleaner and free parking and free breakfast. If not cheaper not much more. Beds are hard as a rock bath tubs have chipping paint. Asked for a king bed as we are a couple and was given 2 double beds. Stayed the weekend before and beds were ok. Cribs are old metal and low. I can barely pick my daughter up when she's in it and she woke up screaming with hands and arms stuck between the bars. Maybe play pens are more practical. Breakfast is ok if you get the buffet. But almost 20 bucks a person hardly worth it. Pool was closed when I stayed last so can't comment there. Gym is hardly what you consider a gym with a treadmill and a bike. Only bonus is we were able to check in before the actual check in time. However I wouldn't recommend this hotel to any one!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank kristenm03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCoordinator, Hotel Coordinator at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Feedback such as this is very helpful when we are considering what improvements can be made to enhance the experience of our guests. Although we do try our best to provide each guest with the room type of their preference, we regret at the time of check in the only room types we had available were that with two double beds. It is not our intention to provide a product you were unsatisfied with.
As always, if there is any way we can be of further assistance to you, please do not hesitate to contact us and hopefully we can welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distance future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dartmouth hotels

Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel was ok... just ok. The rooms and décor are outdated. The service however was great. I ate both supper and breakfast at the hotel restaurant. Supper was very good. I was very pleased. Breakfast on the other hand, was not. Overall, the hotel was ok for the price. But, if you're looking for a high end hotel, this isn't it. If you're looking for a clean hotel with friendly staff, and a place to lay your head... this will suffice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinitaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCoordinator, Hotel Coordinator at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Many thanks for contributing your comments to TripAdvisor. It appears we are doing some things well, and your comments will help us improve the other areas. I hope you will stay with us again in the future so we have the opportunity to truly exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We held our Canadian Glass Association national conference at this facility and the service and hospitality was excellent!
From the event planners to the concierge, restaurant staff and housekeeping. It was all top notch service and I would highly recommend this hotel for any event that you may be planning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly V, Hotel Coordinator at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave this kind review and for recommending our property. The Canadian Glass Association was a wonderful group to have and we would welcome you back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arequipa, Peru
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We only stayed one night, booked last minute, so we didn't shop around much
Was shocked, on checking out, to find that parking was $10 extra (if you complain they take if off)
and breakfast was close to $20.
Room was comfortable and clean, and the wait staff in the bar were friendly, but the extra charges spoil it.
Its called Harbourview, but they stuck us overlooking the parking lot (the view was probably extra too!)

Room Tip: Not really worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beltiemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly V, Hotel Coordinator at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you very much for choosing the Holiday Inn Harbourview and for your comments. I am sorry to hear that you were displeased with the cost of breakfast and our parking fee. I assure you that we remain very competitive with our rates. We wish every room had a harbour view but unfortunately that's just not possible on some of our lower floors. Glad you found the room comfortable and clean. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview

Property: Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview
Address: 101 Wyse Rd, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B3A 1L9, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Dartmouth > Dartmouth Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview Hotel. The Holiday Inn Hotel in Dartmouth, Nova Scotia features quality amenities, superior service, the area's premier conference facilities and the best views of the Halifax harbour. Designed with the business traveler in mind, this hotel features amenities that keep our guests coming back. Conveniently located just steps from the Halifax harbour in Dartmouth, our hotel offers guests easy access to many area businesses. We also provide over 14,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting space that can be divided into 16 rooms. With space for up to 550 people, we offer the perfect location for conferences, corporate meetings and weddings. Leisure travelers enjoy our Halifax hotel's warm hospitality, pet friendly atmosphere, breathtaking views of the Halifax harbour, as well as our convenient location near attractions such as the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia, the Maritime Museum of the Atlantic, the famous Alexander Keith's Brewery, Dartmouth Crossing, the Emera Oval and much more. While staying with us, be sure to enjoy an exceptional meal in our hotel's restaurant, Cafe 101. After a long day, relax in our outdoor pool, exercise in our Fitness Centre or take advantage of our complimentary day passes to the Dartmouth Sportsplex across the street. All of this makes our hotel the place to stay when you're in the Halifax area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview Hotel Dartmouth
Holiday Inn Dartmouth
Dartmouth Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview Dartmouth, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing