We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Requested room change.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Requested room change.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We booked this hotel on Priceline recently. We stayed at this hotel with a regular booking in the past and that stay was fine. Unfortunately, during our most recent visit, we checked into our room with quickly found ants on the table and crawling on the walls. My son dropped lego and when I was on the floor looking for the missing piece, I found 3 pairs of underwear in a plastic bag under the bed from a previous guest. I called the front desk and explained why we needed a room change. The employee was very apologetic and offered to move our luggage to another room. The same employee also gave us vouchers for a free breakfast. Our second room was an improvement over the first room but still had dust on the table and TV and it was obvious the corners of the room had not been vacuumed. We will likely not return to this hotel based on this experience.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bluenosegirl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIHHH, General Manager at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for sharing the few challenges that you unfortunately had to experience during your stay, and for which I would like to apologize. We realize how important a clean room is to our guests and we will review our procedures again with each of our housekeeping associates. Once again, we apologize for the issues your faced during your stay, and we hope you will give us another shot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    123
    105
    48
    21
See reviews for
85
112
37
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in August and we had the harbor view from the room balcony. The room size is large, but we feel this holiday inn is not in same quality service as those holiday inn hotels we usually stayed before. This is first time we had holiday inn doesn't offer breakfast when we booked through priceline. Had we know this before, we would have booked higher star hotel.
The good side is this hotel is in good location which just on the end of bridge to downtown Halifax. You can either walk to Halifax or drive to in a few minutes.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIHHH, General Manager at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Unfortunately, when booking with Priceline there is no option to add breakfast to your booking. However, if you book on our hotel website there is that option. I'm glad to note you liked the location of the hotel. Once again, many thanks for having spent the time and shared your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Stayes on.night very nice lobby booked a day.before NYE as i had a party at a hotel the 31st. Check in was quick and easy and very polite they.gave us a nice room when we got to our room i was very pleased the room was well taken care of.and everythong worked.

There are rooms with belconys but i.guess.they were full and there are suites.on the inside court yard area.

They were very helpfull providing me a small knife as I needed to.cut lemons and limes.the day before. They also storied food for me very convient.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIHHH, General Manager at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments about the services, amenities and staff. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate you taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed here two nights in Aug.. The is a great location. Beside the bridge to Halifax, short walk to ferry to Halifax Harbor, nice size rooms with free WiFi and breakfast. The only thing missing was a mini fridge in the room, but I never asked, so they may have them available.

Room Tip: Nice to have a view of the Halifax Harbor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackob_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIHHH, General Manager at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I am so pleased to note that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found the location to be great. We do hope your enjoyable visit will encourage you to stay with us again should your travels ever bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

My sister, niece and I stayed here in July. We stayed at seven different hotels on our vacation travelling around the east coast and this was by far the biggest disappointment when it came to accommodations.
We checked in around 3pm to a rude receptionist and then entered a musty smelly room.
The beds were okay, washroom smelled a bit like urine, and the A/C unit in our room stopped working sometime in the early morning because we all woke up sweating.
They charge $10 for parking which we all thought was ridiculous considering the price we paid for staying there. Why is parking not included for hotel guests?
There is also no continental breakfast at this hotel.
We would never stay here again. If you are thinking of staying here - don't! Keep searching for a better hotel where parking is included and they offer a free continental breakfast at the same price point!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenbug01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIHHH, General Manager at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding our hotel. Feedback such as this is very helpful when we are considering what improvements can be made to enhance the experience of our guests. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all it could have been. We do hope you would give us an opportunity in the future to provide you with the stay that not only meets but exceeds your expectations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
453 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

The hotel is a little on the older side, but has been updated and is clean and comfortable. All staff that I had interactions with were polite and professional. The room was clean and comfortable. The buffet breakfast I had was a good, standard breakfast. The hotel is a good hotel, but don't expect a boutique experience. I would stay at this hotel again when visiting Halifax.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wbsAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIHHH, General Manager at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
I greatly appreciate your feedback and am pleased to note that you experienced a pleasant time with us and enjoyed our food, particularly breakfast and were happy with all the other aspects of your stay. We will look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Helpful staff. Overpriced hotel for what it had to offer. Musty. Outdated. Bathroom split up in two and is very awkward. Beds clean. Power outlets too few and difficult to reach. Decent restaurants in walking distance. I hope that the hotel is renovated to make it more appealing.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ravi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIHHH, General Manager at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
I wanted to write to you to say thank-you for taking the time to post your TripAdvisor review following your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that our décor wasn’t to your taste and that you feel the hotel needs refurbishment. I'm happy to note that you found our staff helpful and we sincerely hope that other aspects of your stay were more to your liking. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Atlantica Hotel Halifax
#18 of 28 in Halifax
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview

Property: Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview
Address: 101 Wyse Rd, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B3A 1L9, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Dartmouth > Dartmouth Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview Hotel. The Holiday Inn Hotel in Dartmouth, Nova Scotia features quality amenities, superior service, the area's premier conference facilities and the best views of the Halifax harbour. Designed with the business traveler in mind, this hotel features amenities that keep our guests coming back. Conveniently located just steps from the Halifax harbour in Dartmouth, our hotel offers guests easy access to many area businesses. We also provide over 14,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting space that can be divided into 16 rooms. With space for up to 550 people, we offer the perfect location for conferences, corporate meetings and weddings. Leisure travelers enjoy our Halifax hotel's warm hospitality, pet friendly atmosphere, breathtaking views of the Halifax harbour, as well as our convenient location near attractions such as the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia, the Maritime Museum of the Atlantic, the famous Alexander Keith's Brewery, Dartmouth Crossing, the Emera Oval and much more. While staying with us, be sure to enjoy an exceptional meal in our hotel's restaurant, Cafe 101. After a long day, relax in our outdoor pool, exercise in our Fitness Centre or take advantage of our complimentary day passes to the Dartmouth Sportsplex across the street. All of this makes our hotel the place to stay when you're in the Halifax area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview Hotel Dartmouth
Holiday Inn Dartmouth
Dartmouth Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview Dartmouth, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing