We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Major improvements”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hearthstone Inn Halifax/Dartmouth
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I have been a very frequent visitor to this property for more than ten years, as a user of the meeting rooms. I visit at least 80 evenings per year which must be more than anyone else! One thing for sure, I have seen all the improvements outside of the guestrooms, and I have been served by all the front desk staff. This hotel is vastly improved over what it was ten years ago and the improvements have accelerated in the past couple of years. Painting and remodeling were great starts, but now the new decor including tasteful framed prints and public area furniture makes it even more of a pleasure to walk in here. It is now a case of me wondering what will be new each time I visit.

On top of this the staff is always very helpful not only to me, but also to the overnight guests. I observe all of this as I myself am a seasoned user of Choice hotels across North America. It is obvious that guests return time and again,as the staff is on first name basis with many of them. Marsha, the operations manager, and front desk staff members Wendy and Scott are particularly helpful. You might even encounter the owner Mike during your visit and not only is he behind all the improvements, he is also part of the friendly nature of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nsbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marsha G, Manager at Hearthstone Inn Halifax/Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Hello NSBIL,

Thank you for taking a moment to write a review in regards to your observations of Quality Inn Dartmouth. We certainly appreciate hearing from all our guest. Delighted to hear you like all
the changes and improvements to our facilities .

The next time you are in and have a moment perhaps you would like to see our guest rooms and see what we offer in room.

Again I would like to thank you for your review and look forward to your return to our Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Marsha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013

I spent a restful night here and was pleased with the peace and quiet of my room. I had some computer work that had to be completed and their wifi was great, good coverage and a dependable connection. The bed was comfortable, the room had plenty of room, and the parking area was well-illuminated at night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marsha G, Manager at Hearthstone Inn Halifax/Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Hello,

I would like to thank you for taking your time to write a review in regards to your stay with us
here at Quality Inn.

Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and comfortable in our guest rooms and with
services provided. It is always nice to find a spot that suits you and makes for an enjoyable
stay.

I hope in the future, should you travel to our city again , that you shall stay with us again.

Thank you again.

Kind Regards,

Marsha

Operations Manager
Quality Inn Dartmouth
(902)469 5850

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Although this is an older hotel, it is quite inviting in many ways. From what we were told, the hotel is undergoing renovations to achieve more "green" in its operation.
We stayed for 3 nights - and will definitely stay at this motel on our next rip.
Front desk staff were very courteous and helpful throughout our stay.
On our first stay, we were given third floor room for the two nights. It was spacious, had windows that opened, was well appointed, and had an excellent view of the lake.
On our second visit, we were given a ground floor room - windows that did not open and with an air conditioner that was both noisy and very inefficient in its cooling ability.
A hot breakfast was available each day, along with a good variety of other items. The breakfast room itself was of very good size.
The only consistently negative note during our stay was the business centre - a very, very slow computer with a printer that never worked throughout our days.
Currently, this hotel has no restaurant facility - just a pub. Restaurants are not close by - but there are plenty in the area within a 10 minute drive.
I look forward to staying at this location again !

Room Tip: Third floor room with view of the lake is recommended. Request one of the newly renovated rooms whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marsha G, Manager at Hearthstone Inn Halifax/Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

We will make changes to the Business Centre to improve services there for all our
guests use, thank you for input in regards to that .

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.



Kind Regards,

Marsha

Marsha Graham
Operations Manager
Quality Inn Dartmouth
(902) 469 5850

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel Feb. 22 and 23rd. We found a coupon in our local paper for this hotel. The offer was $99.00 for the first night and the second night was free. My wife, my son and I stayed in a wheel chair accessible room as my son is in a wheel chair. It was on the third floor but there is an elevator.
The room had a Queen bed and a pull out couch. They were very comfortable. The bathroom was a good size and easy to move the wheel chair around. There was a seat to put in the tube for someone who has mobility problems. I also liked that the sink was just outside the main bath area. There is a small fridge and microwave in the room which came in handy.
The free breakfast buffet was very good. There were juices, tea, coffee, breads, muffins, cereals, yogurt, bacon, two types of eggs and fresh fruit.
This hotel is dog friendly. We brought our small dog with us and they made us feel welcomed and even gave our dog a treat. There is a small park across the road where you can walk your dog.
Just off the main lobby there is a small pub. The prices are reasonable and the food was very good.
What we really enjoyed about this hotel was the staff. Everyone from front desk staff, maids, bar staff etc were extremely friendly and helpful. We are very pleased to have found this hotel and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miracaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Recently stayed at this inn with a "Team Buy" voucher.The Inn itself is showing signs of wear but is spotless.Our room had all the essentials and though there was some mildew around the tub,I felt the bath was clean.The staff were very friendly,especially the lady in the breakfast room.It isn't the kind of place I'd stay if I wanted a romantic night out but just for sleeping and then shopping ,it was fine.Would stay again if I got this awesome deal through team buy.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coldatlantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

From the outside this hotel looks average but make no mistake about it, this hotel is a first class experience, most notable the beds. My wife and I both agreed, mark that day on the calendar (lol), that these were hands down the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in in our whole entire lives. The rooms are quiet, dark with the shades drawn and super comfy. The perfect storm for sleepin'.

The rooms are clean and spacious. The staff is VERY VERY friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast goes the mile, that's for sure. The hotel is conveniently located a 5-10min drive from Halifax. The TVs are massive.

This is definitely a place I would return to.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickWolynsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I Stayed in Quality inn Mic Mac,Dartmouth for 01 Night in october overall just for sleeping,room looks very old but staff is very helpfull and friendly.End of the day staff makes the property running because guest might return purely because of staff.but i really feel they should invest some money on rooms to upgrade the condition of the rooms.fitness centre was not too bad to start your day.breakfast was great.Have to say there''s average value for money as a Guest!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anushka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dartmouth hotels
Comfort Inn - Dartmouth
#7 of 11 in Dartmouth
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dartmouth Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Halifax Dartmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hearthstone Inn Halifax/Dartmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearthstone Inn Halifax/Dartmouth

Address: 313 Prince Albert Rd, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B2Y 1N3, Canada (Formerly Quality Inn Mic Mac)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range: £84 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hearthstone Inn Halifax/Dartmouth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Dartmouth only steps away from picturesque Lake Banook, the Hearthstone Inn Halifax/Dartmouth proudly welcomes guests to a very unique boutique style hotel. We pride ourselves in the decor with crystal chandiliers, victorian style furnishings and we even added a library at the end of the guest floors for you to sit back and relax with a good book! We are located only minutes from the downtown-core and Halifax/Dartmouth waterfront area and we are within easy-reach of key business and commercial centres including Burnside and Woodside Industrial Parks. Minutes from Mic Mac Mall and Dartmouth Crossing, your home in Dartmouth for business or pleasure can be the Hearthstone. Our staff will treat you like family! Stay with us and enjoy FREE hot buffet breakfast, FREE parking, FREE wifi, cable TV, Free tea/coffee in lobby 24/7 and our warm hospitality. Lake Banook is across the street as well as public beaches for summer fun. Enjoy the popular attractions and destinations, including Citadel Hill, the Halifax Metro Centre, the Dartmouth Heritage Museum, the Maritime Museum of the Atlantic, Historic Properties', Shubie Park, Lake Banook and the Black Cultural Center for Nova Scotia are all within easy access. Five minutes from great golf at Brightwood Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hearthstone Inn Halifax/Dartmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Dartmouth
Dartmouth Quality Inn
Hearthstone Inn Halifax/Dartmouth Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing