We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coastal Inn Dartmouth
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Cape Breton Island, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a very nice stay”
Reviewed 18 December 2011

this was our second time at this location and we were very pleased by the cleanliness and the friendly service we had..my daughter left Christmas gifts there for us and at which the staff had no problem caring for and even looked after them for us till we checked out the next day..we ordered a pizza from Roberts just down the rd which was to die for ...nice quiet area..would recommend this place for anyone ..continental breakfast the next day which was awesome..cheers to the coastal inn on windmill rd..great job..

Room Tip: the kitchenette was very nice for drinks and food...our friends stayed across the hall and we had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    25
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
10
30
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
kingston, nb canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Booked on line in the evening when we arrived in Halifax. I have stayed there once before. The location is excellent, the staff as well,and the continental breakfast was better than most. It was a very good hotel accomocation at a very good price and would check it out first on a return visit.. Very satisfied.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pianomanKingston_Nb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Extremely clean, neat and comfortable. Nice personable staff checking in and out. Location was excellent.

Room Tip: Room had kitchen - get to gave some of our own meals
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Burton56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
543 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

This property is very run down and old. If you are on a budget and can get a great price, like $75 or less then maybe consider it. I am sure they never go that low though. I suggest staying at one of the nice properties right in downtown Halifax. They aren't as expensive as you might think. I've stayed at beautiful hotels there for $150.

Consider this place only if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadian_Hoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2011

I have stayed at this Hotel every time I visit the city for year's.We are alway's treated very well,the staff are all very friendly.The room's are alway's clean & fresh,plenty of room,we love the kitchenette & micro-wave.And if your not already getting a great enough deal just for the room....they also have a great assortment of cereal,bagel's,toast,fruit,juice etc. for you to enjoy in the morning!!How can you beat it?!!?Just spent a couple night's there lately and look forward to returning.P.S.-We also just WON a $100 sear's gift card just for having our card full:)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unicorngirlHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2006

I stayed two night in this hotel which is not very close to the city centre and is more like a motel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean although you can see the age of the hotel especially in the bathroom.

The hotel is ideal for people who have their own car and do not need public transport. However, there is a bus station close to the hotel, but to go to the centre you have to change the bus.

Breakfast was included. It was quite a simple but good breakfast. Don't expect too much of it.

If you come from the airport you can take the "airporter" bus and go to the Holiday Inn Harbourview. Either you take a taxi from there to the hotel or take the bus from the bus station opposite the street. If I remember it correctly, bus No. 51 passes the hotel.

Helpful?
3 Thank Andy2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2006

I'm currently writing FROM the hotel :D
We arrived today with a family of 4, 2 adults and 2 kids of 5 and 8.
Here is a list of pros and cons:
pros:
- price
- globaly clean...
- ktichenette in the room, was a must for us because of the kids
- internet connection (wireless) is strong and working perfectly well
- room is spacious
- parking is free
- staff is helpful
- close from downtown by car, less than 10 minutes
- many customers are bilingual (english/french), many quebecers

cons:
- kitchenette is quite old but functional (no microwave)
- pots are available upon request to the desk only, after signing a form (!)
- everything is quite old and used
- radio is broken
- plumbing is noisy
- view is on the bridge and water, but is awful because the first view is an old and durty industrial scene
- bridge to halifax from here has a toll.
- door lock is working but no additional internal way of securing the door is working (broken)
- area is awfull, in the midlle of many heavy industrial companies. Do not think about a romantic place or taking a walk in the evening.
- staff do not speak a word of french

Globally would I come again here, yes for the price and because my goals are to have a kitchenette and a base to come back at the end of the day while I'm visiting by car Halifax, but I'm sure that if you're used to delta hotels or that kind of hotel you would be very disappointed !

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tkitoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn - Dartmouth
Comfort Inn - Dartmouth
#5 of 11 in Dartmouth
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Suites Halifax Dartmouth
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Dartmouth Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth
2.3 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Halifax/Dartmouth
4.6 mi away
Coastal Inn Halifax
Coastal Inn Halifax
#23 of 28 in Halifax
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastal Inn Dartmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastal Inn Dartmouth

Property: Coastal Inn Dartmouth
Address: 379 Windmill Rd, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B3A 1J6, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Coastal Inn Dartmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your place to stay in Dartmouth. The location YOU want, the service YOU expect, the comfort You desire. YOU will find it all here! Stay minutes from Burnside Business Park, Shop at Dartmouth Crossing or Mic Mac Mall, Play at Halifax Casino. 56 air-conditioned kitchenette units (25 suites with separate living room, 2 deluxe with private whirlpool and sauna). Free "Coastal Pus" breakfast, Free internet, Free newspaper, Free Local Calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Coastal Inn Dartmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coastal Inn Dartmouth Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing