We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dart mouth well-kept secret..location, location, location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coastal Inn Dartmouth
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We had a large, clean room including a comfortable bed, extra couch, armchair and kitchenette with fridge, microwave, stove, dishes,utensils, dish detergent and even tea towels, in a very convenient location. The bathroom is a good size and there are laundry facilities in the basement. The bridge to Halifax is minutes away, allowing you to escape the higher prices down town. The staff at the front desk are very polite and helpful, the continental breakfast, included with the price of the room, is very good. The Wi Fi worked great for us. When we arrived home after a busy day in Halifax, it was always to a clean room and lots of space to relax. Best of all....The Price is Right!....come on down!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llewesor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

Not much on extras, but the breakfast was tasty and the beds are clean and comfortable. A good base of operations for exploring the rest of the area. There's a fantastic pizza place about a block over, and access to the rest of Dartmouth/Halifax is easy and quick by car. The in-room wireless was kinda shifty on the 3rd floor.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We arrived in after 10pm and got to the Coastal Inn around 11pm. The gentleman at the desk seemed anxious to help us plan the next day's activities. It is not the newest or shiniest hotel but it is clean and the service is beyond compare. The rooms are spacious and the curtains darken the room (excellent for adjusting to the time zone shift). Every single person we encountered there provided excellent and willing service. I thought I had lost my camera and three people at once all assisted in the search. The price is right, the service is great. A great place to get oriented to a new city. We stayed four days at the beginning of our trip and returned to spend two more at the end...it was like coming back to friends.

ps we looked behind furniture to look for the missing camera....the room was clean even in hidden places.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

/We stayed at the Coastal Inn in Dartmouth in August 2013. The were very helpful and friendly. As mentioned in other reviews, the hotel is in a more industrial area but was very clean and well presented. The rooms were large and had a small kitchen area with frig, stove, microwave and dishes with a table and chairs for eating. The location was close to the ferry terminal which provides quick access to downtown Halifax. Breakfast was included and provided a wide assortment of cereals, breads, muffins, fruit etc. We would definitely recommend it and come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetpea945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Our stay was made better by the staff at the front desk, very helpful, the property is older, but it is evident that upgrades are being done, we found the room large and clean, the hotel is in an older part of the city, near the docks, not a great view from the rooms. All in all we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The pictures of the rooms are not accurate. We have stayed multiple times and each time was worse then the last. The rooms are outdated yes but for the price we paid that would be expected. The first time we stayed the smell of must was overpowering when checking in. The other times we stayed all you could smell was cigarette smoke. There were cigarette holes in the blanket and pubic hair in the bathroom. You can't sit up in bed to watch tv or read because there are huge lamps attached to the headboard. The good parts of the hotel were that the customer service was good and there was parking available.

Room Tip: Ground floor is non smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curlysue2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I booked the coastal inn through a third party website, and after checking out the site, wasn't sure what I got myself into! But it ended up being a pleasant place to stay. You can't let the old decor deter you. The staff was friendly and the rooms were perfectly fine. I enjoyed having the kitchenette in the room so you have the option to cook instead of always eating out. Breakfast was basic but good enough. Great value for as low price among hotel rooms that seem to keep getting higher!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandywey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn - Dartmouth
Comfort Inn - Dartmouth
#5 of 11 in Dartmouth
155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Suites Halifax Dartmouth
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Dartmouth Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth
2.3 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Halifax/Dartmouth
4.6 mi away
Coastal Inn Halifax
Coastal Inn Halifax
#23 of 28 in Halifax
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastal Inn Dartmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastal Inn Dartmouth

Address: 379 Windmill Rd, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B3A 1J6, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range: £63 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Coastal Inn Dartmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your place to stay in Dartmouth. The location YOU want, the service YOU expect, the comfort You desire. YOU will find it all here! Stay minutes from Burnside Business Park, Shop at Dartmouth Crossing or Mic Mac Mall, Play at Halifax Casino. 56 air-conditioned kitchenette units (25 suites with separate living room, 2 deluxe with private whirlpool and sauna). Free "Coastal Pus" breakfast, Free internet, Free newspaper, Free Local Calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coastal Inn Dartmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coastal Inn Dartmouth Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing