We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coastal Inn Dartmouth
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would not recommend.”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We picked this hotel due to the kitchenette only. Very quickly:
Negatives:
1. The rooms and corridors are smelly even though they are designated as non smoking.
2. Both the rooms and the hallways are very poorly ventilated. You feel that as soon as you enter the hotel.
3. The breakfast isn't up to the standards as only basic bread/ bagel etc are provided considering the price we paid: 120$ per night for three nights.
4. There is a designated smoking area right at the entrance, due to which there are always fumes at the entrance.
5. Each room has it's own water heater system and tank. We were a family of two adults and two kids. Despite no bath tub usage, after kids shower the hot water went off and me and wife had to shower in cold water.
6. In general the appliances are very old and despite kitchenette there is no dishwasher, which is unusual as compared to other hotels.
7. For the same price two other hotels in downtown are better options with similar guest reviews due to newer construction.
8. There is no pool and the fitness are is bare minimum.
Positives:
1. Out of the four front desk personnel only one was found to be extremely cooperative. (L)

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jains-Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    25
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
10
29
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Hotel was clean and comfortable. Only a couple of small restaurants in the area to eat. Staff was friendly and helpful in allowing use to put our motorcycles in a safe location. The overnight manager went above and beyond to help use get to St. John New Brunswick when a hurricane was approaching.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akeim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

First impressions are that the Coastal Inn is a bit dated but this is more than made up for in the warm and helpful staff who made us feel right at home. The suites are large and comfy and we stayed there as a team for nearly two months. The rooms are excellent value and would recommend then for anyone on a business or working trip to the area. It is not the prettiest immediate location for tourists but it is a very handy location for getting around the beautiful area. Halifax and Dartmouth being both a short drive away.

thank you to wayne and his team for looking after us so well!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We recently spent five nights at this very central location.
Great place to stay as it is easy to get either side of the harbour from the Windmill road location.
Very pleasent & helpfull staff ,& the kitchenetes in ever room is a plus for family travellers.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank therev573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed here twice, once at the beginning of our trip and once again at the end.

It is a pretty basic hotel, but the rooms are very nice and clean. All the staff, from the desk clerks to the cleaning staff were very friendly and helpful. I was going to complain that the air conditioner didn't work very well, but it turns out it was my brain that was not functioning well. I had it set so only the fan was on, not the air conditioning. When I had a closer look the next day, I turned it on properly and it worked very well.

We stayed on the first floor the first time and the wifi worked very well. The second time we were on the third floor and the signal was poor. I could get my tablet to connect at the table near the door, but not laying in bed.

They have laundry facilities available, which we made use of.

The location is very good to go to other sights like Peggy's Cove, or across the harbour to the Halifax pier.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you must have wifi service, avoid the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prairiewheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We had a large, clean room including a comfortable bed, extra couch, armchair and kitchenette with fridge, microwave, stove, dishes,utensils, dish detergent and even tea towels, in a very convenient location. The bathroom is a good size and there are laundry facilities in the basement. The bridge to Halifax is minutes away, allowing you to escape the higher prices down town. The staff at the front desk are very polite and helpful, the continental breakfast, included with the price of the room, is very good. The Wi Fi worked great for us. When we arrived home after a busy day in Halifax, it was always to a clean room and lots of space to relax. Best of all....The Price is Right!....come on down!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llewesor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Not much on extras, but the breakfast was tasty and the beds are clean and comfortable. A good base of operations for exploring the rest of the area. There's a fantastic pizza place about a block over, and access to the rest of Dartmouth/Halifax is easy and quick by car. The in-room wireless was kinda shifty on the 3rd floor.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn - Dartmouth
Comfort Inn - Dartmouth
#5 of 11 in Dartmouth
142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Suites Halifax Dartmouth
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Dartmouth Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth
2.3 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Halifax/Dartmouth
4.7 mi away
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastal Inn Dartmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastal Inn Dartmouth

Property: Coastal Inn Dartmouth
Address: 379 Windmill Rd, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B3A 1J6, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Coastal Inn Dartmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your place to stay in Dartmouth. The location YOU want, the service YOU expect, the comfort You desire. YOU will find it all here! Stay minutes from Burnside Business Park, Shop at Dartmouth Crossing or Mic Mac Mall, Play at Halifax Casino. 56 air-conditioned kitchenette units (25 suites with separate living room, 2 deluxe with private whirlpool and sauna). Free "Coastal Pus" breakfast, Free internet, Free newspaper, Free Local Calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Coastal Inn Dartmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coastal Inn Dartmouth Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing