We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well maintained aviation museum”

Shearwater Aviation Museum
Ranked #4 of 31 things to do in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dartmouth, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A well maintained aviation museum”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Well maintained displays of Canadian planes and helicopters. Friendly and well informed volunteer guides. Extensive library available for research

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank rrpics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    28
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

The exhibits are well presented. They are of particular interest for older folks such as myself because I remember when planes flew from what is now called Shearwater.I used to crawl under the fence to the edge of the runway to watch Lancasters take off right over my head.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great military museum”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Took my boys here for a visit. We ended up staying most of the day. Good displays of lots of great planes and helicopters, well taken care of and lovingly restored. Lots of things to touch. Very important for 10 and 8 year olds. Great staff with lots of knowledge. We met a great vetran navy flier he gave us a "private tour". It was empty and we had the whole place to ourselves. I loved the biplanes. Totally worth a trip to view our military past.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Shearwater Aviation Museum”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

An interesting Museum.
You can climb into some of the planes.
And there is a life-sized display of a wartime ship and plane tracking operation.
The children really enjoyed it!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank veduta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Small, good for aviation fans”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This museum has a Harvard, a Grumann Avenger, a restored Swordfish ( with accompanying interactive computer to show all the steps of the renovation) , some helicopters, a flight simulator you can sit in and a jet cockpit for a photo- op. Upstairs is a good display highlighting Victoria Cross recipients telling their story and showing their medals. Admission by donation.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shearwater Aviation Museum also viewed

 
Dartmouth, Halifax Region
 

Been to Shearwater Aviation Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing