We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent value stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Not in the best of neighbourhoods but a good value and near the waterfront.

Rooms were a little dated but well maintained and clean. Front desk was friendly and helpful.

Balcony was a nice bonus - hotel was quiet and a good stay, will return.

Underground garage was well lit but parking spaces appeared smaller than most places.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a patio/balcony. On the upper levels the view of the harbour was spectacular in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadian_investor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianGM, General Manager at Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Thank you for your thoughts and comments about your stay. We hope you had a chance to take the nearby harbour ferry into downtown Halifax. Many of our guests really enjoy the convenience of being able to explore the city on foot. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed here for a week in August 2011. Overall it was good value for the price. The Hotel room was clean and the room was cleaned and towels were changed daily. Decor was dated but still ok. Great view of halifax harbour from the room we stayed in. The breakfest in the morning had plenty of options. Only issue was the parking garage it was at a weird angle and parking was very tight so you were always worried that your car would end up with a dent. overall a nice hotel for its value.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony. Offers a great view of Halifax Harbour and nice for sitting out on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Museum_chickNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianGM, General Manager at Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Thank you for taking time to share your experience during your stay with us last year. We look forward to seeing you again in 2012 if you are visiting our city. This year we have Tall Ships in July and it should be spectacular.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I chose this restaurant because I was able to get a large discount for an extended stay. The hotel is run down and definitely needs an upgrade. The parking lot is as bad as everyone reports. It is difficult to maneuver to get into and then the parking spots are tight fits requiring a lot of back and forth if there is more than a few cars. The rooms are dumpy. The beds and TV are average. The bathroom badly needs an upgrade. The breakfast is your typical continental breakfast and the all day coffee/tea is convenient. There isn't much around the hotel, but it is convenient and close the ferry to get to Halifax. Staff were very helpful and service was great. Beware if you are not a smoker there is smoking allowed on the top floor, yet the smell permeates throughout.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PolepoleGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianGM, General Manager at Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Thank you for taking time to let us know about your stay at our hotel. We value every opportunity to look at our guest satisfaction performance, and strive for improvement based on your feedback. Our underground parking will see a number of improvements in the coming year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We stayed here because the Halifax side of the harbour seems to be overly expensive. There isn't much choice of accommodation in downtown Dartmouth; it's the Holiday Inn Express or the Super 8 and neither is going to get more than an "average" rating. They don't try to, they simply sell rooms fitted with the basics but are comfortable nonetheless.

Our surprise came at the front desk when the friendly person at reception put a whopping $150 hold on my card for "incidentals". What incidentals? There's no room service, no restaurant, nothing at all that could be called "incidental". I think they should say straight out "to cover any possible damage".

The room was reasonably spacious and the heating excellent. We had a balcony. The building was in good condition, there was a fridge and a microwave in the room, which was spotlessly clean and smelled fresh.

We had a 32" flat screen TV and there was plenty of lighting. A point I've made before with other chains is "insufficient number of power outlets" and this was the case here. Even with a power strip, we didn't have enough sockets to allow us to charge our two computers and phones at the same time. We had to choose between bed lamps or the clock radio before even thinking about our own equipment. No good having a feature if you can't use it!

The bathroom was without a fan but the airconditioner disposed of moisture reasonably quickly. The toilet seat kept hitting against the shelf behind it and would not stay up. Water pressure was fine and there was plenty of hot water for the shower.

Beds were comfortable but bedding was thin; management was obviously relying on the airconditioner being run all night to provide sufficient heat.

So all in all: average. You pay less and get less. Would I stay here again? Yes, it beats the overpriced HI-Express.

Room Tip: Higher up gets better views. Price is the same on all floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linds4516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianGM, General Manager at Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Hello and thank you for taking time to share your thoughts & experience about your stay with us. Your comments allow us to continue to improve our services with a goal of being the best value hotel in Dartmouth. We hope we can be your hotel of choice on any future return trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

I just stayed here 2 nights and was a bit concerned at first but that feeling did not last long. The location was perfect, the rooms were clean and the staff were great. Price was reasonable and have to say again the staff were great.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianGM, General Manager at Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2011

Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay. We look forward to the opportunity to being your accommodation of choice in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed at the Super 8 Dartmouth, Nova Scotia for three nights. We chose Dartmouth because it was cheaper, and we were looking for some downtime from our travels rather than a location more centrally located in nearby Halifax.

We had a hire car, but only used it one day during our stay to drive across one of the large bridges linking Dartmouth to Halifax (small toll fee), to explore the greater Halifax area, including the Fairview Cemetary which is the final resting place for many of the titanic victims.

A regular ferry service connects Dartmouth to Halifax (about a ten minute trip). The ferry terminal is a ten minute walk from the Super 8 and costs around $3 per person, per trip. It's a great trip on a sunny day, and there is a nice waterfront park near the terminal, with nice views towards Halifax. Catch the ferry across to Halifax, take a short (but steep) walk up through town to the Botanic Gardens and Citadel.

Parking under the Hotel was available for $6 a night, and whilst the hotel was really quiet during our stay (Thanksgiving), the park spaces are small, and I could see from other Tripadvisor comments how it might be a bit tight and difficult to manouvre in. I believe there is an additional, open air paved area near the hotel for parking also. Parking on the street outside the hotel is free on weekends if you can find it, but during the week you'll have to feed a parking metre.

Let's be reasonable - it's a two star hotel not a Hilton. Overall though we found it to be a pretty comfortable stay and good value (much cheaper than a hostel). We paid around $69 per night booked on Hotwire the night before our arrival. This price included a basic breakfast of cereal, toast, bagels, muffins and some pastries, juice and coffee which I think was offered from 6.30am until around 9.30am.

That price gave us a clean room with a balcony (weather too cold to use though), two double beds, a small bar fridge, coffee machine and great selection of cable tv channels. In addition, the free wifi was really strong and consistent, and we were able to make Skype (phone) calls clearly without any drop outs.

We also made use of the laundry in the basement with no hassles. (Small fee for use of machines).

Nearby there are drugstores, pubs and take-away shops within a couple of blocks walk, with a post office (ask about their ghost!) diagonally across the road.

We had two excellent dinners at the nearby (a few blocks down towards the water) Celtic Pub, and had a couple of great local beers on the rooftop while watching the sun set over Halifax.

Minor downsides to our stay was that our room door had some gaps (about 1 inch) at both the top and bottom of the door which tended to let a bit of the usual door slamming from other guests in. We did request use of an extra fold-out luggage rack however the receptionist seemed more interested in sitting in the foyer watching night-time sport and was unable to assist with our request. No big deal though and like most hotels, we find great customer service tends to be individual-based. Staff were generally pleasant and efficient.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on an upper floor perhaps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boriski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianGM, General Manager at Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2011

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay and your travels in the area. We apologize for failing to meet your request for an extra luggage rack. We can do better. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The condition of the hotel and the guest rooms was not very good. VERY old building and the rooms really need to be upgraded....very dark and dingy. However the gentleman on the front desk was very friendly and could not have been more helpful! The rooms on the harbor side have great views and there's a pub within walking distance with great food.

Room Tip: Get a harbor side room for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NSRoadrunner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianGM, General Manager at Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2011

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. We will be working to upgrade our decor and room amenities in the coming months. The pub is a popular spot for both our guests and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dartmouth hotels
Dartmouth Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Halifax Dartmouth
Comfort Inn - Dartmouth
#7 of 11 in Dartmouth
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coastal Inn Dartmouth
#10 of 11 in Dartmouth
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel

Address: 65 King Street, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B2Y 4C2, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Dartmouth > Dartmouth Centre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range: £54 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes walk to the Halifax Harbour ferry. A 12 minute ride to everything in downtown Halifax without the parking or traffic congestion. Clean, comfortable rooms and suites, close to great restaurants, 20 minute drive to the airport. Also near Mic Mac Mall and Dartmouth Crossing. Downtown value & convenience without downtown prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Dartmouth Hotel Dartmouth
Super Eight Dartmouth
Dartmouth Super Eight
Dartmouth Super 8
Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing