We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We had booked this hotel for convenience being walking distance from the Halifax ferry. From our previous experience with Super 8 hotels this one was below our expectations.

The evening employee who checked us in was friendly and courteous but seemed overworked and tired. We were given room 609 with harbor view on the 6th floor (pet friendly floor: thank goodness we didn’t have our cats with us!) but there was a really bad stench in the hallway and in the room, like dirty stinky feet. The room 510 with harbor view on the 5th floor was much better although there was a big water damage stain on the ceiling about 20 inches wide with paint peeling off near the balcony which made us wonder if the smell upstairs could have something to do with this.

The room was somewhat clean and the view was nice but the bed was really hard and the pillows not comfortable.The breakfast area was dirty: upon checking in we went to have a look and all the handles of the drawers under the counter were sticky and covered in what might have been coffee and the morning employee who had to tend to the front desk and the breakfast seemed unfriendly and unfit for a customer service job.

Of the few positives for us were the fridge / microwave in the room, walking to the NoFrills Supermarket through the park and the proximity to the ferry. It seems like there could be a shortage of employees at this hotel because we only saw 1 per shift which could be a security concern. We were only there for one night and would not recommend this hotel and will not return unless we heard major changes and improvements had been done. The employees and the building are in bad need of TLC.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaseVinyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantale N, Guest Relations Manager at Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your stay with us. We use our guests feedback to pinpoint areas that need improvement, and appreciate hearing any comments regarding our rooms and our staff on the areas that were disappointing and areas that were enjoyed. Again thank you for your comments and we do hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Chantale - Guest Service Manager, Super 8 Dartmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2013

Hello. Stayed at the Super 8 Dartmouth before flying to Dominican on March 20th, 2013.

Got a good deal through Priceline, 70 bucks including parking/taxes.

The location is amazing, I was meeting some friends in halifax for dinner that evening, and it was a quick 2 minute walk downhill to the ferry terminal, and a very scenic 15 minutes ride across the harbour.

The room was clean, quiet, had everything you are looking for from a 2 star, I am actually looking at staying here again next month with some friends for a stag party. You really can't beat the location, as you get a dartmouth price hotel, and are very quickly able to get across to the halifax nightlife.

Peireg

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peireg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantale N, Guest Relations Manager at Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Thank you for your review of our property. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards,

Chantale - Guest Service Manager, Super 8 Dartmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Ryan N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Stayed one night during March break. Although the place seemed very clean, I was disappointed with the look of the place. Seems like it needs to be badly renovated. I found the bed very hard and did not have a good night sleep. Very disappointed with the breakfast in the morning; not very much choice of anything; they could definitely do better on that front. As well, we could not get the TV to play on color; could only get black and white. When I asked the front desk in the morning, the attendant told me that all we had to do is unplug the TV and plug it again and we would get color. I ask if it was just the TV in that room that was the problem and she said that it was that way for a lot of their TVs. If that is the case, they should tell people when they come in so that you would at least know what to expect.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacinthe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This hotel is reasonably priced,well located, attractively furnished and clean. It's very close to the ferry terminal giving quick and cheap access to downtown Halifax. The front desk personnel are well informed and helpful.We paid $49 for a week-end night. A comparable hotel similarly located would have been in the hundred dollar range. All in all a great value!
.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAUL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 February 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank Dwight D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dartmouth hotels
Dartmouth Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Halifax Dartmouth
Coastal Inn Dartmouth
#10 of 11 in Dartmouth
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn - Dartmouth
#6 of 11 in Dartmouth
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel

Address: 65 King Street, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B2Y 4C2, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Dartmouth > Dartmouth Centre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range: £55 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes walk to the Halifax Harbour ferry. A 12 minute ride to everything in downtown Halifax without the parking or traffic congestion. Clean, comfortable rooms and suites, close to great restaurants, 20 minute drive to the airport. Also near Mic Mac Mall and Dartmouth Crossing. Downtown value & convenience without downtown prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Dartmouth Hotel Dartmouth
Super Eight Dartmouth
Dartmouth Super 8
Dartmouth Super Eight
Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing