We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

My elderly mom (85 yrs young) was flying in from Ontario so we decided to stay overnight to give her rest & a nice hot bath before carrying on our journey. Well, NO hot water. Called the front desk to report & this is the answer we got " Oh, I've had a couple of complaints so far, I guess I'd better call to have someone take a look at it." Needless to say no hot bath for Mama's aching muscles.

Called again the next morning & still NO hot water. Mentioned my disappointment with the stay as we were checking out. All we got was " They're working on the gas lines & it can't be helped" Wish they had told us the previous day. We would've gone to another hotel.

The beds were clean , the room was nice. No view. The continental breakfast was good also.

What upsets me the most is that the following week I contacted the hotel under their Contact Us on their website & did NOT get a reply. That is NOT good service.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask them what the room is overlooking. We didn't & we were looking at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet T, General Manager at Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear MACC4
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. I am concerned that our original response to your inquiry (which was received through our "contact us" section of the website) has perhaps gone to your junk folder. We received it on Dec 13, 2013 at 8:43 am and I responded personally, at 9:51 am, on that same date. We are committed to each guest experiencing an exceptional stay. As you mentioned in your email to us, there are times when unforeseen circumstances have an impact on a guest stay (as was the case with our malfunctioning hot water tank). I am sorry this situation negatively impacted you and your Mom's stay with us. I will resend my original email and hope to have you back with us in the future. Warm regards, Janet Toner, General Manager, Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    59
    43
    20
    18
See reviews for
45
61
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Glasgow, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel has a terrific downtown location, 2 minutes from the bridge, great restaurants nearby, terrific prices, warm and friendly staff, breakfast included and underground parking! I always stay here when I go to the city, sometimes seeing the same guests over and over again (I think because they offer such competitive extended and long term stay rates) but just as likely, because people are so impressed with the staff and want to come back.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies with a couple of lawn chairs but there are some with better views of the ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdiePonsacle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet T, General Manager at Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear EdiePonscale,
Thank you for the great review and for identifying Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel as your first choice in a downtown property. As a new independent brand hotel we want to ensure each guest experiences exceptional value downtown. From your feedback it sounds like we're delivering on our promise. Our entire team looks forward to your next visit! Janet Toner, General Manager, Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
341 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

My gift to my husband for Valentines Day was an overnight here, in a room with a balcony overlooking the Halifax skyline. The plan was to take the ferry across for dinner in Halifax.
Check in was quick and easy. My rate included outdoor parking. I would have gone for the $6.00 indoor parking,but apparently it has a very low overhead and my SUV would not have fit.
We were in a room with 2 double beds(would have preferred 1 Queen or King) but the view more than made up for it. The beds were okay,not the best,not the worst I have slept on. The pillows were super comfy. The sheets and comforter were very clean and fresh smelling.The entire room was very clean!
Lots of hot water in the shower,lots of towells.
Room was very quiet.
Would have liked glasses in the room,but there was only the disposable coffee cups for the coffee machine.
Small fridge(great) and TV.
Continental breakfast was the usual(bread,bagels,muffins,cereal,juice and coffee) No complaints. Front desk service was excellent. Would return!Older hotel,but that just gives it some character.

Room Tip: Splurge and get the rooms with a bacony on the oceanside. Worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Landrys05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet T, General Manager at Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Landrys05
I am so happy to hear the views from our balcony helped make your Valentines even more special. Even in the middle of winter the skyline IS amazing. We're happy your chose to spend this special night with us and hope you'll come back again soon. I also appreciate your feedback regarding the glasses in our guest rooms. We always have plates, utensils, and cups available downstairs in our breakfast bar, however also making them available in the guest room is a great idea. Thank you! Janet Toner, General Manager, Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

My partner and I live primarily in hotels as we travel for work.Recently we had a few months off over christmas waiting for our next contract so instead of renting an apartment we got an extended stay from The Oceanview for a couple months.
We had such a lovely time there,all of the staff where open and friendly finding a way to accommodate all of our needs.
The breakfast was the highlight of our mornings and the surprise hot apple cider and christmas dinner made us feel right at home.We will be returning to the Oceanview every time we have to stay in Canada.We will miss all of the staff and we really hope we get to see them again in the next few months!

Room Tip: A choice of rooms are available just ask to take a look before you book one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marissa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet T, General Manager at Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Marissa,
Thank you so much for the wonderful review of our hotel. It's not easy when you must spend so much time in hotels for work. I am so happy to hear that it felt like home for you both! We loved have you and your partner help us the day we decorated our tree, and sharing dinner during the holidays was a highlight for us as well. We wish you well on your travels and adventures. Always know there is a home here at Dartmouth Oceanview when you return. Janet Toner, General Manager, Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed two nights over the New Year holiday, while visiting family in Dartmouth. The hotel has rooms with a view of the street or of the water, and with very solid walls is extremely quiet - you can hear some hallway noise, but nothing at all from neighbouring rooms.

The rooms are SUPER clean, the Oceanview is perhaps the cleanest hotel I've ever stayed in. Quick walk to the waterfront and ferry to Halifax. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Rooms are small, but extremely quiet (We stayed over New Year's Eve!) even in a street facing room.
The hotel is not overly fancy and luxurious, but has continental breakfasts until 10 am and the prices are very affordable. I give this place 5 stars because of the cleanliness, staff, and quiet room. Again, not a luxury hotel, but close to everything, cheap, clean and quiet.

The location is great - within minutes you can be on the Dartmouth ferry to downtown Halifax, letting you be in the heart of Halifax for business or fun (like the historic properties or the Citadel) without paying for a downtown hotel. And the Dartmouth ferry is something you should really do on a trip to Halifax anyway - on a nice day, for $2.50, you get the nicest view of the city, the naval yard, and the islands you are going to find.

The location in Dartmouth is also interesting - it's a rapidly up-and coming neighbourhood in Dartmouth, with a couple very funky coffee shops just two blocks away (Two if By Sea, with great pastries and coffee, in one direction, and an organic place, Big Life, in the other) and an increasing number of cool shops and restaurants nearby.

The hotel just changed management in May 2013, and seems to be improving because of it. Some of the rooms would still benefit from some TLC - our room would have benefited from a fresh coat of paint on the walls and some touch ups on the ceiling - but for the price, cleanliness, location, and quiet, it's hard to beat.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 30someTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianGM, General Manager at Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear 30SomeTraveller;
Thank you so very much for your kind words and great feedback on our hotel. It sounds like you enjoyed your trip to Two if By Sea as much as our staff does each day!
Downtown Dartmouth is indeed an amazing neighborhood for both it's location and culture. We're lucky we're right in the middle of it all.
While it's true, our building is older (built in 1975) our housekeeping department works extremely hard each day to make it shine and sparkle. Thank you for noticing. I will pass along your praises to the entire team.
Our spring plans do include some of the painting, touch-ups and TLC you've mentioned. We hope you'll visit us again soon so we can show you our progress.
Warm regards, Janet Toner General Manager, Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

This is my second time staying here and both times were great. Granted it's not the newest but the rooms have always been very clean and comes equipped with all that I need. We've always had great, friendly staff to help us with questions. I've stayed here using discounts and for that price it is worth it. I like a softer mattress and I find these ones too hard. The free continental breakfast is satisfying and parking is only $6.00 which is cheap as Halifax hotels usually charge $20.00. We enjoyed our private balcony when we stayed this past fall. Just a few minutes to walk to the ferry to get to Halifax and the Casino and took a cab back which wasn't pricey either. Not far to drive to Dartmouth Crossing and MicMac mall. I will stay here again if I get more discounted tickets.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PCBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianGM, General Manager at Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Hello PCBabe and thanks so much for your recent review of our hotel.
I'm happy to hear that our location provided quick and easy access to the places you needed to be in our wonderful city. We believe there is no greater value than staying downtown on the Dartmouth side!
We would love to welcome you back anytime.
Warm regards, Janet Toner, General Manager - Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorham, Maine, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We wanted a comfortable place to stay near Halifax. The Dartmouth Oceanview was great! The suite was large, clean and very comfortable. We were able to stand on the balcony and see the bridge to Halifax. Breakfast was quick and easy. The location is in the midst of Downtown Dartmouth but right off a main thoroughfare and minutes to Halifax. We did drive by it the first time as it was dark and it does not seem like a place a hotel would suddenly be despite the GPS yelling at us that this was the address! Staff was professional and friendly. Would certainly stay there again and again!

Room Tip: If you need a place to sleep and be comfortable, this is a great option. The suite was large and pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LISA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianGM, General Manager at Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Hi Lisa

Thank you for staying with us recently, and for taking the time to provide feedback on your visit. I am thrilled to hear it was a great stay.
Many guests tell us that because the hotel is located within a block of the Halifax ferry they love our location for the convenience. I will share with our team your great feedback on our service and your overall room impression. We are all committed to ensuring our guest have an exceptional stay and a great nights rest! We hope to see you again soon. Janet Toner, General Manager Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Suites Halifax Dartmouth
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn - Dartmouth
Comfort Inn - Dartmouth
#5 of 11 in Dartmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Halifax - Dartmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dartmouth Hotel & Suites
1.8 mi away
Coastal Inn Dartmouth
Coastal Inn Dartmouth
#10 of 11 in Dartmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel

Property: Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel
Address: 65 King Street, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B2Y 4C2, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Dartmouth > Dartmouth Centre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes walk to the Halifax Harbour ferry. A 12 minute ride to everything in downtown Halifax without the parking or traffic congestion. Clean, comfortable rooms and suites, close to great restaurants, 20 minute drive to the airport. Also near Mic Mac Mall and Dartmouth Crossing. Downtown value & convenience without downtown prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Dartmouth Hotel Dartmouth
Super Eight Dartmouth
Dartmouth Super 8
Dartmouth Super Eight
Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing