We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing short of incredible!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Digby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Graham's Pioneer Retreat
Prince Edward County, ON
1 review
“Nothing short of incredible!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

This place is a piece of paradise! We stayed for two nights, and our only complaint was that we couldn't stay longer... Dave and Linda were fantastic hosts, bending over backwards to make sure that we had everything we needed (including lobster!), and that everything about our stay was absolutely perfect. The cottages are gorgeous, beautifully furnished, and so clean. The location is so peaceful and beautiful - we spent most of our time outside, taking in the views of the bay and listening to the waves wash in. Dave and Linda hosted a bonfire the second night (with s'mores!) and truly made us all feel at home. We walked for hours on the beach (wear your sneakers!) and found crabs and starfish! The location is perfect - close enough to Long Island to take in Balancing Rock and whale watching, and not far from Digby (for supplies). I can't say enough great things about this place - we have already started planning for next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda3591, Owner at Graham's Pioneer Retreat, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
I have to agree with you about the view. It is a million dollar view. Part of the charm is being able, at night, to see mainland Nova Scotia. Sitting on your deck or down at the bonfire watching the lights across the bay is so relaxing. Sometimes even watching fireworks folks over there are shooting off.
All of our funishings came from a furniture store not from a motel/hotel catalog. That is the reason the beds and the livingroom furniture are so comfortable. We spent a little more but our guests/friends are worth it.
We look forward to your next stay as well. Don't forget to book early.
Regards Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    3
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Camp Hill
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed here for two nights. Two nights in Tranqulity cottage and one in Solace. We did like Solace better as it was right on the water. Dave and Linda, the owners were very friendly and accomadating. The location is beautiful and secluded.....very quiet. The cottages are clean and nicely furnished. If we were in the area again, we would stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda3591, Owner at Graham's Pioneer Retreat, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Thank you. We understand being off the beaten path isn't for everyone. It is part of the charm of the cottages though. I must agree "It is so quiet at the cottages". Most people sleep very well listenling to the water washing over the rocky shore. It is always nice to hear people say how clean the cottages are. Thank you for that. We hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

My family vacationed at Graham's Cottages from July 8 to 18, 2012 and stayed in Serenity Cottage. The location is secluded and peaceful overlooking quiet St. Mary's Bay. Linda and Dave are the most gracious of hosts. On finding out our two children were interested in fishing, Dave was kind enough to take us all to a dock a little ways down Digby Neck and even let us borrow his rods. He also showed us a great place to find mussels and winkles. One morning we even awoke to find a bag of fresh cleaned mackerel on our porch. The bonfires were a great way to meet others that might venture down from the three other cottages for an evening by the fire, and to watch the stars come out or hear the coyotes howl in the distance (a first for me). The beach was wonderful for exploring and the location of the cottages is perfect for day trips down Digby Neck to Long Island and Brier Island for whale watching tours, hikes and beaches. It's also close to Digby and a nice day trip drive to Yarmouth, Halifax and other areas you may want to explore.

The cottages themselves are beautifully kept, well maintained, with fully equiped with all the supplies you need. They are secluded enough from one another to provide for that extra bit of privacy if so desired. Playing card games and board games by candlelight with the kids into the wee hours of the night was the most precious, and watching the moon come up over St. Mary's Bay was breathtaking. We arose early one morning to see the sunrise, and were lucky enough to see a full rainbow over the bay on our second last day.

I can't say enough about our stay, only that I wish it had been longer. We will definately return to this paradise.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed at Graham's Pioneer Retreat this past week (August 1-2) and were disappointed. The charged us for each of our sons (teens) and dog racking our overall night to well over our anticipated expense. The overall tone made us fell ill at ease that we'd be charged for cleaning if we didn't "tidy" to their standard. They failed to mention that the cottages are run off a generator (which is noisy). The final straw was realizing that they "febreezed" the blankets and my son and husband who are scent sensitive had to sleep with the towels from our own luggage over the pillows. Sad and happy to leave.

Room Tip: Find a place in Sandy cove - beautiful spot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jfarmer19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda3591, Owner at Graham's Pioneer Retreat, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
We were so sorry to read your review. Thank you for taking your time to let us know how you feel. I would like to address your concerns.
Our family policy is children 12 and under stay "free". Your boys are much older being 15 & 19 years old. All of our ads specify our family policy. Even larger chains charge for young adults who sleep in a separate room.
We are a pet friendly accommodation and our pet policy states, "We must be aware of pets coming with the family prior to arrival". We were not aware you were bring your dog. We were told it was a last minute decision on your part. Being understanding, we did not put up any fuss over you arriving with a dog. As pets shed, it is a pretty standard policy to pay for a pet to stay anywhere.
We do not use febreze. All of our laundry is dried outside. I do use a fabric softener though. If we had been made aware of people in your party being scent sensitive, we could have been prepared. We have catered to other guests who have been scent sensitive in the past.
Our web site has several comments concerning our being off grid (not conventional power) and the use of generators. As all the main appliances are propane the generators are not needed very often.
We supply so many things "free" that other accommodations charge for, we were taken back to read your felt you were "Nickeled and Dimed". You must not travel much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, NS
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We (My husband and I) stayed at Graham's Pioneer Retreat July 20-23 and had an amazing time. I totally recommend this private piece of paradise. Our cottage over looked the beautiful St Mary’s Bay and it had a spectacular view with a gazebo. There is a private beach area but I recommend wearing sneakers as it is hard to walk on the rocks. I did attempt to go in the water but it was very cold. I recommend travelling about 5-10min away to sandy cove beach as it has a beautiful sandy beach, but again very cold ocean water. We also had a camp fire all 3 nights located on the beach area. Town of Digby is approx 20 min away and has grocery and liquor store.

If you’re looking for a private get-away away from busy life this is a place for you. Linda and Dave are amazing host’s and helped with any questions that arise. We hope to be back before the summer is over!!! I recommend this place to everyone!!! 10/10

Room Tip: 2 bedroom with large deck and gazebo-"felicity"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison_Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda3591, Owner at Graham's Pioneer Retreat, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you for taking time from your busy day to comment on your vacation with us. I do wear water socks when I go in the water on our beach. The salt water is hard on sneakers. But for just beach walking sneakers are a must. We appreciate your kind works and hope to see you again before we close in mid Oct.
Your hostess Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bothwell, Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

This is our second year at Graham's and again it was fantastic. We brought Rick's sister and niece this year and they loved it as well. Upon arrival Dave remembered we love fish and gave us a bag of fresh caught haddock. It was great. We stayed in Felicity which had all the comforts of home including the deck and gazebo. The weather was good, ony rained the first day and it was cleared up by the time we arrived at the cottage. Sunday Linda knocked on the door and invited us down to the fire on the beach to meet the other occupants of the retreat. Whale watching was once again very good with Mariner's Whale Watching. We are already planning next year. Love Nova Scotia as a whole.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick_Denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda3591, Owner at Graham's Pioneer Retreat, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
I am so glad we didn't disappoint you on your return stay. It is so nice to hear your sister and niece enjoyed their stay as well. The gazebo is a nice add on. You can sit in the sun on the deck or in the shade in the gazebo. The bonfire area is shared by all the cottages but we understand that it makes it nicer is Dave and I do the inviting. We hope your plans for next year include a stay with us again. We would love to see you again. We think Nova Scotia is very special too especially Digby Neck and Islands. The area has so much to offer visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night on June 2012.
The cottage is fully equipped, the gazebo and porch overlooking the ocean, and the peaceful surrounding is perfect for those who want to get away from it all. unfortunately we couldn't stay for more than one night
Perfect for couples or families. good as a base for whale watchig.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oferz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Digby hotels
14.9 mi away
Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages
15.6 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#1 of 2 in Smith's Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
11.6 mi away
Cliffside B & B
Cliffside B & B
#3 of 14 in Digby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Dockside Suites
Dockside Suites
#1 of 8 in Digby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
14.4 mi away
Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa
16.2 mi away
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#2 of 14 in Digby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graham's Pioneer Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graham's Pioneer Retreat

Property: Graham's Pioneer Retreat
Address: 8020 Highway 217 | Centreville, Digby Neck, Digby, Nova Scotia B0V 1A0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Digby
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Digby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you like your privacy? Peace and quiet? There are 4 secluded self-catering, oceanfront cottages located on 50 acres of Mother Nature's best just waiting for you. Each cottage has a full kitchen and a propane bar-b-q on the deck. You may also have the good fortune to watch porpoise and seals as they swim by, birds fly by, even rabbits come and go while the waves wash ashore. Enjoy board games, a beach bonfire, rock hounding, hiking, star gazing, awesome sunrises, and beachcombing. Go whale watching, birding, to the theme park, golfing. There is a lot to see and do. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Graham's Pioneer Retreat Digby, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing