We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic Getaway!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Digby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Graham's Pioneer Retreat
Oshawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Getaway!”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We spent a few days in May staying at Graham's Pioneer Retreat and had a fabulous time! The accommodations were top-notch and the scenery was simply breath-taking. We spent hours beach-combing and watching the sea for porpoises and seals and sat by a roaring campfire on the beach. It was honestly like something you'd see on a commercial on TV. We toured the Digby neck and travelled down to Brier Island to try whale-watching which was great fun and and met so many friendly people too. I can tell you whole-heartedly that there is nowhere else in Digby or on the Digby neck that I would rather stay than Graham's Pioneer Retreat. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: All of the cabins have the same quality of comfort and cleanliness and are all overlooking the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Margot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda3591, Owner at Graham's Pioneer Retreat, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
I must agree with you: bonfires on the beach are great fun no matter what time of year. I am sorry we missed yours. Dave and I often go down to the beach to meet our guests and enjoy a bonfire. I hope you were able to find some "take me home" rocks or even sea glass on your beach walks. You just never know when a seal will pop up it's head to look at you or a porpoise will swim by. Sitting on the deck and watching the bay is so relaxing. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Please feel free to post any pictures of your stay on TripAdvisor you want to share. Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    3
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

stayed 3 nights in september with our university children,truly enjoyed it.
very quiet ,secluded.
the chalets were well built and comfortable,as there were 6 of us.whale watching is close by
at briar island and balancing rock was well worth the nature hike.the town of digby is only 15 minutes as you will need supplies once you are at your cabin. would suggest getting them
before hand to save backtracking

Room Tip: all 4 cabins were fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda3591, Owner at Graham's Pioneer Retreat, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Thank you for sharing your stay with others on Trip Advisor. It is so nice to hear from folks with young adults in their party, who have survived a stay with no phone, t.v., or computer. Just quality family time. The hike to the Balancing Rock is a great hike and whale watching is pretty well a must. The whales are just spectacular to watch from out in their natural environment. Thank you for the visit and hope are paths cross again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallacetown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2012

What a wonderful place to stay! I can't recommend it enough. My daughter and I stayed at Solace for two nights...how we wish it was more. Next time we will stay for at least a week. My thirteen year old girl says it was better than her trip to Disney. Honestly, the spectacular scenery, the quiet solitude, the kind and attentive hosts made this our favourite place during our recent visit to Nova Scotia. Hands down, my favourite place to have stayed and I have traveled to many places. If you get the opportunity you should go!

Dawn

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda3591, Owner at Graham's Pioneer Retreat, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
We are so happy that you decided to visit Nova Scotia. It is a great place to vacation. Thank you for your high recommendation. Dave and I try to offer our guests special attention without intruding on their privacy. I have never tired of watching Saint Mary's Bay or the sky over the bay, be it day or night. I am always looking for wildlife along the long road to the cottages.
We look forward to seeing you and your daughter in the future. Don't forget to book early.
Regards Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleton
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I stayed 4 nites with my friend in early August. We have been coming here every summer for 4-5 years. I love it here. It is so peaceful and quiet compared to the traffic and noise at home. We love to walk the beach and do some rockhounding. Two of our four days were really hot and sunny. We had some fog on the other two. It cooled down at nite to sleep and the view is beautiful. Dave and Linda are always wonderful to us. Having power by generator is no bother as you only turn it on for lites or water. One gets used to the sound of it very quickly. I would love to live here. I saw an eagle right thru the cottage window and we had a bunny visiting us. Highly recommend!!

Room Tip: Bring your camera and binoculars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gratefullgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda3591, Owner at Graham's Pioneer Retreat, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts down for others to read.
Isn't it wonderful that our beach is safe to walk at high tide as well as low tide. You can beach-walk at any time and not worry about getting back. I hope you were one of the lucky ones who found "beach glass" on your rockhounding trips. To go beach combing sneakers are a must.
The eagles are fun to watch soaring either up or down the shore line hunting.
We are seeing more bunnies again this year. It is also fun to watch them nibbling on the lawn.
Happy to have you again next year. Don't forget to book early.
Always Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince Edward County, ON
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This place is a piece of paradise! We stayed for two nights, and our only complaint was that we couldn't stay longer... Dave and Linda were fantastic hosts, bending over backwards to make sure that we had everything we needed (including lobster!), and that everything about our stay was absolutely perfect. The cottages are gorgeous, beautifully furnished, and so clean. The location is so peaceful and beautiful - we spent most of our time outside, taking in the views of the bay and listening to the waves wash in. Dave and Linda hosted a bonfire the second night (with s'mores!) and truly made us all feel at home. We walked for hours on the beach (wear your sneakers!) and found crabs and starfish! The location is perfect - close enough to Long Island to take in Balancing Rock and whale watching, and not far from Digby (for supplies). I can't say enough great things about this place - we have already started planning for next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda3591, Owner at Graham's Pioneer Retreat, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
I have to agree with you about the view. It is a million dollar view. Part of the charm is being able, at night, to see mainland Nova Scotia. Sitting on your deck or down at the bonfire watching the lights across the bay is so relaxing. Sometimes even watching fireworks folks over there are shooting off.
All of our funishings came from a furniture store not from a motel/hotel catalog. That is the reason the beds and the livingroom furniture are so comfortable. We spent a little more but our guests/friends are worth it.
We look forward to your next stay as well. Don't forget to book early.
Regards Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camp Hill
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed here for two nights. Two nights in Tranqulity cottage and one in Solace. We did like Solace better as it was right on the water. Dave and Linda, the owners were very friendly and accomadating. The location is beautiful and secluded.....very quiet. The cottages are clean and nicely furnished. If we were in the area again, we would stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda3591, Owner at Graham's Pioneer Retreat, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Thank you. We understand being off the beaten path isn't for everyone. It is part of the charm of the cottages though. I must agree "It is so quiet at the cottages". Most people sleep very well listenling to the water washing over the rocky shore. It is always nice to hear people say how clean the cottages are. Thank you for that. We hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2012

My family vacationed at Graham's Cottages from July 8 to 18, 2012 and stayed in Serenity Cottage. The location is secluded and peaceful overlooking quiet St. Mary's Bay. Linda and Dave are the most gracious of hosts. On finding out our two children were interested in fishing, Dave was kind enough to take us all to a dock a little ways down Digby Neck and even let us borrow his rods. He also showed us a great place to find mussels and winkles. One morning we even awoke to find a bag of fresh cleaned mackerel on our porch. The bonfires were a great way to meet others that might venture down from the three other cottages for an evening by the fire, and to watch the stars come out or hear the coyotes howl in the distance (a first for me). The beach was wonderful for exploring and the location of the cottages is perfect for day trips down Digby Neck to Long Island and Brier Island for whale watching tours, hikes and beaches. It's also close to Digby and a nice day trip drive to Yarmouth, Halifax and other areas you may want to explore.

The cottages themselves are beautifully kept, well maintained, with fully equiped with all the supplies you need. They are secluded enough from one another to provide for that extra bit of privacy if so desired. Playing card games and board games by candlelight with the kids into the wee hours of the night was the most precious, and watching the moon come up over St. Mary's Bay was breathtaking. We arose early one morning to see the sunrise, and were lucky enough to see a full rainbow over the bay on our second last day.

I can't say enough about our stay, only that I wish it had been longer. We will definately return to this paradise.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Digby hotels
14.9 mi away
Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages
15.6 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#1 of 2 in Smith's Cove
116 reviews
14.4 mi away
Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Dockside Suites
Dockside Suites
#1 of 8 in Digby
173 reviews
11.6 mi away
Cliffside B & B
Cliffside B & B
#3 of 14 in Digby
79 reviews
16.2 mi away
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#2 of 14 in Digby
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graham's Pioneer Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graham's Pioneer Retreat

Property: Graham's Pioneer Retreat
Address: 8020 Highway 217 | Centreville, Digby Neck, Digby, Nova Scotia B0V 1A0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Digby
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Digby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you like your privacy? Peace and quiet? There are 4 secluded self-catering, oceanfront cottages located on 50 acres of Mother Nature's best just waiting for you. Each cottage has a full kitchen and a propane bar-b-q on the deck. You may also have the good fortune to watch porpoise and seals as they swim by, birds fly by, even rabbits come and go while the waves wash ashore. Enjoy board games, a beach bonfire, rock hounding, hiking, star gazing, awesome sunrises, and beachcombing. Go whale watching, birding, to the theme park, golfing. There is a lot to see and do. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Graham's Pioneer Retreat Digby, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing