We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Breakers Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Seawinds Motel(Digby)(Great Value!)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Cambridge Suites - Halifax(Halifax)(Great Value!)
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hedley House(Smith's Cove)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Basinview Motel(Smith's Cove)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
9
4
2
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
4
2
10
3
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Our sincere thanks to the owners of The Breakers. A gorgeous property overlooking the serene, picturesque Digby Harbour. Tastefully decorated, down to the crystal drinking glasses in the guest rooms. We sat on the front porch and chatted with the owners after enjoying a lovely meal at a restaurant they had recommended. A scrumptous and inventive breakfast, and we appreciated also their recommendations for places of interest. Shops a restaurants a five-minute walk.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty6416, Owner at The Breakers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

The Breakers B &B became a member of Trip Advisor in January 2013. Prior to this date I did not know of prior comments and as such did not respond. It is my understanding guest comments and owner responses should not contain personal insults.

The Breakers believes that change is good. It represents forward thinking , innovation, and refinement. The Breakers has gone through a total makeup for the 2013 season. We have been refined and transformed to the next level of sophistication and guest satisfaction.

To date we have had an excellent 2013 season. We have met people from around the world and thank all of our guests for their kindness.. A thank you to our latest guest with the caption of "Nova Scotia Jewel" Aug. 16,2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This was the second stop for our honeymoon and many of the reviews had it wrong. The room smelt old and musty. The bed was like sleeping on the ground. The owner kept locking the door every time we left to go out. Had to ring the doorbell to be let back in and then at 8pm they went to bed and we couldn't go out or we would have been locked out. The owners were very friendly though that is why it is not getting a 1 star rating.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grant F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty6416, Owner at The Breakers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you for your email. I felt your email was sincere and brought up very good points about the front door. Our house is very large and at times it is hard to monitor who is entering and who is leaving. Security is of utmost concern for our guests and for our family. Too much of a mother hen is evident. We appoligize for this. We've consulted a few other B&B's and we think a two key system is best. Each guest will have a front door key and a key to their bedroom. Your efforts on our behalf are much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

It could have been a lovely historic home had the hostess not gone wild with her collecting "stuff". The stuff (not antiques) overwhelms the entire house to the point that proper cleaning can not be done. Definitely not a 5 or even 4 star B&B. Even weirder was the fact that a 5 star rating had been given the previous week by Canada Select--or so we were told!

Room Tip: The 2 front bedrooms have had the bathrooms nicely updated and have a view over the street to the water.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NWtraveler69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty6416, Owner at The Breakers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments. We were unaware of your comment until we joined Trip Advisor this year ( 2013 ). Your input led us to re-evaluate and set a new direction for The Breakers Bed and Breakfast. We ask you to view our new website at www.thebreakersbb.com . We met the challenge and I would like to share with you what has been accomplished in our 2013 season. Guest comments in 2013 run very high. We have been inspected by Canada Select and have achieved their highest rating of five stars. We were also inspected by CAA/AAA and were rated three diamonds. These two combined gave us the distiction of bveing the highest rated B&B in Nova Scotia. If you should return to Nova Scotia please stop by so we can personally thank you for helping us chart our course. Betty Cook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

My review of my recent stay at the Breakers mimicks the others on this site. It's all true. I counted at least 4 sets of heavy drapes on the windows of our room. My friend had to move heavy chairs in order to open a window. Every inch of flat surface including the walls is covered with stuff you would pick up at flea markets. We just completed a 10 night stay in Nova Scotia and this was the most expensive B&B. Not worth the price in my opinion. I can't imagine how it rates 5 stars at Canada Select. It's time for a review folks!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irene102655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty6416, Owner at The Breakers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you for your comments. We joined Trip Advisor in January 2013. At that point we read your comments. Your comments are sincere and we saw it was an opportunity to re-evaluate. Step by step we made changes to reflect the opinions and needs of our guests. We learned from your description that " less is more." The rooms now are sophisticated with clear flat surfaces and only necessary lamps, drinking and wine glasses and ice buckets are visible. Custom draperies with ease of opening are now used. Thank you for making us all the better. In 2013 we have earned five stars by Canada Select and three Diamonds by CAA/AAA. The inspector from AAA was here a few weeks ago. He commented that we were a strong three diamond property. With guest help we have reached our full potential.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My husband and I got a good laugh at reading these other reviews after our brief stay at the Breakers, which is good because when we stayed there I was nearly in tears. This was the last night of our honeymoon, so obviously all of the places we chose were highly rated, like this, with 5-star ratings. But this is no 5-star B&B.

Before we even walked in, as we stood on the front porch, we could smell the odor of heavy cigarette smoke emanating from the house. We knew right then and there that this was not going to be be good. To be fair, the innkeepers are nice enough people, but as mentioned in the other reviews they are hoarders and the place is more like "nightmare" at the museum. I won't reiterate what the others said about the clutter, curtains etc. It is all true. But I will add the polyester sheets on our bed, which made an already stuffy room, unbearable. The smoke detector was ripped out of the ceiling, which is a huge worry in a place that has old fashioned push-button electric lights and so much clutter that you would be lost in a maze if you were to wake up in the dark and have to escape. It was scary. So scary in fact that we woke up and escaped at 5 am because we just couldn't take it anymore. Needless to say, we were the first ones in line at the ferry out of Digby.
Our recommendation would be to stay in Annapolis Royal. It is much more quaint than Digby and has a couple of decent restaurants.
We wish we had checked this website before making our reservation here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TaylorKerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews