We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really impressive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Digby
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really impressive”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We had stayed at the Pines last about 5 years ago , and everything was superb this time around - much better than last time. We got a cottage , wh9ich is preferable to a room. Food was excellent and the staff full of typical Nova Scotia charm and friendliness ! Great place if you truly love golf !

Room Tip: get a c ottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for returning to the Digby Pines and for sharing your remarkable experience with us. We’re delighted that you enjoyed our cottage accommodations, delicious food and friendly staff.

We hope your travels will bring you back to the Digby Pines again.

Until next time,
Rene LeBlanc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    195
    78
    22
    4
See reviews for
116
276
21
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

cottages old ,need bath upgrades,furniture outdated,beds were fine,ps golf course was in terrible condition ,rough was long ,bunkers not well kept ,lots of drainage problems not being dealt with.Turf & fairway grass very thin, lack of maintenance very visible all over this great old golf course.

Room Tip: stay in main hotel rooms are updated,don't waste money on the golf package
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for staying at the Digby Pines and for sharing this TripAdvisor review. We’re disappointed to read that our cottage accommodations and golf course didn’t meet your expectations. We can assure you that we’ve shared your comments with our team and we will be looking into these.

Please contact me directly at rleblanc@digbypines.ca so we can discuss these concerns in further detail.

Looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Rene LeBlanc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed one night & booked a whale watching excursion they the resort as well. The staff were friendly, knowledgable & took care if everything for us. The rooms are spacious, clean & comfortable. I would definitely recommend the pines & we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asmith2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We’re delighted that you had the opportunity to take advantage of our whale watching excursion package. What a memorable adventure you must have had.

It sounds like you enjoyed our spacious rooms and friendly, knowledgeable staff. We hope your travels bring you back to the area again soon.

Until next time,
Rene LeBlanc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

In August of this year, I accompanied 4 golfing buddies for a two night stay at The Digby Pines. We enjoyed the ambience of a two bedroom cottage,complete with all amenities we could possibly need. We thoroughly enjoyed our evenings in the dining room and the breadfast buffet was fabulous. What is not to like about home made fish cakes in your eggs benedict. Staff were friendly and considerate. The facilities were second to none and we enjoyed the pool and walking trail. Although we had only intended to stay for one night, we could not resist the excellent East Coast Classic package the hotel had put together, so stayed for one more night, dinner and breakfast. Travelling slowing along the old road, back to Halifax, we lunched and shopped in Annapolis and chatted amicably of our mini vacation at Nova Scotia’s signature resort, The Digby Pines. I can assure you, we will be back if this offer is repeated in 2014.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marion s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank for choosing to have your golfing getaway at the Digby Pine. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the buffet breakfast, outdoor amenities, friendly staff and challenging golf course. We appreciate you sharing these comments and we can’t wait to welcome you all back next year.

Until then,
Rene LeBlanc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Canada/US coast to coast, hotel #20, 1 night

We definitely were not sure what to expect for accommodation in a town of 2100 far from any large center but this resort was a pleasant surprise. The resort was just down the street from the ferry port that would be our connection to Saint John. It had an upscale restaurant (perfect for my wife's birthday). The place reminds you of a renovated heritage home (which is basically the case). One con was if you left the door slam shut it was almost enough to throw an occupant in bed to the floor, they should cure that somehow. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff was courteous and helpful, I had a very good sleep. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amosnov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
What an adventure you are on! Thank you for letting us accommodate you during your coast to coast trip. We’re delighted that you enjoyed our delicious restaurant, newly renovated guestrooms, and friendly and courteous staff. We can assure you that we’ll look into the slamming door situation, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next adventure.

Until next time,
Rene LeBlanc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

In a recent vacation to Nova Scotia, my family had the opportunity to stay at a wide range of places, ranging from small Inns, to larger hotels. Two of the hotels that we stayed at were similar on the surface, but varied greatly in execution -- the Keltic Lodge and the Digby Pines Resort. Both, I believe, are owned by the Province of Nova Scotia. Both are older "Tudor" or "Norman" style buildings, which while the architecture is obviously not indigenous, they both look quite grand, and do fit in with the overall surroundings. Both have really nice views and woods and parklands, as well as large dining areas and lounges, and are nicer than any other conventional hotel/motel in the surrounding area.

However, from there, things diverge, and that is why I rated the Keltic at 5 stars and Digby Pines at 3 stars. It was all a matter of service.

First, the good aspects of Digby Pines. It's a grand resort with a great heated pool, a huge dining facility, a beautiful view overlooking a basin/inlet from the Bay of Fundy, and surrounded by woods. It's really quite spectacular. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and on the whole, the staff was friendly.

However, there were some significant lapses. First, I had booked a room with a view of the water. When I arrived there, I was told that unfortunately, there were no rooms like that available. The management and staff did take my issue seriously, and the people of Nova Scotia are extremely well mannered. And I did have copies of my latest booking, which explicitly said BASIN VIEW. The desk manager said there might have been a mix-up because I did change the number of beds (or something like that) but she'd see what we could do. In the meantime, they put us in a room with no view. After an hour I called down to the desk and was told the Manager was at a staff meeting (or something like that). Ironically, my wife, who had gone down to the Spa, came back and mentioned she saw the Manager in the Spa. Thus it fell upon a young (but very helpful desk clerk) to work things out. The solution was that they reduced the price by about $30 a night (the room was about $190 before their 15% tax) but that seemed okay, and we didn't want to ruin our two nights there by getting into a snit.

Contrast this with the Keltic Lodge -- where we booked rooms in the "resort" (a newer section) and not the "lodge" (the more traditional part) because we wanted 2 beds (one for our 7 year old). When we checked into the room, my wife did not like it because you couldn't open the windows (although the views were great). She talked to the front desk and they immediately gave us a more expensive room in the Lodge (only one King bed) and they didn't charge us anything more, on account, as they explained it "for our inconvenience".

Another contrast. While the food was good at both places, the service was clearly better at the Keltic. Digby Pines was more formal and inflexible. We tried to book dinner at 6:30 and was told there were only openings at 6:00 so that was fine. We came at 6 and by the time we finished after 7PM, only half the tables were occupied (and its a huge dining room). Clearly, they could have booked us at 6:30PM. We also asked for tables by the window, and were told that it was based on when we booked, and the window tables had already been reserved. Well we had booked our reservation in the morning and guess what, when we finished eating, no more than half the window tables were occupied. The wait staff (and I realize many are college kids) had the bad habit of congregating together in the aisles, so I actually found myself saying "excuse me" to groups of 2 or 3 waiter obliviously blocking my way. The dining room management, instead of zealously enforcing capricious and stupid rules about window seating should be spending there time supervising the staff. Contrast this with the Keltic Lodge. There was a Nova Scotia cheese platter on the menu in the Lounge -- which they were out of. So the waitress said "let me see what I can do". She went back into the kitchen and managed to assemble a cheese platter -- not of Nova Scotia cheese, but it was great and exactly what we wanted to accompany the great Nova Scotia wine.

If it weren't for the experiences I noted above, I would have given Digby Pines a higher rating -- possibly even five stars. It's a beautiful place, the food is good, and on the whole, the staff are extremely polite and efficient. They made reservations for us for a whaling trip (which was great) and picked the best boat for us to go out on. They did provide us compensation for not getting the Basin View. It was the relatively small inconveniences and inefficiencies that we encountered that brings their rating down. These were clearly avoidable and should never have occurred if management had been better focused. So my message is not to stay at Digby Pines -- it clearly is a very nice and unique hotel. Just beware that things don't run as smoothly as one would expect for the price you're paying.

Room Tip: If you book a "Basin View" (i.e., their term for water view), make sure you confirm it sev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanKo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for vacationing at the Digby Pines and for taking the time to share your experience with us. You captured our resort beautifully through your photos. We’re happy to hear that you had a wonderful time at our sister property, the Keltic Lodge.

We apologize for the inconveniences you experience during your stay. We can assure you that we’ve shared your comments and suggestions with our team and will look into your dining situation. Please feel free to contact me directly at rleblanc@digbypines.ca if you wish to discuss this in further detail.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Until then,
Rene LeBlanc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

After a week-long stay at a family camp, we were looking for creature comforts with a view. Although we spent only one night, we thoroughly enjoyed Digby Pines. The dinner was delicious and service outstanding. Their buffet breakfast is unbeatable. And the luxurious room with a view of the Annapolis Basin and nearby Digby Harbour was so comfortable. Whether taking the ferry to St. John, or just passing through, the Digby Pines is a favourite spot.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Basin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Digby Pines and for writing this TripAdvisor review. Staying for one night is all that it takes, we’re happy to hear that the Digby Pines became a favourite spot of yours. During your next stay, we hope you have to opportunity to play on our golf course and explore the surrounding grounds.

Until then,
Rene LeBlanc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Digby
0.8 mi away
Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages
2.5 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#1 of 2 in Smith's Cove
117 reviews
13.5 mi away
Annapolis Royal Inn
Annapolis Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Annapolis Royal
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Coastal Inn Digby
Coastal Inn Digby
#7 of 7 in Digby
41 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dockside Suites
Dockside Suites
#1 of 8 in Digby
182 reviews
3.0 mi away
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#2 of 14 in Digby
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 103 Shore Rd, Digby, Nova Scotia B0V 1A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Digby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Digby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Digby Pines Golf Resort and Spa is a Nova Scotia resort with casual elegance overlooking the Bay of Fundy. The Nova Scotia golf resort is located just 2 hours from Halifax, Nova Scotia's capital city. The 100% smoke free resort features the best of Nova Scotia accommodations with 147 total guestrooms, including 85 well appointed rooms and suites in the main chateau. For a more intimate, secluded setting choose from among the 31 one, two and three bedroom Maritime cottages nestled around the spacious grounds. Each has its own cozy living room with a fireplace and veranda. Complimentary wireless internet is available in the Grande Lounge and meeting rooms. Digby Pines is the perfect spot for a Nova Scotia vacation with its breathtaking beauty, AVEDA concept spa overlooking the Bay of Fundy, gothic style outdoor heated pool, wooded hiking trails, lawn croquet, shuffleboard and fitness centre. Play a round of Nova Scotia golf at the par 71, 18 hole picturesque Pines Golf Course, one of Stanley Thompson's masterpieces. For a true taste of dining luxury, experience the cuisine of the Nova Scotia resort's renowned Churchill's Restaurant and Lounge, an award winning Nova Scotia restaurant. Casual meals are served at the 19th Hole Clubhouse & Eatery, offering a panoramic view of our award winning golf course. Digby Pines is also the perfect setting for a Nova Scotia conference with 6 meeting rooms with a capacity for up to 250 - 350 dependent on event and set-up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Digby Pines Hotel Digby
Digby Pines Resort Digby
The Pine Resort Digby
Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing