We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm, Lovely & Inviting”
other travellers have booked this property
Unique friendly family home with all the extras and definitely a Scottish flavour!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Unique friendly family home with all the extras and definitely a Scottish flavour!
large wrap around veranda great for cocktails or reading dining room looking into the living/TV room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Unique friendly family home with all the extras and definitely a Scottish flavour!
large wrap around veranda great for cocktails or reading
dining room looking into the living/TV room
TV lounge looking into dining room
large open concept lounge area
looking into the kitchen from wood stove snug room.
front of house dining room with table seating eight.
Brand new fully equipped downstairs bathroom.
upstairs modern bathroom
upstairs bathroom cont.
front large double bedroom with sea views
large middle double bedroom with sea views and incredible sunrises.
open concept modern well supplied kitchen.
lots of colour eight months of the year.
Large new furnished deck is a very private sheltered sun spot all day long, completed with BBQ.
Gorgeous Digby harbour with its scallop and lobster fleets from the Dockside Complex
Poppies and Rhody in bloom in yard
Recently renovated snug with wood burning stove opens onto rear decking.
Snug Is a great place to curl up.
Google Earth view fall cleanup Oct 2014!!
Rear bedroom( lum room) has queen bed and double futon bed separated by the lum and closable curtain
Snug opening on to deck
Our home lit for Christmas 2015
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Digby, Southwest Nova Scotia, Nova Scotia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Brenda P
Miramichi, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Warm, Lovely & Inviting”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We rented this property for a one week period commencing July 26/14. Securing the property, months in advance, turned out to be a very easy and organized process. Our inquiries were quickly answered, the efficiency in which the booking process was accomplished exceeded any of our expectations! When we arrived, we were pleased to see that the pictures on kijiji did not even begin to do the place justice!! It was absolutely BEAUTIFUL: Curb appeal not withstanding, the interior of the home was where the real charm of this house became evident. Upon entering the home, we were greeted with a clean, warm, inviting atmosphere - one which I had previously compared to "walking into a hug". The house was fully stocked with all we needed ( pots, pan, dishes, towels, sheets, etc), the bedrooms were absolutely darling - comfortable, relaxing and cosy! The location was wonderful - within walking distance to the downtown/waterside district. The wrap around veranda was an extra bonus, providing a lovely, comfortable spot to unwind after a day of sight seeing and shopping. The only negative comment I would have about this vacation rental is "the house does not belong to ME" !! We would have been just as happy to spend our vacation inside of this home as we were to visit and explore the local sights. Would I recommend it....YES YES YES. Thank you, to Mr.& Mrs. Fisher for allowing us the opportunity to experience the beauty and comfort of their home!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the charm and comfort of the home
Liked least: that I couldn't live there myself!!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2014
Thanks so much Brenda for the fabulous comments. It's great to see that others appreciate our Digby home as much as we do. My wife and I both loved your "walking into a hug" phrase as it's exactly how we feel when we arrive at 37 Carleton St.
Thanks again
Don Fisher
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron S
Brampton, Canada
1 review
“Well equipped house - walking distance to town”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We found the kitchen to be will equipped, beds were comfortable, house was clean. It was walking distance to town and close to groceries. The only problem we found was that the bedrooms were very warm and we could have used some portable fans. Other than that the house and grounds were lovely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Front porch
Liked least: Bedroom level was very warm - could have used some fans
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2014
Hi guys, thanks for the review. So glad you liked the place. We find it pretty special as well. We actually stay in the Spring and Fall so weren't aware the bedrooms really heat up. The fans will be ordered tomorrow. Thanks for mentioning that.
Cheers
Don
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Val T
Gander, Canada
1 review
“great house for several couples or a family holiday”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed at the Fisher House with 2 other couples in Sept 2013. We found the house through Holdsworth House website and after discussing arrangements with Tony and Margaret from the B and B decided it would be our best option. Upon arrival we met Tony whose B & B is directly across the street from the house, were given the keys and shown around. Tony and his wife Margaret were very helpful all week in numerous ways, the perfect hosts.
The house met all of our requirements and more with 3 large double rooms, 2 large modern bathrooms and a very well equipped kitchen. The large house has a character all its own & is decorated in a distinctive Scottish flavor. The owners live in Scotland most of the year apparently. The only disappointment was the large deck off the rear patio door was under construction and was not available .A shame since the yard is a hidden gem with complete privacy and a sun trap to boot.
We also thoroughly enjoyed our week in Digby, finding some great local fish suppliers, a couple of great restaurants and numerous quaint shops all only 5 minutes walk from the house. We also played golf at the Pines, 5 minutes away & went on a local whale watching trip which left us speechless seeing several humpbacks almost close enough to touch!
We have just booked a couple of weeks in May which prompted me to do this review of last fall's trip. Already looking forward to reacquainting ourselves with the house and the area. You will not be disappointed here!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2014
Hi Val , so glad you enjoyed your stay and I'm sure you'll love the place in the Spring since the back decking is completed! Thanks so much for your kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lois B
Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
“The perfect place for a Digby getaway.”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Our stay at this house could not have been better. It is well located , an easy walk to downtown and the waterfront. This property has very spacious principal rooms, bedrooms and bathrooms, and a lovely deck overlooking a gorgeous landscaped garden. Its decor is charming and warm and invites you to experience a comfortable holiday in your home away from home. Friendly neighbours are a bonus. It will not be long before you have made many new friends.
Vacationing in Digby affords you many opportunities to explore the Fundy Coast and many quaint and interesting areas of Nova Scotia. A variety of opportunities await you.
You will certainly enjoy your time here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ease of living in this house.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2013
Thanks so much Dr and Mrs Hood. So glad to hear you had a good time in the house. We also find both the house and the community very special in so many ways.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing