We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service But Food Ok”
Review of Josie's Restaurant

Josie's Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 34 Restaurants in Digby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian
Restaurant details
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Service But Food Ok”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Service was excellent but fish was soggy and placed over the fries which made the fries soggy. Husbands bacon was undercooked.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tommel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    19
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
maritimes
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great diner”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

great basic diner. We had eggs and bacon/sausage/ham and toast. Coffee was great, service was great. Very homey.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank athowatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gray TN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We had this place recommended to us by our hotel and it was great! The food was delicious, the gentleman that served us was very friendly and it was just a delicious, cute little diner in town!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DawnM598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis Royal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Was there for a quick bite”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

was shopping in Digby and was hungry-
we entered- was seated and right away got our coffee- waitress was very friendly and prompt-
what I thought was a very limited menu- turned out to be a very extensive menu- from breakfast all day- to lunch specials- very impressive- had I seen the lunch menu- I would have ordered the Reuben sandwich which is my favorite- settled for eggs, bacon, toast and coffee- very good- delivered hot and very good-
planning on returning for the reuben-
I recommend a visit- but check out all options before ordering-
great and fast service

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PWNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HALIFAX
Level Contributor
204 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Interesting first experience”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

An interesting little diner which offers nostalgia in atmosphere and home cooking, while implementing modern business practices.

Breakfast was good and given the impression other dishes would be the same. Plenty of choice and a wall board filled with home made desert pies !

Over all breakfast was good value. I especially loved the home made brown bread but worth noting it's 2.oo per slice so its best for a small appetite. In addition to the several valued 'side-dishes", their baked beans was not one of them. Slightly firm and 5.oo was a bit disappointing.

As many tourists if you wish to use a credit card you will be charged a service fee. Personally I'd rather pay the cost in some other fashion. (perhaps I did in paying for the beans) But seriously, the check out system took an unusual amount of time.

However, they do 'email' you the receipt immediately !

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jocosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Josie's Restaurant also viewed

Digby, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Digby, Southwest Nova Scotia
Digby, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Josie's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing